facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials


Rambler's Top100
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Print this review

Nokia 6630 – capabilities of the megapixel camera

Nokia 6630 is equipped with a 1.3 megapixel camera (effective number of pixels is 1.23 megapixel). The model beats all the other phones by the company if speaking about the matrix. For instance, 7610/6670 have only 1 megapixel camera. The question how much the changes of the matrix told upon the quality of the pictures is very interesting. No doubts, the increase of the number of pixels may make the quality of the picture much better and obviously its size. But the processing and compression algorithm are very important, the transformation of the pixel array received from the matrix is a sticking point for the majority of the mobile devices. When the processing power of the processor is not enough this processing is done the way to lower energy charges and accelerate saving process. As a rule, the transformation quality using these algorithms is not high in the majority of cases. The objective optics leaves its mark but doesn't play any determinant role. I'd like to say in advance that Nokia 6630 has one of the fastest processors in Nokia's product line, also an improved optics and good matrix. These three components create one of the best cameras in the market, it may surely compete with the one in Sony Ericsson S700 and proves itself better in many situations. The model is almost equal to Sharp GX30 and this device has the best camera for today.

The device allows taking photos in two resolutions 640x480 and 1280x960 pixels. Three types of file compression may be set for every resolution. The minimum one is enough for the phone's screen and the highest quality should be set for a PC.

The screen serves as a viewfinder, that's enough to direct the phone to an object and press a joystick. Saving a photo with the best parameters takes about 4-5 seconds. Internal memory is not enough for keeping photos and video so one's better to use memory cards. The quality of the photo taken outdoors is not so bad.

The manufacturers provide the minimum settings for the camera, you just direct the camera and shoot, the number of extra settings is minimal. This is the first phone with a multishooting function realized (up to 6 photos). There is a night mode and a possibility to adjust contrast and brightness appeared. To change these parameters you need to access the menu during a shooting process.

Sample photos with active night mode.

And here are photos taken in similar conditions with the night mode off.

You can clearly see the difference between the photos with and without the night mode. The pictures are more qualitative in the second case and there are no noises. It must be admitted the function is necessary in the phone to take photos in a very poor light. It will only worsen the photos in the dark when there are bright signboards around and a usual room.

Digital zoom function is realized rather well. You'll never see artifacts on the phone screen and only minimal on a PC.

Comparing photos with the ones taken with Sony Ericsson S700 indicates the superiority of Nokia 6630.

Video

Possibilities of video and extra programs haven't changed as compared with Nokia 7610. Clips are saved in 3GP format and you may choose a limit of up to 10 seconds (for MMS) or unlimited duration (up to 10 minutes). That's not quite clear why the manufacturers considered that setting resolution in evident view of 176x144 pixels or 128x96 is possible. Why some basic or high quality was not invented is also not clear, some inconsequence is seen here (that may be considered a cavil but any way).

The quality of clips is average and the processor seems not to have enough time for processing the data and that's why when moving quickly some breaks in video appear. The sound is recorded with an average quality and phrases of your interlocutor are not distinguishable in noisy conditions. In general the quality of recording is average for Nokia's devices, no any significant improvements. The clips look not so good on the phone screen and even worse on a PC, the function remains only fashion.

Video sample, 3GP, 176x144 pixels, 245 KB
Video sample, 3GP, 176x144 pixels, 291 KB

There is a Movie Director application. Any video clip may be turned into a not bad film with a musical headband, different effects (there is about a dozen of them). The possibility looks interesting and is a kind of a game.

Sample file processed in a Movie Director, 3GP, 86 KB

Video Editor application allows editing video files, slow them down, adjoin files, add musical tracks, apply white-and-black effect (that's probable there had to be more of effects). In general the utility provides interesting possibilities.

Impressions

Nokia 6630 is one of the best in the market for today in the quality of the camera. There are no rivals comparable in the quality of the photos in the market, they look well both on the phone and on a PC. Only Sharp GX30 may come as a rival phone having more settings and integrated flash. That's not right to consider the absence of a flash in Nokia 6630 a disadvantage, the device takes perfect photos in the twilight and in the dark.

Links on the topic:

Eldar Murtazin (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Translated by Maria Mitina (maria.mitina@mobile-review.com)

Published — 23 November 2004

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

News:

[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean

Subscribe

Register | Lost password?

E-mail


Password




© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

podcast quotes-left quotes-right search menu arrow-up arrow-up2 google-plus3 facebook2 instagram telegram twitter vk youtube android rss2

AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Версия для печати

Nokia 6630 – возможности мегапиксельной камеры

В модели Nokia 6630 установлена 1.3 мегапиксельная камера (эффективное число точек 1.23 мегапикселя). По матрице модель превосходит другие аппараты компании, например, Nokia 7610/6670, ведь в них всего лишь 1-мегапиксельная камера. Насколько количественные изменения матрицы сказались на качестве снимков, этот вопрос крайне интересен. Безусловно, увеличение числа точек потенциально способно улучшить качество картинки, однозначно ее размер. Но большую роль играет и алгоритм обработки, сжатия изображения, именно преобразование массива точек полученных с матрицы и становится камнем преткновения для большинства мобильных устройств. В условиях, когда вычислительной мощности процессора недостаточно подобная обработка ведется по принципу наименьшего расхода энергии и большей быстроты сохранения. Как правило, в большинстве случаев качество преобразования картинки с подобными алгоритмами невелико. Оптика объектива накладывает свой отпечаток, но не играет определяющей роли. Забегая вперед, отмечу, что в Nokia 6630 один из наиболее быстрых процессоров в линейке продуктов от Nokia , плюс, улучшенная оптика и хорошая матрица. Эти три компонента создают одну из лучших камер на рынке, она по качеству легко соперничает с таковой в Sony Ericsson S700 и во многих ситуациях показывает себя лучше. Модель выступает почти на равных с Sharp GX30, а ведь в этом аппарате лучшая на сегодняшний день мегапиксельная камера.

Аппарат поддерживает два разрешения снимков: 640х480 точек и 1280х960 точек. Для каждого разрешения можно выставить три типа сжатия файла, для экрана телефона достаточно минимального, для ПК стоит выставить высшее качество.

Экран телефона выступает в качестве видоискателя, достаточно навести телефон на объект и нажать джойстик. Сохранение снимка с наилучшими параметрами занимает порядка 4-5 секунд. Для хранения снимков и видео стоит применять карту памяти, так как памяти телефона для таких целей недостаточно. На улице качество фотографий очень неплохое.

Разработчики Nokia проповедует минимализм в установках, смысл в том, что наводишь камеру и снимаешь, количество дополнительных настроек минимально. Впервые в этом аппарате появился режим серийной съемки (до 6 снимков за один раз). Есть ночной режим, также впервые появилась настройка контрастности и яркости. Вам необходимо во время съемки зайти в меню, чтобы изменить эти параметры.

Примеры фотографий с активированным ночным режимом

А вот фотографии без включенного ночного режима, но сделанные в сходных условиях.

Вы ясно видите разницу с ночным режимом, во втором случае снимки более качественные, нет шумов. Признаюсь честно, что функция ночного режима в данном аппарате необходима исключительно для фотографирования при очень скудном свете. В темноте с яркими вывесками, в обычных помещениях активация этого режима не улучшит качество картинки, а напротив ухудшит его.

Функция цифрового зума в этом аппарате реализована неплохо, на экране телефона вы не видите артефактов вообще, на ПК они минимальны.

Сравнение фотографий с моделью Sony Ericsson S700 ясно показывает превосходство Nokia 6630.

Видео

Возможности видео и дополнительных программ, по сравнению с Nokia 7610, не изменились (улучшился FPS). Ролики сохраняются в формате 3GP, вы можете выбрать ограничение до 10 секунд (для MMS сообщений), либо неограниченную длительность (до 60 минут). Отчего-то разработчики посчитали, что для видео можно указать разрешение в явном виде – 176х144 точки или 128х96 точек. Почему не было придумано какое-нибудь базовое и высокое качество неясно, тут проявляется непоследовательность (можно рассматривать в качестве придирки, но все же).

Качество роликов среднее, процессор видимо не успевает обрабатывать информацию, поэтому при резких движениях возникают разрывы в съемке. Звук пишется со средним качеством, в шумных условиях фразы собеседника практически не различимы. В целом качество записи на уровне других телефонов от Nokia, здесь не произошло каких-либо значительных улучшений. На экране ролики выглядят не слишком хорошо, на компьютере и того хуже, данная функция остается исключительно имиджевой.

Пример ролика, 3GP, 176х144 точки, 245 Кб
Пример ролика, 3GP, 176х144 точки, 291Кб

В аппарате есть приложение Movie Director (режиссер в русской версии). Здесь можно любой ролик превратить в неплохой фильм с музыкальной заставкой, различными эффектами (их порядка десятка). Выглядит данная возможность интересно, это своего рода игрушка.

Пример обработанного файла в Movie Director, 3GP, 86 Кб

Приложение Video Editor позволяет редактировать видео файлы, замедлять их, соединять файлы, накладывать звуковую дорожку, применять черно-белый эффект (видимо эффектов должно было быть больше). В целом возможности этой утилиты интересны.


Впечатления

В данный момент по качеству камеры модель Nokia 6630 одна из лучших на рынке. В классе смартфонов альтернатив этому аппарату по качеству получаемых снимков нет, они хорошо выглядят как на телефоне, так и на ПК. Единственным конкурентом может выступать Sharp GX30, плюс этого аппарата в большем числе настроек, наличие встроенной вспышки. Отсутствие вспышки в Nokia 6630 рассматривать как недостаток нельзя, аппарат прекрасно фотографирует как в сумерках, так и в темное время суток.

Ссылки по теме:

   

Эльдар Муртазин (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Twitter    Instagram    Блог MrMurtazin.com

Опубликовано — 22 ноября 2004 г.

 

Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

 
Новости:
Hit

30.03.2017 Видео на канале: Знакомство с Samsung Galaxy S8+

Hit

30.03.2017 Видео на канале: Samsung Galaxy S8 - знакомство с сервисом Bixby

30.03.2017 Telegram запустил для мобильных устройств шифрованные голосовые вызовы

30.03.2017 IMAX и Warner Bros. подписали соглашения по производству трех VR-проектов

Hit

30.03.2017 Видео на канале: Первый взгляд - Nintendo Switch!

30.03.2017 МТС выходит на рынок облачных услуг для крупного бизнеса

30.03.2017 Яндекс.Маркет и GfK Rus изучили, как россияне покупают со смартфонов

Hit

30.03.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор часов Meizu MIX

30.03.2017 Samsung представила обновленную компактную панорамную камеру Gear 360

30.03.2017 Док-станция Samsung DeX превращает новые смартфоны Samsung в ПК

29.03.2017 Samsung официально представила свои новые флагманские модели смартфонов – Galaxy S8 и S8+

29.03.2017 ZTE Nubia Z17 Mini получит сдвоенную камеру и будет показан 6 апреля

29.03.2017 LG V30 получит две двойных камеры?

29.03.2017 Micromax представил Dual 5 со сдвоенной основной камерой

29.03.2017 Tele2 обнуляет трафик в Viber

29.03.2017 В России стартуют продажи смартфона TP-Link Neffos X1

29.03.2017 Xiaomi начинает бороться с серыми поставками в России

29.03.2017 Яндекс.Маркет и Почта России запускают совместный проект

29.03.2017 Huawei представила для России флагмана линейки Honor – 8 Pro

28.03.2017 Вредоносные приложения в Google Play маскируются под Minecraft

28.03.2017 Очки дополненной реальности от Apple появятся через год или позже

28.03.2017 Vodafone рассекретил европейские цены на Samsung Galaxy S8

28.03.2017 Задержки поставок Google Pixel при покупке через Google Play превысили месяц

28.03.2017 Microsoft не покажет Surface Book 2 этой весной

28.03.2017 Oppo R11 получит двойную основную камеру

Подписка
 
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2017. All rights reserved.