facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials


Rambler's Top100
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Print this review

LG at WMC

It is not a secret that LG wasn't able to holds its own against the competition over the past years; but starting from the LC Chocolate release the sky seemed to begin clearing up little by little for the maker on some European markets. Focusing on its key products that are well-built and come included with a bevy of innovations, LG is returning to the market at great strides, and its strategy, or, lets put it this way, behavior model, is vastly different from the competition. Basically, they have forgone the practice of rolling out a multitude of solutions at once and rather prefer sticking to a narrow portfolio with solutions that can make a statement in one way or another. For a company like LG, thats actually a good move and this years exhibition is another proof of that.

As of today, LGs central product is the LG Viewty (KU990). Back in Barcelona busses along with the exhibitions venue were jam-packed with billboards and posters picturing the KU990. The makers booth greets its visitors with a big replica of the device, housing a special Viewty zone right behind it. To tell the truth, the Viewty attraction was among the most creative this year. Imagine a round table with a selection of items on it, with six zones on it, each them represents the technologies put into the handsets camera. For instance, there was a black box with a couple of figures inside, so you take a picture of them and see what high ISO settings are in there for. Moving to left we found ourselves and a feet massager mimicking in-train (or wherever) shooting conditions, so thats how one could learn about the Viewtys optical stabilizer. In fact, every feature got covered this way, one after another it was a great experience, perfect materialization of the idea, and honestly, I had never seen something like that before.

But while the Viewty is nothing new to us as a product, a couple of other solutions looked very promising. For instance, the LG KF600 employing the same idea as the Samsung U900 Soul, i.e. it retains two displays one of which is used for moving about the phone. Well, thats what lies on the surface. In fact the KF600 packs in only one 3-inch screen that is divided into two zones one for displaying information, one for controls and menu icons. It is pretty much in keeping with the latest trends as the contents of the lower part of the screen are context aware. Plus, since it is the same display, the picture you get with the display at bottom is sublime. The strip separating it is in effect a trick to make it easier for the user to figure out which screen does what. Moreover, they took an interesting approach to the phones apparel its animated wallpapers slip into lower display over the black strip, which is quite spectacular. The bottom part of the display comes with some with-it technology InteractPad when pressed it starts vibrating a little, giving you some sort of tactile feedback.

The ergonomics of the KF600 are pretty close to the LG Prada and the likes. It readily slips into just about any pocket, and is palm-friendly. As far as its technical specifications go, the handset comes bundled with a 3 Mpix camera, microSD memory expansion slot, FM-radio, player long story short, a standard feature pack, nothing special about it.

It is quite another matter, though, that the handsets style had been developed by a pop singer, Keith Haring. And while his name doesnt ring a bell inside me, once I had a glimpse of the phones UI, I instantly came to appreciate his work. The menu UI, wallpapers and fonts are all full of life and fun to observe, to the extent that you fall in love with the KF600 after several minutes of playing around with it.

In my opinion, the fact that it is not the makers top-of-the-line solution resulted in the KF600s meager buttons design (since it is a slider among all other things). In some ways, it takes some sophistication away from it, but it is still worth a glance.

The centerpiece of the KF-series is the KF700, which also comes packed with a 3-inch display, but doesnt have it separated into two zones, meaning that its entire real estate is for data. This slider is positioned as the worlds first sliding phone that allows for three task-relevant input methods. For instance, if you are composing a message, you would be better off with an on-screen thumbboard, or you can opt for the KF700s mechanical buttons, which are handier for dialing numbers. Generally, the idea is pretty clear and its implementation is nothing to be concerned about.

In terms of its technological talents, the KF700 is a replica of the KF600, but sports a wheel menu with shortcuts to various applications. If we were to take our pick from these two phones, we would go for the junior solution, as it looks more appealing.

All in all, the top-echelon models of the KF series have quite impressed me; among them is the LG KF510 a slim slider at only 10.9 mm deep, housed in a metallic casing and boasting a quaint keypad. Various light effects, pretty color schemes available for the phone, all this forges a truly unusual handset. And this has to mean something, as these days a phone that stands out of the pack is already worth more than a glance.

For European carriers, like Vodafone, LG also has a handful of KF-branded solutions in stock, like the LG KF310. Its a conventional slider coming in with a 2-inch display, memory cards, 2 Mpix camera and UMTS connectivity. All up, it is a mass-market phone with no bells and whistles, not an eye-catcher in any way.

As far as doing business with carriers go, the maker banks on affordable solutions, especially folders. For instance, the LG KP230/KP235 are notable for their extremely light price tags, while looking much more expensive than that, as the vendor puts it. But what these two are really about is their new menu structure that is, right from the standby screen you can access the phones core functions shortcuts to which are stored in a side-bar. This year a lot of makers have addressed this by coming up with quick launch panels or menus of this kind.

The lower-end of LGs portfolio got beefed up with the LG KP130 a candy-bar with GSM connectivity, and thats pretty much about it.

With music being so much to the fore, LG is striving to get closer to the competition in this department. But dont look for stellar music-minded models in its line-up, or a breakthrough - the company is walking the path of evolution with well-designed solutions that give away their Korean origins outright. For instance, LG KM500 allows beaming music to a couple of wireless headphones, meaning that you can share music sessions with your friends (although this functionality isnt particularly craved among the users). The phone also packs in a dedicated music key, an enhanced music player that can identify music tracks by fragments, which is very similar to what Sony Ericssons TrackID offers. LG is obviously trying to win over consumers, but as far as music goes, there is nothing to write home about as yet.

The top-of-the-line music-centric solution rolled out at MWC was the KM710, that doesnt differ much from the previous solution light effects, better loudspeaker, full-on support for GraceNote (which TrackID bases off) and up to 30 hours of music. Plus the navigation key has a pressable secondary display embedded inside. On balance, it is nothing out of this world.

As regards accessories, the company has intensified its efforts in this field of late, rolling out wireless stereo-speakers and an array of headsets some of which seem very interesting.

As for quirky exhibits, LG showcased wrist watch with built-in phone functionality. This type of gadgets got a new life injected in it last year, whereas it made its first appearance around 7-8 years ago.

The KS20 is another eye-grabber presented by LG at MWC we will be reviewing it soon.

The KT610 is the phone that we got really exited about it is a thumbboard-enabled communicator running the S60. No manufacturer other than Nokia ventures to have these devices in portfolio, and here comes LG. The concept the KT610 employs is exactly the same as that found in Nokia-branded offerings: when closed, it is acts as a phone, and when flipped open it turns into sort of a mobile PC. Retailing for 370 Euro it appears to be an affordable replacement for a more feature-packed, and thus expensive, Nokia E90. But in all honestly, these are two completely different device classes. At any rate, the KT610 got my attention and Im looking forward to a full hands-on session with it.

Eldar Murtazin (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Translated by Oleg Kononosov (oleg.kononosov@mobile-review.com)

Published — 14 February 2008

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

News:

[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean

Subscribe

Register | Lost password?

E-mail


Password




Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

podcast quotes-left quotes-right search menu arrow-up arrow-up2 google-plus3 facebook2 instagram telegram twitter vk youtube android rss2
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Версия для печати Блоггерам

WMC. Продукты от LG или если долго мучиться

Не секрет, что компания LG в предыдущие годы выглядела бледно на фоне конкурентов, начиная с запуска LG Chocolate, ситуация стала исправляться на ряде европейских рынков. Ориентируясь на ключевые продукты, которые сделаны качественно, включают в себя различные инновации, компания активно возвращается на рынок, ее стратегия или, если хотите, модель поведения резко отличается от других компаний. Отказ от показного и огромного количества моделей в пользу небольшого числа продуктов, которые запоминаются. Для компании уровня LG это хороший ход, и текущая выставка – тому только подтверждение.

Основным продуктом для LG на текущий момент является LG Viewty (KU990), обзор этого аппарата вы можете прочитать на нашем сайте. В Барселоне на многих автобусах можно видеть рекламу этого телефона, ей пестрят различные издания и, конечно же, территория выставки. На стенде вас встречает большой муляж аппарата, а за ним располагается специальная зона Viewty. Признаюсь честно, что именно аттракцион под названием Viewty один из самых креативных в этом году. Представьте круглый стол, на котором расположены различные предметы, и двигается лента транспортера. Вокруг стола расположено шесть зон, каждая из них демонстрирует технологии, заложенные в камере телефона. Например, черный ящик содержит фигурки людей, а напротив стоит телефон. Вы снимаете эти фигурки и видите результат, это рассказ в доступной форме для чего нужно высокое значение ISO. Смещаемся левее и встаем на массажер для ног. Он изображает тряску при поездке в транспорте. Берем аппарат в руки и смотрим, как работает технология оптической стабилизации изображения. И вот так, в таком ключе описана функция за функцией. Очень интересная задумка, отличная реализация, не видел ничего подобного у других компаний ни в предыдущие годы, ни на этой выставке.

Но если Viewty нас не удивишь, то ряд продуктов выглядят крайне перспективно и интересно. Например, LG KF600, в нем используется ровно та же идея, что и в Samsung U900 Soul – два экрана, один из которых является управляющим. Нет, неправильно, экран один, он 3-дюймовый, но разделен на две зоны. Одна зона выводит информацию, а вторая выступает в качестве клавиатуры и иконок меню. Все ровно в стиле последних тенденций, в зависимости от меню меняется и содержимое нижнего экрана. Так как это полноценный дисплей, ничем не отличающийся от верхнего, то и качество картинки на нем идеально, разницы нет. Полоска между экранами – это трюк дизайнеров, ее могло бы не быть, но тогда как понять, где начинается «основной» дисплей, где второстепенный? Обыграв такое разделение, в компании поступили любопытно: анимированные обои выплывают из одного экрана, подползают под разделительную черту и вот они уже на втором дисплее. Ход необычный, привлекающий внимание. Нижний экран обзавелся модным словечком – InteractPad, видимо, это интерактивная панель. При нажатиях клавиш на этой панели вы чувствуете отдачу, аппарат легко вибрирует.

Эргономика аппарата вполне сравнима с тем же LG Prada или подобными телефонами. Его легко положить в карман, легко удерживать в руке. В наличии 3-мегапиксельная камера, карты памяти microSD, FM-радио, плеер – одним словом, полный джентльменский набор приложений. Тут сказать особо нечего.

Другое дело, что в оформлении аппарата принимал участие поп-исполнитель Keith Haring, его имя для меня ничего не говорит в принципе. Но, посмотрев на интерфейс аппарата, проникаешься к его работе уважением. Интерфейс меню, заставок, шрифтов сделан легко, весело, к аппарату проникаешься любовью уже через несколько минут. Он живой, не выглядит застывшим набором форм и нагромождением меню.

На мой взгляд, нежелание делать этот телефон топовым решением вылилось в скудное оформление клавиш, ведь аппарат является слайдером. В какой-то мере это упрощает его, делает не слишком стильным. Но в целом модель крайне интересна и заслуживает внимания.

Главной же моделью в серии KF является KF700, она также оснащена 3-дюймовым экраном, но нет никаких делений на зоны, вся область экрана подразумевает ввод информации. Этот аппарат позиционируется как первый в мире слайдер, предлагающий один из трех методов ввода информации в зависимости от задачи. Например, если вы работаете с сообщениями, то вам удобно будет использовать виртуальную клавиатуру. Открыв аппарат, вы можете задействовать традиционные клавиши, их же стоит использовать для набора номера, так быстрее. В целом задумка понятна, реализация не вызывает вопросов.

Аппарат технически – полный слепок с KF600, но есть карусельное меню для быстрого вызова ряда функций. Если брать в сравнение KF700 и KF600, то младшая модель выглядит значительно интереснее.

В целом старшие модели серии KF мне крайне приглянулись, например, LG KF510. Тонкий слайдер (10.9 мм) в металлическом корпусе и с необычной световой клавиатурой. Различные цветовые эффекты, красиво выглядящие цвета корпуса – все вместе создает необычную модель. А необычность сегодня равна уникальности в чем-то аппарат, выделяющийся из толпы, уже неплох. Модель получилась интересной.

Для европейских операторов, например, Vodafone, компания выпускает несколько моделей в линейке KF, давайте посмотрим на аппарат LG KF310. Обычный слайдер с 2-дюймовым экраном, картой памяти, 2-мегапиксельной камерой, поддержкой UMTS. Массовая модель без особых изысков и не слишком привлекающая внимание.

В работе с операторами ставка делается на недорогие модели, популярны раскладушки. Например, LG KP230/KP235 отличаются очень бюджетной стоимостью и при этом, по мнению производителя, выглядят значительно дороже. Но главное в этих аппаратах – изменившаяся структура меню. Прямо с основного экрана в режиме ожидания можно пролистывать вертикальную линейку пунктов, выбирать основные действия, характерные для аппарата. В этом году многие производители озаботились предложением такого рода меню либо меню быстрого запуска.

Для совсем недорогого сегмента компания имеет моноблок LG KP130, это всего лишь GSM-аппарат с низкой стоимостью.

Тема музыки для компании близка, основное направление – это ликвидация разрыва с другими производителями. Тут не стоит искать модели, которые выглядят прорывом, это всего лишь эволюция, выверенные с точки зрения дизайна аппараты, в них с первого взгляда угадываются корейские телефоны. Например, LG KM500. Аппарат позволяет передавать звук на несколько беспроводных наушников, то есть вы можете делиться музыкой со своими друзьями. Вряд ли такая функция очень интересна, она экзотична и встречалась только в продуктах Samsung до сегодняшнего дня. Присутствует специальная музыкальная клавиша, плеер доработан, по сравнению с другими аппаратами компании, есть определение музыки по отрывку, это аналог TrackID от Sony Ericsson. Компания явно стремится завоевать симпатии пользователей, но в аспекте музыки ей пока похвастать особо нечем.

В качестве топового музыкального решения представлена модель KM710. В ней не так много отличий от предыдущего аппарата – световые эффекты для индикатора, получше динамик, полная поддержка GraceNote (на нем основан тот самый TrackID), до 30 часов прослушивания музыки. Да, в навигационную клавишу вписан второй экран, на который можно нажимать. В целом ничего сверхъестественного или пробуждающего любопытство.

В аспекте аксессуаров компания активизировалась, тут и беспроводные стереоколонки, и различные гарнитуры, некоторые из них выглядят весьма и весьма интересно.

Из необычных экспонатов стоит отметить наручные часы со встроенным телефоном. Тема получила второе дыхание в прошлом году, впервые она активно эксплуатировалась лет 7-8 назад.

Из необычных аппаратов стоит отметить KS20, его обзор скоро будет на сайте, также в красном цвете представлена модель с мобильным телевидением, ничего особенного.

Крайне интересной показалась модель KT610, это коммуникатор с QWERTY-клавиатурой, но работающий на платформе S60. Никто кроме Nokia подобные продукты не производит, а вот LG решилась. Концепция ровно такая же, как у коммуникаторов от Nokia: в закрытом состоянии это телефон, в раскрытом – своего рода компьютер. При стоимости около 370 Евро аппарат выглядит недорогой заменой более функционального, но и дорогого Nokia E90. Хотя, положа руку на сердце, это совсем разные классы устройств. Но модель от LG выглядит любопытно, мне будет интересно познакомиться с ней поближе. На этом рассказ о стенде LG и ее продуктах позвольте завершить.

Эльдар Муртазин (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Опубликовано — 12 февраля 2008 г.

 

Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

 
Новости:

27.06.2017 Российская армия получит шлемы дополненной реальности

27.06.2017 ИскИн Bixby испытывает проблемы с освоением новых языков

27.06.2017 Samsung вкладывает средства в 6-нм техпроцесс

27.06.2017 Facebook, Microsoft, Twitter и YouTube объединились для борьбы с терроризмом

27.06.2017 Greenpeace и iFixit назвали лучшие и худшие устройства по ремонтопригодности

27.06.2017 Европейские антимонопольные регулирующие органы оштрафовали Google на рекордные 2,42 миллиарда Евро

27.06.2017 Samsung Pay стал доступен клиентам Россельхозбанка и банка «Девон-Кредит»

27.06.2017 Роскомнадзор: требования к Telegram не подразумевают доступ к перепискам

27.06.2017 Управление ФССП арестовало акции МТС

27.06.2017 Samsung предлагает Galaxy S8 Plus в розовом цвете

Hit

26.06.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор BlackBerry Aurora

26.06.2017 FiiO представила для поклонников продукции Apple новый усилитель для наушников FiiOi1

26.06.2017 TP-Link объявила о старте продаж смартфона Neffos X1 Max в России

26.06.2017 Пользователи «Ростелекома» пожаловались на скрытое подключение дополнительных услуг

26.06.2017 ФАС собирается изъять из российских законов термин «роуминг»

26.06.2017 Запуск Samsung Galaxy Note8 в продажу планируется в сентябре

23.06.2017 TCL представит еще один BlackBerry без физической клавиатуры

23.06.2017 WhatsApp позволит пересылать любые файлы

23.06.2017 Android 8 может быть назван в честь овсяного печенья

23.06.2017 Павел Дуров ответил на угрозы главы Роскомнадзора заблокировать его мессенджер Telegram

23.06.2017 Закон о блокировке «зеркал» принят Госдумой

23.06.2017 Google представила новый видеоформат для виртуальной реальности — VR180

23.06.2017 Роскомнадзор грозит заблокировать Telegram

23.06.2017 ФНС: блокировка российского сайта Google произошла из-за букмекерской конторы

23.06.2017 На российский рынок выходит последняя флагманская модель Hi-Fi плеера COWON Plenue 2

Подписка
 
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2017. All rights reserved.