facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials


Rambler's Top100
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Print this review

CEBIT-2007: About not exactly phones and exactly not phones

Like we already wrote, there had been relatively few handsets at CeBIT 2007, but in return theyd brought tons of other fetching gadgets, as well as quirky devices along with interesting and useful trinkets.

Samsung went to the trouble of bringing to CEBIT most of its novelties and set up a number of stands with latest-and-greatest models of printers, multifunction devices, monitors etc., which cant be all crammed into a short review, though some units really pleasant me with very user-friendly interface. For example SyncMaster 940UX monitor: at a glance there is nothing special about it, yet closer examination reveals that it connects to USB port, doesnt require a graphics card and on successful connection automatically uploads own driver into PC. The good news for everyone dragging along a sub-notebook or mobile PC, but the question is, will mediocre CPUs of mobile devices cope with virtual graphics card? Anyhow this approach seems promising, and CPUs arent something we should worry about, as their power is rapidly growing.

The most craved object presented on the stand so-called UMPC (Ultra-Mobile PC) Q1 Ultra. An interesting device which I was really excited to play around with. Its a shame, though, that there were only about 10 of them available, hence I had to wait for my turn for quite a while. We could say much about its cutting edge, but you better take a look at the specifications below. The strengths are feature-pack and do-it-all functionality, as buying some relevant accessories, this mobile PC can be morphed into a full-fledged office or home station.

The first thing that grabs your eyes is a 7-inch touchscreen with a resolution of 1024x600 pixels, which makes for great web-browsing experience. Other specs are available in the table. The QWERTY-keyboard (to be more specific, buttons) tailored to big fingers is quite adequate, though for long usage sessions you will definitely have to get a full-size or at least folding Bluetooth-keyboard. The Q1 fits in hands comfortably, but its letdown was being grease-prone. Also, the 1,3 Mpix camera was a major disappointment on such a classy offering something like this looks like an omission. To ensure that this UMPC will cut into any network, you will have to buy a CF-card with EDGE/GPRS modem, which isnt a very good thing. The claimed 3.5 hours of battery life are obviously too little for a mobile PC, luckily the list of available accessories features more capacious battery (up to 7 hours of lifetime). Finally, the Q1 will hardly come in at less than 1500 USD for the basic pack, and with all accessories and peripherals included, it will well make up 2000 USD.

The LED pocket projector is an offbeat device that will perfectly fit presentations in field conditions, or the role of a monitor if you are using a mobile PC. With all portability of this gadget, Samsung slightly overdid with pocket word there are few pockets that will be able to hold such gadget. However it wont take much room in a bag.

Light, compact, durable it has it all. But there is a price to pay, as the light flux emitted is acceptable only in the dark, while it lacks focus to be comfortably used as a monitor. Obviously, this is a niche-product, albeit able and capable of finding its own target audience. The projector was demonstrated in a dark room, where video beamed onto a ~2x1 m screen looks acceptable. The same trick (separated dark room) was used by Sharp for the showcase of LCD HDTV monitor.

The Chinese and Taiwanese computer manufacturers are starting to be tough competition to the known makers on the European markets a tad worse ergonomics and display at a more affordable price. A notebook-transformer with touchscreen Flybook V5 looks nice, and comes equipped with more than competent spec sheet. However even a glimpse of the device showed that there were a couple of shortcomings: insufficiently bright display matrix, tiny keyboard and sloppy feel of the buttons. We were also slightly confused by the fact that neither the vendors official page nor the printed press-release contained such aspect as battery life, while for a pocketable PC this is vital. Nevertheless it is brimming with connectivity options, including mobile voice mail: HSDPA, UMTS, EDGE/GPRS, GSM.

Speaking of computers, we cant overlook Sonys vision of a home PC the system unit comes integrated with monitor, while the keyboard is armed with detachable cover (for the sake of protection from dust? At home?). Original design, make no mistake about that; but inserting CD/DVD into barely visible slot on the monitors side is not very convenient. However out of the ordinary form-factor and ability to free some space in the room make for some tolerance.

Stratsys showcased so-called 3D-printer: a device that can forge a 3D detail according to a sketch made on PC. All details come out made of acrylonitrile-butadiene-sterol and are solid enough to be assembled into something that will actually work. Though printing a 3D object takes several hours, but thats not all such devices have hefty price tags: 20000 USD and more.

BlackBerry created in 1999 and not implemented yet system of mail and other kinds of content delivery to a special recipients mobile device. Push-email comes in handy especially for enterprise users, which is why it has spread all over the world. User base by the end of 2006 about 7 millions. The system includes BlackBerry Enterprise Server (BES) software kit for sending push-email and special mobile phones of recipients. More than a year ago MTS were thoroughly looking into adoption of BlackBerry in the domestic network, but ultimately they rejected this project. The rumor has it that in Russia they still havent managed to put BlackBerry through the authorities. The problem is that the whole BlackBerry-traffic between server and cellular phone is encoded via Triple DES or AES protocols, which makes for more challenging real-time processing by the law enforcement.

In Toshibas booth we finally managed to see and even touch devices that actually do work on fuel cells, however their specs life much to be desired, just as size, though. As a result, such notebook turns out to be twice as thick compared to its serial counterpart, running on a standard battery.

Bluetooth-headset with fuel cell inside made us cry after looking at its size and design (if it was some kind of design even) apparently, it is not tomorrow when we are going to see commercial units. The fuel used there is methyl alcohol, rather than ethyl alcohol, making this technology hardly promising for the Russian market.

The small thing we have always wanted to have in pocket or in a bag, but never had a chance to get it. A tiny charger powered by a single AA battery that allows giving your handset some power when it has depleted its own at the very wrong moment. As the developers claim, one battery ensures two hours of talk time. And while similar offerings have been around for quite a while, this very model makes a statement with its minimalist design.

Combotronics deals with universal UPS. The main unit here is smaller and lighter than an average notebooks power module and is armed with four replaceable plugs the best thing you might happen to have during trips to different countries. Using a special branch you can charge three portable gadgets at a time, be it a notebook, game console, DVD player, you name it. Over 100 additional plugs are available to ensure compatibility with handsets by different manufacturers, while for cam coders, printers, etc. there is a mini DC-converter. Extras include a rechargeable 2000 mAh battery that can be used to charge up a handsets cell. No doubt, it is not a technological marvel, but I would really love to get rid of a ton of various chargers that I always have to put in my traveling bag.

An interesting variation of hands-free set for lucky car owners. It pairs up with your handset via Bluetooth and boasts a major advantage over standard units there is no need in looking away from the road to figure out who is calling anymore. On inbound call the device gets the callers name from the contact list and reads it aloud, when receiving a call from an unidentified contact, it just reads out the number itself.

Sergey Potresov (sergey.potresov@mobile-review.com)
Translated by Oleg Kononosov (oleg.kononosov@mobile-review.com)

Published — 30 March 2007

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

News:

[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean

Subscribe

Register | Lost password?

E-mail


Password




Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

podcast quotes-left quotes-right search menu arrow-up arrow-up2 google-plus3 facebook2 instagram telegram twitter vk youtube android rss2
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Версия для печати

CEBIT-2007: Про не совсем телефоны и совсем не телефоны

Как мы уже писали, телефонов на выставке сравнительно мало, зато много другого интересного оборудования. А также встречаются неожиданные устройства и всякие любопытные и полезные мелочи.

Корпорация Samsung не поленилась привезти на CEBIT большинство новинок и организовала несколько стендов. Последние модели принтеров, МФУ, мониторов и т.п. – вне рамок короткого обзора, хотя некоторые образцы искренне порадовали своим дружелюбием. Взять хотя бы монитор SyncMaster 940UX: с виду ничего особенного, но подключается к порту USB, не требует графической карты и при первом подключении сам загружает в компьютер необходимый драйвер. Хорошая новость для постоянно таскающих с собой компактный ноутбук или мобильный компьютер. Вопрос в том, «потянет» ли виртуальную графическую карту слабый процессор мобильного устройства? Однако сам подход выглядит многообещающе, а мощности процессоров быстро растут.

Самый популярный объект на стенде – так называемый UMPC (Ultra-Mobile PC) Q1 Ultra. Интересная машинка, любопытно было повертеть в руках. Жаль, что выставили их на стенде всего с десяток штук, и пришлось долго ждать своей очереди. Говорить о преимуществах можно долго, см. технические характеристики в таблице ниже. Сильные стороны – функциональность и универсальность, докупив нужных аксессуаров, этот дорожный компьютер легко превратить в полноценный офисный или домашний.

Прежде всего «цепляет глаз» яркий сенсорный экран в 7 дюймов с разрешением до 1024х600, просмотр интернет-страниц очень комфортен. Прочие технические характеристики смотрим в таблице ниже. QWERTY-клавиатура (точнее, кнопки) под большие пальцы рук, в общем-то, логична, хотя для серьезной работы явно придется докупать полноразмерную или хотя бы раскладную Bluetooth-клавиатуру. Корпус хорошо лежит в руках, но показался марким. Разочаровала камера: 1.3 мегапикселя в устройстве такого класса выглядят недоразумением. Для обеспечения коммуникационной «всеядности» придется дополнительно приобретать CF-карту с модемом EDGE/GPRS, что не радует. Декларируемые 3.5 часа работы от стандартного аккумулятора для мобильного компьютера явно мало, хорошо хоть в списке аксессуаров присутствует батарея большой емкости (около 7 часов работы). Наконец, цена компьютера в базовой комплектации вряд ли окажется ниже $1500, а с дополнительной периферией и аксессуарами – и все $2000.

Светодиодный карманный проектор – необычное устройство, хорошо подойдет для презентаций в «полевых условиях» и в качестве заменителя монитора при использовании с мобильным компьютером. При всей компактности проектора со словом «карманный» в Samsung явно погорячились – не много найдется подходящих по размеру карманов. Однако в дорожной сумке проектор много места не займет.

Легкий, компактный, с большим ресурсом работы – преимуществ достаточно. Но за них приходится расплачиваться: светового потока хватит для просмотров только в затемненном помещении, а для комфортного использования вместо монитора изображению не хватает резкости. Продукт явно нишевый, хотя интересный и своего потребителя найдет. Демонстрировался проектор в темной комнате, в которой видео на экране размером ~2х1 м выглядело терпимо. Аналогичный прием (отдельное темное помещение) использовался компанией Sharp для демонстрации монитора LCD HDTV.

Тайваньские и китайские производители компьютерной техники все активнее конкурируют с именитыми разработчиками  на европейских рынках: чуть хуже эргономика и экран, зато доступнее цена. Ноутбук-трансформер с сенсорным дисплеем Flybook V5 выглядит неплохо, технические характеристики – более чем на уровне. Однако даже очень беглый осмотр выявил пару-тройку недостатков: недостаточно яркая матрица дисплея, клавиатура уменьшенного размера, нечеткий ход клавиш. Слегка настораживает отсутствие на сайте и в печатной версии описания параметра времени работы от аккумулятора, для портативного компьютера это важно. Зато полный набор коммуникационных возможностей, включая голосовую мобильную связь: HSDPA, UMTS, EDGE/GPRS, GSM.

В продолжение разговора о компьютерах – любопытная версия домашнего PC от Sony. Системный блок интегрирован с монитором, клавиатура снабжена складной крышкой (для защиты от домашней пыли?). Оригинальный дизайн налицо, но вставлять CD/DVD в невидимую щель на боковине монитора явно неудобно. Однако ради экономии места в доме и оригинального форм-фактора придется потерпеть.

Компания Stratasys показала на выставке так называемый 3D-принтер: устройство, отливающее трехмерную деталь в соответствии с чертежом, выполненным на компьютере. Детали отливаются из акрилонитрил-бутадиен-стирола и достаточно прочны для сборки механизма и проверки его работоспособности. Правда, на «печатание» 3D-объекта уходит несколько часов, а цены на подобные устройства начинаются от 20 тысяч долларов.

BlackBerry – существующая с 1999 года и пока не внедренная система доставки электронной почты и других видов трафика на специальное мобильное устройство получателя. Режим push-email особенно удобен для корпоративных пользователей, и система получила широкое распространение во всем мире. Число пользователей на конец 2006 года – порядка 7 миллионов. Система включает в себя программный пакет BlackBerry Enterprise Server" (BES) для отправки push-email и специальные мобильные телефоны получателей. Больше года назад в МТС всерьез рассматривали проект внедрения BlackBerry на своей сети, но в итоге от проекта отказались. По слухам, в России до сих пор не удалось согласовать BlackBerry с требованиями СОРМ (Система Охранно-Розыскных Мероприятий). Проблема в том, что весь BlackBerry-трафик между сервером и мобильным телефоном шифруется по протоколам Triple DES или AES, что затрудняет его обработку в режиме реального времени «компетентными органами».

На стенде Toshiba наконец-то удалось увидеть и потрогать устройства, реально работающие на топливных элементах. Характеристики элементов пока не очень впечатляют, а габариты элементов слишком велики. В итоге ноутбук оказывается примерно в два раза толще своего серийного собрата, работающего на обычном аккумуляторе.

Bluetooth-гарнитура на топливных элементах удручает своими размерами и дизайном (если это можно назвать дизайном); похоже, что коммерческие образцы мы увидим еще нескоро. В качестве топлива используется не этиловый, а метиловый спирт, что делает эту технологию менее привлекательной для российского потребителя.

Та самая «мелочь», которую всегда хотелось бы иметь в кармане или на дне сумки. Миниатюрное зарядное устройство, работающее от одной батарейки АА, способно подзарядить севший в неподходящий момент аккумулятор мобильника. По расчетам разработчиков, ресурса стандартной батарейки хватает на два часа разговора по телефону. Подобные устройства выпускаются уже много лет. Но данная модель радует небольшими размерами.

Компания Combotronics специализируется на производстве универсальных блоков питания. Основной блок питания меньше и легче среднестатистического блока ноутбука и снабжен четырьмя сменными вилками – идеальный вариант для поездок в разные страны. Через специальный тройник можно заряжать три портативных устройства одновременно, в том числе ноутбук, игровую приставку, DVD-проигрыватель и т.п. Для стыковки с мобильными телефонами разных производителей предлагается более 100 вариантов наконечников, а для питания видеокамеры, принтера и т.п. предусмотрен миниатюрный DC-конвертер. В качестве дополнительной опции – заряжаемый аккумулятор емкостью 2000 mAh, от которого, в свою очередь, можно при необходимости зарядить батарею мобильника. Вроде не шедевр высоких технологий, но я бы с удовольствием избавился от целого вороха разномастных зарядников, которые еще и повсюду возить с собой приходится.

Любопытный образчик hands-free для автомобилистов. Соединение с телефоном по каналу Bluetooth, а главное преимущество в том, что с ним отвлекаться от вождения и смотреть на дисплей телефона не нужно вообще. При поступлении входящего вызова устройство «вытаскивает» имя из адресной книги телефона и проговаривает его вслух, при звонке с неизвестного номера проговаривает его цифры.

Сергей Потресов (sergey.potresov@mobile-review.com)
Опубликовано — 23 марта 2007 г.

 

Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

  [an error occurred while processing this directive]
Новости:
Hit

21.09.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор Nokia 6

Hit

21.09.2017 Видео на канале: Можно ли разблокировать Samsung Galaxy Note 8 фотографией лица

21.09.2017 Браузер Opera Developer 49 поддерживает видео в формате VR

21.09.2017 Выпущена Android One версия смартфона Moto X4

21.09.2017 BlaBlaCar в России интегрируется в Google Карты

21.09.2017 «Яндекс» покажет Путину прототип своего беспилотного автомобиля

21.09.2017 Google и HTC объявили о подписании соглашения о сотрудничестве

20.09.2017 Слухи: HTC завтра объявит о продаже части своего бизнеса Google

20.09.2017 Amazon представил обновленный 10,1-дюймовый планешет Fire HD 10

20.09.2017 MEIZU представила новый бюджетный смартфон – MEIZU M6

20.09.2017 Aquaris U2 и Aquaris U2 Lite – недорогие смартфоны среднего уровня от испанской BQ

20.09.2017 ФСБ и Роскомнадзор начали борьбу с кэшем Google

20.09.2017 iOS 11 уже доступна для загрузки

19.09.2017 «Лаборатория Касперского» готовит антивирус для автомобилей

19.09.2017 Google поможет стартапам раскрутиться с помощью Startup with Google

19.09.2017 LEXAND Kids Radar – детские умные часы-трекер для отслеживания детей родителями

19.09.2017 Это свершилось! Адреса, номера телефонов и контакты теперь преобразуются в ссылки в Gmail

19.09.2017 Россвязь работает на механизмом блокировки мобильных телефонов по IMEI

Hit

18.09.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор смартфона OnePlus 5

18.09.2017 ESET: хакеры майнят криптовалюту через браузеры российских пользователей

Hit

18.09.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор смартфона Moto G5s

18.09.2017 «Билайн» обновил тарифную линейку для своих бизнес-клиентов

18.09.2017 Смартфон ZTE Blade A6 Lite с аккумулятором ёмкостью 5000 мАч выходит на российский рынок

18.09.2017 Банки узнают о смене телефона клиентами даже без их согласия

18.09.2017 Bose QuietComfort 35 II – беспроводные наушники со встроенным Google Ассистентом

Подписка
 
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2017. All rights reserved.