facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials


Rambler's Top100
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Print this review

HTC Touch Diamond

First impressions

If it is are our first take on the HTC Touch Diamond that you are after, then youll find it all in our special write-up. The thing is, we are going to omit this part in the today's article, which will be rather a quick run-through, a round-up after a day of quality time with the Diamond. Also we are going to answer some frequently asked questions about the Touch Diamond at the end. Without further ado, here goes.

Casing and materials

The main material employed in the Touch Diamonds design is plastic the rear is decked out in snazzy glossy plastic, although its utilitarian merits are thin on the ground (which is something we always grumble about). The back cover is the epitome of fingerprint-magnet, plus it will pick up scuffs and scratches with time, which is also a generic trait of this type of surfaces.

But speaking of wear and tear, it is worth noting that with its Diamond HTC is following in the footsteps of Nokia in many ways, offering the market a fashion-conscious solution (even if running Windows Mobile) and realizing that users are very likely to overlook some glitches as long as it retains a unique style and face. The glossy surface is exactly that sacrifice of substance in favor of style.

The complex edgy surface of the rear, contrary to the popular opinion, isnt just a visual effect there are numerous facets and edges over there indeed.

The front fascia is composed of a plastic part at the base (the navigation cluster) and glass coating the display, which proves to be quite responsive both when using the stylus and fingers. However, its a bit too early to say our final word on its sensitivity by the Diamonds release date this parameter may well get tuned in some ways. The side-frame of the phones casing is in fact all metal, painted in black.

Another feature of note is the Diamonds ability to suck the stylus in. The implementation doesnt take a rocket scientist to figure out, however it is certainly questionable. The tip of the stylus is magnetized and inside the silo there is a tiny magnet strip that draws it in whenever you attempt to put the stylus where it belongs. While this setup is handy, make no mistake about that, we have certain doubts about how long it will actually serve the user. Obviously, the magnet is pretty much the only thing that keeps the stylus inside, but it will lose its power with time and therefore its grip wont be just as firm.

Size

Size-wise, the HTC Touch Diamond raises the bar, and we arent exaggerating it by any means. The phones casing is so pocketable, that itd be an insult to compare it to communicators or other Windows Mobile powered devices it trumps them hands down on this front.

While its dimensions are more or less comparable with those of the Touch, in reality it feels smaller in the hand and its svelte profile puts it in one boat with feature phones. Furthermore, apart from being one of the most diminutive offerings in its class, the Diamond is also among the most miniscule solutions in the Windows Mobile segment, bar the Neonode.

Display

The HTC Touch Diamond is the first device to bring VGA resolution and a 2.8-inch display together before that moment HTC employed a VGA-enabled screen only in the X7500 and the Universal platform. In terms of quality the Diamond is a head above the competition. We faced it off against some Glofiish devices and found out that despite offering the same specifications (resolution, colors, diagonal), the Diamonds display looked way better than the Glofiish M800. Probably it will fare just as well against VGA-armed solutions from Gigabyte.

The Touch Diamonds display also sports great viewing angles, decent color reproduction and brightness expect more in our in-depth review.

Platform

The HTC Touch Diamond employs an updated Qualcomm MSM 7201A platform with the CPU running at 528 Mhz. It doesnt differ much from the MSM 7200 bar the manufacturing method that has allowed for the leap in the CPU clock rate and lower power consumption.

Now for the platforms speed, since it carries a VGA display onboard. Again, we will reserve our final judgment until we get hold of a commercial unit, but on the whole, as it is, the Diamond doesnt seem sluggish at all. The graphics accelerator that was built into the previous version of the chipset hasnt undergone any changes at all, but the main thing here is that it will be engaged for some applications at last. That is, it makes for speedy top-notch animation in TouchFLO 3D (weather forecast, transitions in the menu, pop-up windows).

For video sessions, as long as you use Coreplayer with support for Qtv, youll get pretty good speed too below are the charts with our preliminary video tests (where the Diamond goes up against the Glofiish M800 that comes equipped with a VGA display as well).

The Diamond ships with 192 Mb of RAM, all system processes eat up to half of that volume, which is why they have dumped the idea of implementing just 128 Mb. With current firmware versions we got around 90 Mb of memory at our disposal and we didnt count the TouchFLO 3D interface at that (supposedly it takes around 20-30 Mb more to run).

TouchFLO 3D

To be frank, we are torn apart by this dilemma to tell or not to tell. Of course its all about the Diamonds 3D interface. While we want to review it here because TouchFLO 3D sets new standards for Windows Mobile based devices in the perception of the user, on the other hand, it deserves a much more thorough close-up. That why we are going to keep mum on it, being unable to cover all aspects of TouchFLO 3D here, and will rather reserve it for the full version of this review.

One more thing of note, power users wont find it all that fascinating, all though it makes for much faster and easier access to all basic features of the phone.

Below is a series of video clips showcasing the Diamonds TouchFLO 3D in action; also they can give you a general idea of the devices performance, but dont forget that what we played with was an early engineering sample.

Video. TouchFLO 3D (mp4, 15,3 mb) >>>

Video. Gallery (mp4, 12,1 mb) >>>

Video. Applications menu (mp4, 6,3 mb) >>>

FAQ

We will go though all traits and feats of the Diamond in detail in our full review, and here we will address some of the hottest questions that have been popping up around the Web.

Sales package. Its very likely that the Diamond will come in a lackluster package, just like most other offerings from HTC, that is, it will include a headset, charger, data cable and the communicator itself. Extra accessories for the Touch Diamond will include a slip case, desk stand and a more capacious battery that will come with a bigger back cover, that will certainly add a couple of millimeters to its girth.

Performance. Even in the state it is these days, the Diamond is a pretty good performer, being no different from other HTCs solutions in this department at all (navigation, application start-up time etc.)

Battery time. Many users are currently nervous about the Touch Diamonds battery time, thinking that it wont last long on a single charge. While we dont have enough data on our hands to speak with due confidence as yet, its worth mentioning that the Diamond employs a less power-hungry platform, which, in theory, should make up for its low-capacity battery at least partly. On the other hand, it is obvious that the Touch Diamond wont be a marvel on this front and the fact that the maker is going to realize high-capacity batteries for it is just another proof of that.

Impressions

The Touch Diamond gets the company as close to the concept of a mass-market Windows Mobile powered device as they have never been before. And if the Diamond will turn out to be a flop for some strange reasons, the next generation model, its follow-up, will be popular for sure.

The truth is, there arent that many factors that may hinder the Touch Diamonds success. Among them are a quite hefty price tag and HTC being a relatively unknown brand (obviously the average user will never put it in one league with Nokia, Sony Ericsson and Samsung). As for the rest, the Diamond is free of almost all constraints and limitations that hampered its predecessors (and defined Windows Mobile a platform for mobile professionals alone).

Already today, judging by the Diamonds engineering samples, its safe to say that HTC has come up with a decent offering probably, its a mixed bag design-wise, but it represents a logical leap forward in all other departments, aimed to hit the mass-market hard and appeal the users outside the circle of Windows Mobile specialists. Honestly speaking, we could hardly imagine the Touch Diamond was a communicator during our quality time with it. A phone with beefed up functionality would be a more fitting definition (or, as many users normally call it, a smartphone)

We will have a detailed review of the HTC Touch Diamond up in a few weeks. Dont forget to check back for more!

Artem Lutfullin (artem.lutfullin@mobile-review.com)
Translated by Oleg Kononosov (oleg.kononosov@mobile-review.com)

Published — 14 May 2008

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

News:

[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean

Subscribe

Register | Lost password?

E-mail


Password




Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

podcast quotes-left quotes-right search menu arrow-up arrow-up2 google-plus3 facebook2 instagram telegram twitter vk youtube android rss2

HTC Touch Diamond

Первые впечатления

Основные мысли относительно нового продукта HTC уже изложены нами в отдельном материале, поэтому повторяться в этой статье нет смысла. Первые впечатления в этот раз будут скорее кратким, сжатым мнением о модели, составленным в течение одного дня использования. Также в этой же статье мы ответим на ряд общих вопросов, которые появляются у наших читателей относительно Touch Diamond. Обойдемся без лишних вступлений и сразу перейдем к делу.

Корпус, материалы

Основной материал, используемый в Touch Diamond, – это пластик. Задняя сторона выполнена из глянцевого пластика. Смотрится такой материал приятно, но в остальном непрактичен, о чем мы говорим постоянно. Крышка быстро покрывается следами и отпечатками, этого не избежать. Следы и потертости со временем – также типичные признаки такого покрытия.

Но, говоря об износе корпуса, следует помнить, что, выпуская Diamond, компания HTC во многом повторяет путь Nokia, представляя рынку имиджевый продукт (пускай и на базе Windows Mobile) и закономерно предполагая, что пользователи готовы к некоторым минусам в пользу дизайна, более интересного внешнего вида. Глянцевое покрытие – как раз такая жертва практичности в угоду дизайну, стилю.

Ломаные грани на задней крышке, вопреки мнению о том, что это простой эффект, действительно присутствуют, это не оптический обман. Вся крышка разделена на отдельные плоскости, которые и создают эффект граней.

Лицевая сторона выполнена из пластика в нижней части (блок клавиш) и стекла, покрывающего дисплей. Экран реагирует неплохо как на нажатия пером, так и пальцем, но пока говорить о чувствительности дисплея рано. К началу продаж этот параметр может претерпеть изменения. Боковая рамка корпуса выполнена из металла, окрашенного в черный цвет.

Стоит упомянуть интересную функцию – автодоводку пера. Реализована она очень просто, хотя и спорно. Наконечник пера намагничен, а в том месте, куда он вставляется, (внутри пенала) установлена тонкая полоска магнита. В итоге, когда вы вставляете перо, оно автоматически втягивается внутрь. Это удобно, однако схема пока вызывает вопросы в плане долговечности. Магнит – единственное, что держит перо внутри пенала, и если он будет ослабевать, то и крепление пера будет становиться слабее.

Размеры

По габаритам HTC Touch Diamond, можно сказать без преувеличения, задает один из новых стандартов на рынке. Корпус модели компактен, и сравнивать ее с коммуникаторами и даже смартфонами на Windows Mobile просто нет смысла, разница в габаритах значительна.

Несмотря на то, что размеры Diamond приблизительно сравнимы с размерами Touch, на практике получается так, что в руках Diamond ощущается более компактным. Небольшая толщина корпуса и его ширина делают устройство сравнимым по габаритам с простыми телефонами. При этом модель является не просто самой компактной в своем классе, но и одной из самых маленьких на базе Windows Mobile, за исключением Neonode.

Экран

В HTC Touch Diamond компания впервые использует VGA-экран с распространенной диагональю 2.8”. До этого HTC применяла VGA-экран только в X7500, а также ранее, на платформе Universal. По качеству дисплея новая модель не имеет конкурентов на рынке. Сравнение с аппаратами от Glofiish показало удивительный результат: несмотря на, казалось бы, одинаковые характеристики дисплеев (диагональ, цветность, разрешение), экран в HTC Touch Diamond заметно лучше, чем в Glofiish M800.Скорее всего, при сравнении с VGA-моделями от Gigabyte картина будет аналогичной.

Экран Touch Diamond обладает максимальными углами обзора, хорошей цветопередачей и запасом яркости. Подробнее о дисплее мы поговорим в обзоре.

Платформа

В HTC Touch Diamond используется обновленная платформа Qualcomm MSM 7201A с процессором частотой 528 МГц. Отличия от платформы MSM 7200 невелики, основное – улучшенный техпроцесс производства, что позволило повысить частоту процессора (с 400 до 528 МГц), а также снизить энергопотребление.

Теперь к вопросу о скорости работы платформы с VGA-экраном. Делать окончательные выводы рано, но в целом даже в текущем, «сыром» состоянии аппарат демонстрирует неплохую скорость работы. Графический ускоритель, который был встроен и в прошлую версию чипа, сам по себе не претерпел изменений, однако он наконец-то будет использован, хотя бы частично. Так, при работе с TouchFLO 3D есть качественные анимационные эффекты (отображение погоды, плавная анимация меню, всплывающих окон), которые отображаются без задержек.

При просмотре видео, если использовать CorePlayer с поддержкой Qtv, можно добиться неплохой скорости работы. Ниже мы приводим предварительные результаты тестирования на скорость обработки видео и сравнение с Glofiish M800, оба аппарата имеют VGA-дисплей.

Количество оперативной памяти для модели составляет 192 Мб, из них системные процессы занимают около половины, что объясняет отказ компании от 128 Мб. В текущих прошивках свободной памяти остается примерно 90 Мб без учета работы TouchFLO 3D, сам интерфейс отнимает, предположительно, еще примерно 20-30 Мб.

TouchFLO 3D

Честно говоря, рассказывать сейчас о новом интерфейсе одновременно и хочется, и нет. Хочется, потому что TouchFLO 3D действительно приподнимает планку удобства работы с Windows Mobile для простых пользователей на новый уровень. А нет, потому что интерфейс заслуживает большего внимания, нежели пара слов. Поэтому мы воздержимся от половинчатого рассказа о TouchFLO 3D и оставим описание интерфейса на десерт.

Для искушенного пользователя интерфейс не так интересен, хотя и обеспечивает максимально быстрый доступ к основным функциям.

Ниже мы приводим видеоролики работы нового интерфейса TouchFLO 3D, также они позволяют примерно оценить производительность устройства, хотя не стоит забывать о том, что у нас в руках был ранний тестовый образец.

Видео. TouchFLO 3D (mp4, 15,3 мб) >>>

Видео. Альбом (mp4, 12,1 мб) >>>

Видео. Меню Программы (mp4, 6,3 мб) >>>

Ответы

На основные вопросы мы ответим в подробном обзоре аппарата, пока же приведу ряд ответов на вопросы, заданные на нашем форуме в теме HTC Touch Diamond.

Комплект поставки. Скорее всего, модель будет поставляться в простой комплектации, как и большинство других аппаратов компании. Это гарнитура, зарядное устройство с кабелем и сам коммуникатор. Дополнительные аксессуары для Touch Diamond – это чехол, зарядный стакан и аккумулятор расширенной емкости. Последний будет идти с задней крышкой, так что итоговая толщина корпуса при использовании такой батареи будет становиться немного больше.

Производительность. Модель уже сейчас неплохо оптимизирована, так что отличия в работе от предыдущих аппаратов компании незаметны вовсе, это касается навигации, скорости запуска программ и различных пунктов меню.

Время работы. Многие пользователи сейчас опасаются того, что Touch Diamond будет работать от одного заряда совсем недолго. Говорить о конкретных значениях пока рано, но можно отметить, что в отличие от прошлых устройств компании в Diamond используется платформа с более низким энергопотреблением, что, в теории, должно хотя бы частично возместить использование аккумулятора малой емкости. С другой стороны, можно говорить о том, что Touch Diamond явно не будет одним из лидеров по времени автономной работы, и выпуск аккумулятора повышенной емкости – яркое тому свидетельство.

Впечатления

Модель HTC Touch Diamond вплотную приближает компанию к реализации идеи массового устройства на Windows Mobile. И если этот аппарат не станет массовым вне рамок рынка по каким-то причинам, то модель следующего поколения, созданная по тем же принципам, будет популярна наверняка.

Ограничивающих факторов для Touch Diamond не так много, это относительно высокая стоимость в сравнении с телефонами, а также неизвестность марки HTC, ее невозможно поставить по популярности в один ряд с Nokia, Sony Ericsson, Samsung для простого пользователя. В остальном Diamond снимает почти все ограничения, которые ранее накладывались на устройства на базе Windows Mobile и делали эту платформу доступной только для избранных.

Уже сейчас, по тестовым образцам устройства, можно говорить о том, что модель удалась. Она, возможно, спорная в плане дизайна, но в остальном это совершенно логичное развитие идей компании в направлении массовых устройств, популярных вне узкой группы Windows Mobile-пользователей. Даже название «коммуникатор» не приходит на ум во время работы с Touch Diamond. Это скорее телефон с расширенной функциональностью, смартфон в привычном для большинства пользователей понимании.

Подробный обзор HTC Touch Diamond появится на сайте в ближайшие недели. Оставайтесь с нами!

Артем Лутфуллин (artem.lutfullin@mobile-review.com)
Опубликовано - 13 мая 2008 г.

Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

 
Новости:

20.10.2017 Скрытая кнопка меню в Pixel 2 оказалась «багом», а не «фичей»

20.10.2017 Vivo официально дебютирует на новых рынках, включая Россию

20.10.2017 HTC представит новый смартфон 2 ноября

20.10.2017 Российские покупатели могут приобрести программу видеонаблюдения Faceter, которая распознаёт лица

20.10.2017 Bosch: Обновление ПО автомобилей через интернет скоро станет стандартной функцией современных автомобилей

20.10.2017 МГТС будет раздавать абонентам 4К телевизоры

20.10.2017 Samsung опубликовал технические характеристики на свой защищённый планшет Galaxy Tab Active2

20.10.2017 HMD представила новый смартфон среднего уровня Nokia 7

19.10.2017 Microsoft прекратила поддержку Lumia 640

19.10.2017 Взрывы аккумуляторов смартфонов продолжаются: Moto E4 Plus

19.10.2017 Рендеры HTC U11 Plus подтверждают сохранение дизайна

19.10.2017 Второе поколение Bixby научится управлять умным домом

19.10.2017 «Лаборатория Касперского» обнаружила в свободной продаже программу для кражи денег из банкоматов

19.10.2017 Oppo F5 выйдет в трех вариантах

19.10.2017 Sony представила флагман Xperia XZ Premium в новом красном цвете – «Rosso»

19.10.2017 Samsung 360 Round – камера, которая покажет виртуальное 3D видео в реальном времени

19.10.2017 Google добавила новый метод проверки для двухфакторной аутентификации

19.10.2017 LG и Qualcomm займутся совместной разработкой новых технологий для автомобилей будущего

Hit

18.10.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор Samsung Gear IconX 2018

18.10.2017 В России представлены первые в мире протезы с системой бесконтактной оплаты

18.10.2017 Samsung Pay самая популярная платежная система в Корее

18.10.2017 Google представит Android 8.1 Oreo в ближайшие недели

18.10.2017 WhatsApp появится возможность сообщить свое местоположение

18.10.2017 Microsoft представила ноутбук Surface Book 2

18.10.2017 VEON запустил в России для свих клиентов потоковый сервис Deezer

Подписка
 
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2017. All rights reserved.