facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials


Rambler's Top100

Handset for kids Buddy Bear

Buddy Bear live photos>>>

Standard kit:

  • Handset
  • Battery
  • Charger
  • Users Guide
  • Carrying bag

The very idea of handsets, targeted at one certain group of consumers has been around for some time, however was completely ignored by all major manufacturers. It seemed that for this kind of handset, one would not exert too much of resources and time. Yet the markets uniting kids and older people were always passed by. Thus it was all up to smaller manufacturers to invent a corresponding device and ear themselves reputation on this. The market for the youngest consumers holds only three models, namely FireFly, iKids, and Buddy Bear, which is put into limelight this review. If you peek in the developers documents, you will find out that this phone is intended for kids from 3 years and older and is targeted to achieve several goals at once. Despite majority of handsets, this very device lacks display, indeed its absent. There is some logic in this, as you can hardly expect a preschool to read all inscriptions on a screen, even though there are some kids that are taught the alphabet when they are 3-4 years old, but they are few in numbers. On the other hand the screen should have been made able to reflect at least icons, which are intuitively obvious to any kid and basically they would have eased operation with the device given some sort of feedback between the infant and the cell phone. But first things first, lets not put the card before the horse.

The core sign allowing you to distinguish a kid aligned handset is its outlook; naturally you will recognize a toy in it at the first glance. For comparison, we decided to place Buddy Bear and a toy face-to-face on the picture as you see, differences are eluding.

The toy has the appearance of a bear with buttons on his paws, while the animals face provides pick/hang up keys. The bears ears feature light indicators with several backlighting colors available. Trims of the handset are extremely diverse, so that you can choose the one appealing to you childs taste or matching his cloths. In our case the phone was red. All framings of white color are made of soft plastic and feel somewhat similar to rubber; they are softer than the rest of the casing.

Video, handsets design (wmv, 6.43 Mb)>>>

In fact the handset is a bit too large for a childs hand; still a kid may hold it with two hands basically the necessity in this is cause by the fact the button are too tight, so you will need to put some efforts into actually pressing one. Although that excludes any accident pressings while the handset is carried in a pocket are a bag there is no key lock function. The phone weights 82 grams, what is acceptable for kids of any age.

The manufacturer particularizes the fact that the used plastic is completely safe and kids may even bite it without any serious consequences. This is the sharpest distinction from all serial models, which commonly have unsafe materials for children, or anyone who would dare chew them, applied. The topic of safety is implied almost in every single chapter of the Users Guide, shipped with Buddy Bear.

All adjustments are to be made via SMS messages, sent from other devices, thats they way to perform this: you plug a SIM card in the Bear and begin sending messages to it from your own handset. All messages should start with a special four-digit code, a variety of PIN code, which is stored not on the SIM card, but in the phones memory instead. Should you type this password incorrectly, the cell phone will ignore the message. Attention, if you dont switch PIN-code check off on the SIM card you are going to use with Buddy Bear, it will be impossible to operate with it.

The Users Guide includes description of all possible commands, which can be sent to the phone, so we are not going to double-post them here, and rather mention some of the highest interest. The SOS keys, allocated on the sides, may be assigned to forwarding various text messages to pre-set parents number. On the face of it, the function appears to be quite fresh, though I suppose it will not find wide application in practice, since a general message will be written by you, so it will be very hard to guess what it means in every given case. Moreover, normal parents are more likely to go crazy with anxiety. Another interesting feature is possibility of making a phone call you after receiving an SMS from your number, so you can hear whats happening around your child. If the child doesnt have the handset on him (though it is marked as not recommended in the users guide, there is a slot for a strap), you will not learn anything new. And what is more, presence of a cover on the handsets brings chances to hear something to zero. A hilarious fact - secrecy of listening is blown by the light indicators, which begin shimmering with various colors, so the child will instantly figure out that he is being bugged. As to the most demanded functions, the handset provides possibility of dialing pre-set phone numbers; having pressed a single key, a kid may either call you or someone out of relatives to tell about his problems etc.

The indication system does not provide much information, so you will have to memorize which mode means what, Im not even talking about children. Among nuisances we should point out the fact that network signal is marked with blue color, so later on you will spend an hour or two explaining to your kid why network indication uses green color instead of blue, for sure.

The handset has 16 mono tunes incorporated and also a vibration alarm these can be set up with the help of Buddy Bears buttons, as well as tunes volume level, which is not very high. And its pretty clear it was made in order not to harm a kid in any way. There is also a special jack for handsfree set on the bottom, accompanied by a slot for plugging in the charger. Yet children under seven cannot use this kind of accessory, what is implied by all standards. Thats why this port should be considered as a useless addition and nothing more.

Quality of assembling is high with no visible flaws the device lacks any infirmly mounted parts; the back cover, hiding the battery is fixed with a screw. It can be turned off with the help of a screwdriver or any other sharp item. The manufacturer announces almost 100 hours of life time in standby mode and up to 3 hours of talk time. Under conditions of Moscow networks, the handset managed to last for 4 days with 1-2 calls of one minute duration per day.

Video, battery (wmv, 5.49 Mb)>>>

Now lets talk about less pleasing facts. Basically, there is no limitation on age, though judging by the modern youth, which attends only the first years classes of elementary school, yet carries low-end or even medium-end models with them, a phone like Buddy Bear is likely to be in moderate demand, as children will see only a funny toy for kindergarten in it. So thats how we acquired the age limit of 6 years.

Now as regards the minimum age, this is 3 years, according to the manufacturer. A stumper for young parents how often does your three-years old kids go out alone or stay home without you for long periods of time? And when he is in kindergarten mentors will most certainly ask him to put it in a locker. Over the past ten days, that I was thinking about possible situations where a kid may badly require a cell phone, I could not come up with an example.

The handsets Users Guide implies the minimal SAR level for a phone with this target audience, and in fact this should stress its safety level. Nevertheless if you browse the home page of the phone for some time, you fill find numerous values of this parameter which are allegedly used in Buddy Bear. After looking into this matter I found out that in many countries kids under six are not at liberty to use mobile phones, further more in some companys documents one will find paragraphs implying that cell phones may exert influence on childrens health

So let us sum up the aforesaid on the whole its a very specific device which is not going to be in great demand, as it costs around 200 USD in Russia as a matter of fact that is too much, so consequentially the potential audience will get even smaller. As long as these phones are running the same concepts are common handsets, they will remain high profile solutions. In order to make them widely popular, manufacturers need to re- conceive the very idea of building up a cell phone.

We would like to thank www.webpanel.ru for supplying the device for this review.

Eldar Murtazin (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Translated by Oleg Kononosov (oleg.kononosov@mobile-review.com)

Published — 19 April 2006

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

News:

[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean

Subscribe

Register | Lost password?

E-mail


Password




Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

podcast quotes-left quotes-right search menu arrow-up arrow-up2 google-plus3 facebook2 instagram telegram twitter vk youtube android rss2

AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Версия для печати

Детский телефон Buddy Bear

Фотографии Buddy Bear в интерьере

Комплект поставки:

  • Телефон;
  • Аккумулятор;
  • Зарядное устройство;
  • Инструкция;
  • Сумочка.

Идея телефона для определенной группы потребителей давно витала в воздухе, но упорно игнорировалась крупными производителями. Казалось бы, на разработку такого аппарата не надо затрачивать больших средств и усилий. Но рынка для себя среди детей или пожилых пользователей компании не замечали. Это дало простор для небольших игроков, которые попытались создать себе имя на таких устройствах. На рынке для самых маленьких представлено только три модели: это FireFly, iKids, а также Buddy Bear, о котором и пойдет речь. По замыслу разработчиков, телефон предназначен для детей от трех лет и преследует сразу множество целей. В отличие от многих решений, в этом аппарате отсутствует дисплей, его нет. Логика в этом прослеживается, ведь до школы дети не умеют читать, некоторые учатся этому в 3-4 года, но таких меньшинство. С другой стороны, дисплей можно было сделать с пиктограммами, иконки были бы понятны любому ребенку и облегчали бы общение с телефоном, давали обратную связь. Но не будем забегать вперед.

Основным признаком принадлежности к категории детских аппаратов становится внешний вид телефона, в нем легко узнать детскую игрушку. Для сравнения мы положили рядом игрушку а-ля телефон, она не сильно отличается от Buddy Bear.

Телефон выполнен в стиле медвежонка, на лапках находятся кнопки, на мордочке – клавиша посыла вызова, отбоя. В ушки разработчики встроили световые индикаторы, они имеют несколько цветов подсветки. Количество раскрасок медвежонка велико, можно выбрать телефон под стиль одежды ребенка либо по его желанию. В нашем случае аппарат был красного цвета. Все белые вставки сделаны из мягкого пластика, он не напоминает резину, но мягче, чем основной пластик корпуса.

Видео, внешний вид аппарата (wmv, 6.43 Мб)>>>

Телефон великоват для детской руки, но ребенок может держать его двумя руками. Необходимость в этом напрямую связана с жесткостью клавиш, приходится прикладывать усилие, чтобы нажать на них. Это исключает случайные нажатия в кармане одежды или сумке. Отсутствует блокировка кнопок, но нужды в ней нет. Вес аппарата – 82 грамма, что приемлемо для ребенка любого возраста.

Производитель отдельно подчеркивает, что использованный пластик безопасен, ребенок может грызть его. Это самое большое отличие от серийных моделей телефонов, где зачастую используются красители, небезопасные для ребенка или любого, кто будет жевать свой аппарат. Тема безопасности во всех ипостасях проходит через инструкцию к Buddy Bear. Ее другим воплощением становится управление аппаратом.

Все настройки в отсутствие экрана придется делать с помощью SMS-сообщений с другого аппарата. Вы вставляете SIM-карту в детский аппарат и отправляете на него сообщения со своего телефона. Все сообщения начинаются со специального четырехзначного кода, это своего рода PIN, который хранится не на SIM-карте, а в телефоне. Если код будет ошибочен, то в этом случае телефон проигнорирует сообщение. Важное замечание: для SIM-карты необходимо убрать проверку PIN-кода, иначе работать с ней на этом телефоне будет нельзя.

В инструкции описаны всевозможные команды, которые вы можете отправлять на телефон для его настройки, повторять все не будем, отметим лишь самые интересные. Так, для боковых клавиш SOS можно выставить различные текстовые сообщения, которые будут отправляться на указанный по умолчанию родительский номер. На первый взгляд, функция интересная, но вот практически невостребованная. Сообщение настраивается вами, понять из него, что требуется ребенку или какая проблема возникла, нельзя. Причем, получив такое сообщение, нормальные родители начнут сходить с ума от беспокойства, а не дозвонившись – тем паче. Интересной функцией выглядит возможность, отправив сообщение, принудительно заставить детский телефон позвонить вам, тогда вы сможете прослушать, что происходит рядом с ним. Если ребенок не носит телефон на себе (не рекомендуется в инструкции, хотя ушки для веревочки есть), то услышать что-то вразумительное у вас не получится. Наличие чехла на телефоне сводит попытки услышать что-либо к нулю. Секретность прослушивания дезавуируется работой индикаторов, они перемигиваются разными цветами, ребенок сразу поймет, что вы слушаете его. Проблемы в этом нет никакой. Из самых востребованных функций – звонки по предопределенным номерам. Нажав одну клавишу, ребенок может позвонить либо вам, либо кому-то из близких и рассказать о своем вопросе.

Индикация не очень информативна, вам придется запоминать, что значат различные режимы работы, а ребенку – и подавно. Из недоразумений стоит отметить тот факт, что сигнал сети обозначается синим цветом, хотя есть и зеленый цвет подсветки. В будущем для ребенка будет трудно понять, почему на всех телефонах индикация сети зеленого цвета.

В телефоне есть 16 монофонических мелодий, а также виброзвонок. Их можно настроить на самом телефоне, как и громкость мелодий. Общая громкость звонка не очень высока, видимо, это сделано для того, чтобы не повредить слух у ребенка. Предусмотрено использование гарнитуры, соответствующий выход есть на нижнем торце, тут же – разъем для зарядного устройства. Детям до 7 лет использовать гарнитуру нельзя, об этом говорят все правила и нормы. Поэтому данный разъем является дополнительным, но никак не необходимым.

Сборка телефона хороша, нет болтающихся частей, задняя крышка, прикрывающая аккумулятор, крепится на винте. Открутить его можно как с помощью отвертки, так и с помощью любого тонкого предмета. Производитель заявляет о том, что аппарат способен проработать до 100 часов в режиме ожидания и до 3 часов в режиме разговора. В условиях московских сетей аппарат работал порядка 4 суток при 1-2 звонках в день длительностью до минуты.

Видео, аккумуляторный отсек (wmv, 5.49 Мб)>>>

Теперь давайте о грустном. Верхняя возрастная планка для использования этого аппарата никак не ограничена, но, судя по современным детям, уже в первом классе не редкость аппараты бюджетные и среднего класса. Такая модель, как Buddy Bear, не станет очень востребованной, дети воспримут ее как игрушку для детского сада. Вот мы и получили верхнюю планку в 6 лет.

Нижняя планка определена производителем как 3 года. Теперь вопрос на засыпку для молодых родителей. Часто ваш ребенок отправляется куда-то один, не находится под присмотром взрослых? Если ваш ребенок находится в детском саду, то телефон не будет одет на него, воспитатели попросят снять его и положить в шкафчик. За десять дней мне не удалось придумать ситуацию, в которой бы ребенку понадобился телефон. Ну, вот ни одной ситуации, обидно даже за собственное воображение стало.

В инструкции к аппарату говорится о минимальном уровне SAR для детского телефона, что должно говорить о его безопасности. Причем в различных частях сайта, посвященного телефону, и в инструкции можно найти различные показатели. Поинтересовавшись вопросом плотнее, с удивлением узнал, что использование телефонов детьми до 6 лет во многих странах запрещено, а в ряде внутренних документов производителей содержатся ссылки на возможное негативное влияние аппаратов на детское здоровье. Дыма без огня не бывает, и своим детям телефон я дам только лет в шесть и то заставлю носить в рюкзаках, а не на себе.

Из крайне небольшой рыночной ниши вытекает и отсутствие массового спроса на такие продукты. Стоимость аппарата в России составляет порядка 200 долларов, что крайне много и еще больше сокращает потенциальную аудиторию. Пока к таким продуктам будет применяться такой же подход, что и к обычным телефонам при создании, они останутся очень нишевыми. Для подобных продуктов требуется тотальное переосмысление концепции мобильного телефона.

Благодарим за предоставленный аппарат магазин www.webpanel.ru

Эльдар Муртазин (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Twitter    Instagram    Блог MrMurtazin.com

Опубликовано — 19 апреля 2006 г.

 

Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

 
Новости:

29.03.2017 ZTE Nubia Z17 Mini получит сдвоенную камеру и будет показан 6 апреля

29.03.2017 LG V30 получит две двойных камеры?

29.03.2017 Micromax представил Dual 5 со сдвоенной основной камерой

29.03.2017 Tele2 обнуляет трафик в Viber

29.03.2017 В России стартуют продажи смартфона TP-Link Neffos X1

29.03.2017 Xiaomi начинает бороться с серыми поставками в России

29.03.2017 Яндекс.Маркет и Почта России запускают совместный проект

29.03.2017 Huawei представила для России флагмана линейки Honor – 8 Pro

28.03.2017 Вредоносные приложения в Google Play маскируются под Minecraft

28.03.2017 Очки дополненной реальности от Apple появятся через год или позже

28.03.2017 Vodafone рассекретил европейские цены на Samsung Galaxy S8

28.03.2017 Задержки поставок Google Pixel при покупке через Google Play превысили месяц

28.03.2017 Microsoft не покажет Surface Book 2 этой весной

28.03.2017 Oppo R11 получит двойную основную камеру

28.03.2017 LG подала иск о нарушении патентных прав в отношении североамериканского производителя смартфонов BLU

28.03.2017 Энди Рубин подразнил мобильный мир, показав часть будущего смартфона от своей новой компании

28.03.2017 Samsung представила новую технологию для «кинотеатров будущего»

28.03.2017 МТС продала свой узбекский бизнес за символический доллар

28.03.2017 Samsung планирует выпустить в продажу восстановленные Galaxy Note 7

Hit

28.03.2017 Посиделки по вторникам №163. Лень и автокоррекция

Hit

27.03.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор OnePlus 3T

Hit

27.03.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор смартфона Google Pixel XL

27.03.2017 Panasonic представил новые модели смартфонов с собственным виртуальным помощником Arbo

27.03.2017 TSMC проводит переоснащение для производства чипсетов Apple A11

27.03.2017 Qualcomm заблокировала продажу чипсетов Exynos

Подписка
 
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2017. All rights reserved.