facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials


Rambler's Top100
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Print this review

Software features of Nokia Eseries

Over at Nokia they have been forced to attune not only hardware filling, but also software kit of handsets in order to meet the requirements of the enterprise market; and the latter part of work deserves most positive reports, as just a piece of hardware wont ensure good sales to the developers credit software researches were done very well. Back in the days, companies desperate for acquiring enterprise solutions for empowering performance of employees were extremely limited in choice: in fact it was all about Research In Motion (RIM, Blackberry communicators) and Windows Mobile. RIM devices were proved to be best for mailing purposes, while Windows Mobile was far superior when it came to synchronization with Microsofts products. The balance of forces has altered radically with the advent of Nokia Eseries and basically its a good chance to give Nokias works an in-depth test.

One of the most demanded feature among enterprise users is VoIP-telephony (communication within the bounds of a companys very own network, allowing companies to save some coins on external calls). Despite the fact that this function is still far from perfection (check out a special article on that), its very presence turns out to be a significant competitive edge over Windows Mobile. Even today one can experience its almost infinite potential, which is more likely to be developed in the near future all that is left to do is enhance its stability and compatibility fronts. Blackberry-branded communicators also flaunt VoIP protocol, however they are spread not so widely some regions havent seen the release of them yet, Russia is on this list as well. For fairness sake we are to say that for Windows Mobile there is Skype client being available, whereas Nokia lack such capability; nevertheless that Skype is targeted more at individual use and small-scale business.

Basic functionality of the operating system dont set the world on fire for it is just Nokia S60 3rd edition, feature pack 1, which was already looked into in a special article.

Review of Nokia S60 3rd edition>>>

Features of the WEB-browser were listed in a special article as well

Nokia Web Browser S60>>>

Meanwhile, the major aim of this review is finding out which extras and applications missing in standard software kit of the S60 make Eseries look and feel different from other Nokia-labeled smartphones, for example Nseries line-up. But before moving on to that, we are going to point out a number of facts you need to know. The Eseries include devices with both types of screen orientation (horizontal and vertical) and hence screen rotation feature is well-justified. Models lacking camera module cannot grant their users complementary functions like PictBridge (enabling you to print out photos outright) and photo editor. Apparently, FM-radio would be something out of place on a Eseries phone, since these devices are meant not for entertainment. A disappointing rudiment adopted from the older platform, 1 minute limit on a single sound recording is incorporated into this software kit as well.

Little by little the new edition of the S60, which is, as you might already know, incompatible with applications written for previous versions, is obtaining more shareware and freeware programs for its portfolio. For the time being you can find more than a hundred of applications intended for the S60, therefore basing on this fact, we can rightfully state that most of essential and handy apps have already been ported to the S60 3rd edition that is much of a progress actually, as only 3-4 months ago we were literally at a loss where to get required features.

E-mail, Push-mail, synchronization

Today an all-round mobile solution for enterprise users is destined to be a failure should it lack a proper mobile mail system, so let us give Nokia Eseries a close-up and what it can offer.

The standard mail clients been covered in the review on the operating system, thats why we will not dwell on it in this issue and rather remind you of its pros, like easy setup for most free mail boxes (Gmail.com, mail.ru, yandex.ru and others) with the help of a wizard. Unsophisticated users will find this application just fine, but replacing it with ProfiMail would make some sense, even though it is not an enterprise mail-dedicated solution either.

One of the most popular enterprise mail solutions is MS Exchange serves, which had been a trump up Windows Mobiles sleeve till recently. However Nokia has licensed Active Sync protocol and implemented it in a freeware application Mail for Exchange.

The program is easy to set up all options will seem familiar in case you had previous experience of managing MS Exchange. The apps features also include somewhat appealing settings like possibility to set a time span (for example, working days from 9 AM till 7 PM), when all data will get synchronized in non-stop mode, while during the rest of the time the program will sync on the schedule (once per hour, for example). We didnt encounter any nuisances with the synchronization process.

In order to see what Mail for Exchange can bring to the table, we used a free service mail2web.com, supporting Microsoft push-mail. When a contact or a new event got saved on the served, the smartphone picked them up in 15-20 seconds. Satisfied with that result, we moved on to a commercial server located in Russia total delivery time made nearly 8-12 seconds. Direct comparison with Windows Mobile revealed a draw in the face-off speed-wise our mail had been delivered almost simultaneously and the gap of several seconds is something to be easily overlooked.

RoadSync utility created by DataViz works in pretty much the same manner as Mail for Exchange. Installation, as well as MS Exchange server connection setup dont cause any difficulties various wizards reduce your efforts to minimum just like on Windows Mobile.

In fact, RoadSync, similarly to Mail for Exchange is an extra application acquiring access to contacts/calendar/mail on your device and synchronizing them with a server, but at that the capabilities provided by RoadSync are only nearing those of Mail for Exchange. Both applications lack tasks synchronization, you cannot invite participants for a meeting when creating an event in the calendar (however not all WM-based platforms feature that option it is incorporated only into WM for Pocket PC and missing on WM for Smartphone), but in the end these are not crucial shortcomings. The only aspect, which is considerably worse than its rival found on Windows Mobile lies in the fact that Nokias solutions require an extra application to be installed, while WM initially comes included with a definitive software kit.

In a nutshell, synchronizing mail, contacts, and events with MS Exchange server and making latest push-technologies work with Mail for Exchange or RoadSync is a breeze.

As Nokia claims, the major attraction of Eseries is Intellisync Wireless Email, which is the only wireless email solution your enterprise needs to deliver wireless communication to all levels of employees. Support for mail synchronization with Exchange, Domino, IMAP and POP3 is onboard, but requires an additional software gateway on the server. Apart from Nokia S60 powered solutions, the software kit also deals with other platforms, for example Windows Mobile, Palm OS, which will come in handy, should you need to synchronize files and other data in addition to PIM and mail. A plus of this technology is wide compatibility, push-technologies support, minus it requires extra software packages for server.

The S60 has already gotten enhanced with all most popular push-mail developments available on the market, namely BlackBerry, Visto, Good, Seven. And nobody prohibits using any of them with Eseries, but the same goes for Windows Mobile as well actually companies are trying to come up with cross-platform solutions which would be compatible with each other.

And lastly, there is SyncML synchronization support embedded. Whether enterprise users will need it or not is doubtful, but this protocol is enabled.

Office documents

According to the statistics more than a third of letters that have something to do with work contain various attachments (frequently office documents: Word, Excel). That is why efficient mobile mail handling must include credible tools for viewing and editing office documents. Consequentially, such software should aim at managing attachments rather than making up huge 10 Mb big files on the smartphone. The possibility to look through a received document and correct it, in case such need arises (naturally you are not likely to re-make an annual report on your smartphone), is a must for an enterprise solution. So reliability and the way a software kit processes each documents formatting make all the difference here. As a matter of fact, Eseries smartphone have this package embedded under the title of Attachments editor.

The Eseries feature an application enabling you to view and edit documents created in MS Word, MS Excel, MS PowerPoint before this moment, office documents management was one of Nokia S60s greatest drawbacks despite availability of third-party tools for handling documents. Its good to see that Eseries breaks the stereotype and introduces something new.

Document. As the title implies, this application does its best when it comes to working with MS Office documents, both in viewing and editing modes all basic tools are at hand (color, alignment, font size, styles etc.). If we are to compare range of included editing features, the Nokias solution is slightly ahead of Pocket Word powered by Windows Mobile.

You can insert a comment, link, table, image or page break into a document, but thats not the end of the list of features preview is also available, so that you can check out what others will see on their PCs screens.

However when we tried to edit a document, we felt really upset: the test doc lost a part of formatting, running titles, and a pasted image, whereas Windows Mobiles very own Word Mobile, on the contrary, handled it almost as it should be (there were several losses, but they could be overlooked).

MS Word source file>>>

MS Word Nokia Eseries>>>

MS Word Windows Mobile>>>

Sheet. This software is responsible for handling MS Excel in a proper way, which includes tables and diagrams. Functionality-wise, i.e. editing and formatting tools, it works in pretty much the same manner as Document with only addition in the form of settings for cells, at that you are at liberty to do major copy/paste, comments, links and diagrams (!) embedding work, fix certain areas and go for full-screen mode. All in all there is no way it will prove to be inferior to Excel Mobile, unless you consider absence of touch screen, which reduces its ease of use a bit, however that drawback must be attributed to the platform rather than a stand-alone application.

Now let us try and edit an .xls file the outcome should be more than intriguing, as weve already seen how improvidently Nokias software treated Word documents.

MS Excel source file>>>

MS Excel Nokia Eseries>>>

MS Excel Windows Mobile>>>

And that is a really good one! The formatting (including links, pictures and merged cells) remained almost untouched far superior to Excel Mobile!

And the last application for today is Presentation. Using it you will be able not only to watch but edit MS PowerPoint presentations as well dont forget that with Windows Mobiles PowerPoint Mobile it was possible to view only, consequentially, Nokia comes out a victor here too.

The conclusion following from all that is quite evident while playing on its home field, Microsoft yields to Nokia and it seems quite unusual for the global software giant. And should Nokia grab the momentum and patch up its Document, Microsoft will have to counter it with something very special; on top of that it wont be too long before Nokia packs all these features into a model armed with a touch screen. A third-party software kit going by the name of MobiSystems OfficeSuite enabling you to handle office applications is also worth mentioning.

Frequently you will see applications come in archives, so in order to get over this impediment, Eseries include Handy ZIP application (requires installation from a CD or need to be downloaded from the official page).

Documents printing. This aspect is a big focus of the software kit, for it provides a lengthy list of supported printers, advanced settings, various access points (like getting your documents printed out on a network printer via Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Infrared or file) etc. I think its needless to say that Windows Mobile, with none of these features being available, is far behind. On the other hand I doubt printing will be the sticking point for a company, putting enterprise mail system above everything else.

The list office function, which we are going to mention is Screen export with the help of a special gadget connected to a projector, you will be able to transmit contents of the smartphones screen onto the big screen and literally holding entire presentations without letting the phone out of your hands. Nevertheless this feature is not a breakthrough you could see it on Nokia 9000 series quite a while ago.

Security and backup

The built-in backup tool has been in Eseries since distant past, however the application itself has a little to offer, thus we wont devote a special paragraph to describing it.

Should you have your smartphone stolen, the main damage will be caused not by the devices price, but data stored on it in case unwanted people will get a hold of the phone. In order to avoid such nuisances, Eseries include remote blocking feature, enabling you to send a text message with pre-defined text to a stolen phone, so that its contents will get locked. But apparently, it is not a panacea if thieves know what they are looking for, SIM-card might be switched outright, as well as the handset gotten into offline-mode.

Nokia Configuration Tool. The main goal of this app is to help you in managing the smartphones settings and installing programs via USB-connection. On the whole, its a kind of Nokia PC Suite but for enterprise users.

Intellisync Device Management. For the first time Nokia Eseries feature support for OMA DM (Open Mobile Alliance Device Management), which allows system administrator to tune and adjust security level, devices settings and new applications from a remote console, so that the company could minimize the risks and reduce total expenses on security. Learn more about this feature in this document.

Any anti-virus kit for smartphones is nothing more but another pacifier for managers in charge of communications within the company, as they are not of much use. Generally speaking, these were not virus epidemics (in fact there are no harmful programs which could spread over millions of phones), which called into existence mobile anti-viruses they rather originate from a straightforward logic of an unsophisticated user: How comes that a PC has an anti-virus program and a smartphone does not? They are both computers, right? Maybe this is the reason why Eseriess special software kit doesnt feature a default anti-virus?

Miscellaneous

A few words on things not mentioned in the main part of the article, but which seem pretty fetching. Large companies often demand access to ERP enterprise system in addition to standard mail and events synchronization. In this regard Nokia has succeeded (support for SAP, IBM, Oracle), but these are still the attributes of Nokia 9000 series only. In my opinion, development of similar clients for Eseries/S60 3rd Edition is just a matter of time.

Conclusion

No doubt it was a great surprise for Microsoft to see someone taking over its seemingly home field of enterprise solutions. The ruler of a neighboring kingdom, which had been only indulgently observing Windows Mobiles deeds, suddenly took a decision to crusade on a minor (when compared to the kingdom) but yet a fertile princedom, occupied by WM and RIM. And if not so long ago large corporations and medium-scale business had been considered to be Window Mobiles and RIMs domains, with the advent of Eseries the balance of forced significantly changed, to say the least. Even though the real confrontation is yet to emerge, Eseries smartphones already have what it takes to hold an upper hand there VoIP, powerful set of office tools and customizable mail client.

All that Nokia has to do now is make the already existing features work more stable (especially VoIP) and upgrade Document application having done that, the Finnish manufacturer will make it to the top of the hill with all required business-functions being enabled on their devices. And if thats the case, Windows Mobile will get into a very tricky situation.

Commentary. Most of the abovementioned applications are available for downloading on a dedicated Nokias page. Features reviewed throughout this article might be found on smartphones other than those coming from Eseries.

Anton Kotov (anton.kotov@mobile-review.com)
Translated by Oleg Kononosov (oleg.kononosov@mobile-review.com)

Published — 11 September 2006

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

News:

[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean

Subscribe

Register | Lost password?

E-mail


Password




Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

Особенности программного обеспечения Nokia Eseries

При создании корпоративной линейки смартфонов компании Nokia пришлось подстраивать устройства под требования рынка не только на аппаратном уровне, но и на уровне программного обеспечения, причем эта часть работ стала ключевой для разработчиков, что заслуживает уважения, железо само по себе не может обеспечивать достойный уровень продаж. Раньше компании, перед которыми вставала необходимость выбора мобильного корпоративного решения (enterprise solution), были, за редким исключением, ограничены выбором решения Research In Motion (RIM, коммуникаторы Blackberry) или Windows Mobile. Решения RIM были более подходящими для корпоративной почты, а операционная система Windows Mobile лучше совместима с программами от Microsoft. Расстановка сил с появлением Nokia Eseries меняется, давайте посмотрим, какая работа проделана в компании Nokia.

Одна из наиболее востребованных функций для компаний – это VoIP-телефония (переговоры внутри компании, экономия при внешних звонках). Несмотря на то, что функция пока реализовано сыро (см. отдельную статью на нашем сайте на эту тему), наличие такой функции, тесно интегрированной с телефонной частью, – ощутимое преимущество по сравнению с Windows Mobile. Уже при текущей реализации виден ее огромный потенциал в будущем, стоит лишь добавить стабильности и совместимости. На новых коммуникаторах Blackberry тоже есть функция VoIP, но они распространены не во всех регионах, в том числе их нет в России. Справедливости ради отметим, что для Windows Mobile есть клиент Skype, а на Nokia – нет. Правда, Skype больше ориентирован на индивидуальных пользователей либо на малый бизнес.

Базовые функции операционной системы стандартны – это уже знакомая нам платформа Nokia S60 3rd edition, первый пакет обновлений. О возможностях платформы вы можете прочесть в отдельном материале.

Обзор Nokia S60 3rd edition>>>

Возможности WEB-браузера также описаны в отдельном обзоре.

Nokia Web Browser S60>>>

В данном материале нас в первую очередь будет интересовать то, какие надстройки и программы, не входящие в стандартный набор S60, выделяют Eseries на фоне прочих смартфонов Nokia, например, смартфонов в линейке Nseries. Коротко отметим следующие моменты. В линейке Eseries есть устройства как с вертикальной ориентацией экрана, так и с горизонтальной. Отсюда – логичное появление функции разворота экрана. В моделях, в которых отсутствует камера, убраны связанные с ней функции, например, убрана возможность прямой печати на принтерах PictBridge, программы для редактирования фото. По понятным причинам нет FM-радио, так как это устройства не для развлечений. Досадный рудимент, унаследованный от старой платформы, – одноминутное ограничение на диктофонную запись – присутствует и здесь.

Постепенно новая версия S60, не совместимая со старыми программами, начинает обрастать бесплатными и платными приложениями. Сейчас уже для новой платформы доступно более сотни программ, и можно констатировать тот факт, что многие важные и значимые программы перенесены на третью версию S60, буквально 3-4 месяца назад с наличием сторонних программ были большие проблемы.

Электронная почта, Push-mail, синхронизация

Комплексное мобильное корпоративное решение в настоящий момент немыслимо без грамотной организации мобильной почты, посмотрим, как это организовано в Nokia Eseries.

Стандартный почтовый клиент описан в обзоре операционной системы, не будет рассматриваться здесь. Напомним лишь о легкости настройки большинства бесплатных почтовых ящиков с помощью специального мастера настроек (Gmail.com, mail.ru, yandex.ru и другие). Нетребовательным пользователям встроенный клиент подойдет, но лучше заменить его на ProfiMail, правда, и он не предназначен для работы с корпоративной электронной почтой.

Одно из самых распространенных корпоративных решений для электронной почты – это сервер MS Exchange. Синхронизация с этим сервером была до недавнего времени преимуществом Windows Mobile. Однако Nokia лицензировала протокол Active Sync и реализовала в бесплатной программе Mail for Exchange.

Настраивается программа легко, все настройки понятны и привычны, если вы хоть раз настраивали синхронизацию с MS Exchange. Из особенностей настройки отметим следующее. Можно задать интервал времени (например, будние дни с 9 утра до 7 вечера), в котором будет происходить постоянная синхронизация с сервером, а в оставшееся время – синхронизация по расписанию (раз в час, например). Проблем при синхронизации не возникло, при работе с русским языком тоже.

Для тестирования мы использовали бесплатный сервис mail2web.com с поддержкой Microsoft push-mail. Стоило только контакту, письму или новой встрече попасть на сервер, как через 15-20 секунд этот элемент оказывался в смартфоне. При переходе на коммерческий сервер, расположенный в России, «время доставки» нового элемента сокращалось до 8-12 секунд. Прямое сравнение с Windows Mobile выявило полную идентичность по скорости, почта доставлялась одновременно, разбросом в несколько секунд можно пренебречь.

В качестве альтернативы Mail for Exchange выступает сторонняя утилита RoadSync от компании DataViz. Установка программы не вызывает затруднений, встроенный мастер позволяет настроить подключение к серверу MS Exchange в несколько шагов, это сделать не сложнее, чем на Windows Mobile.

Фактически RoadSync, как и Mail for Exchange, – это надстройка над встроенными приложениями контакты/календарь/почта, которая синхронизирует их с сервером. Возможности RoadSync фактически совпадают с Mail for Exchange, даже немного уступают. Как общий недочет двух программ можно отметить отсутствие синхронизации задач, нельзя пригласить участников на встречу при создании записи в календаре (это можно сделать в WM for Pocket PC, но нельзя в WM for Smartphone), серьезными недостатками это считать нельзя. Единственный серьезный минус по сравнению с Windows Mobile только один – нужно устанавливать отдельную программу, тогда как в WM это уже есть изначально.

Итак, с помощью Mail for Exchange или RoadSync вы легко сможете синхронизировать почту, контакты, встречи с сервером MS Exchange, используя при этом push-технологии.

В качестве краеугольного камня Eseries компания Nokia выдвигает пакет Intellisync Wireless Email, позиционируя его как «единственное решение, которое нужно для вашей почты». Поддерживается синхронизация почты с Exchange, Domino, IMAP и POP3, но требует дополнительного программного шлюза на стороне сервера. Помимо устройств на базе платформы Nokia S60, пакет поддерживает и другие платформы, например, Windows Mobile, Palm OS. С помощью этого пакета можно синхронизировать файлы, прочие данные, не только PIM и почту. Плюс – широкая совместимость, поддержка push-технологий, минус – требуется дополнительное серверное программное обеспечение.

Для S60 существуют все значимые на рынке решения для push-почты, а именно: BlackBerry, Visto, Good, Seven. Никто не помешает использовать эти решения Eseries. Справедливости ради отметим, что это в равной степени относится и к Windows Mobile, компании стараются делать кросс-платформенные решения, чтобы обеспечить максимальную совместимость.

Последнее, что отметим, это поддержка синхронизации SyncML. Насколько это нужно для корпоративного пользователя – вопрос спорный, но поддержка имеется.

Офисные документы

По статистике, не меньше трети рабочих писем содержат вложения, чаще всего это офисные документы (Word, Excel). Поэтому эффективная работа с мобильной почтой немыслима без возможности просмотра и редактирования офисных документов. Следовательно, основное предназначение офисного пакета – это работа с вложениями, а не создание и просмотр на смартфоне файлов объемом 10 Мб. Важно иметь возможность просмотреть документ, пришедший по почте, внести в него правку при необходимости (естественно, вы не будете переписывать годовой отчет на смартфоне). Во главе угла здесь становится то, насколько бережно сохраняется формат после редактирования пришедшего по e-mail письма, а не то, насколько быстро открывается многомегабайтный файл. Во внутренних документах на смартфонах Eseries пакет так и называется – редактор вложений.

В Eseries предустановлено офисное приложение, позволяющее просматривать и редактировать документы MS Word, MS Excel, MS PowerPoint, до этого работа с офисными документами была слабым местом Nokia S60, несмотря на наличие сторонних пакетов для просмотра офисных файлов. Eseries меняет сложившееся представление.

Document. Как легко догадаться, это программа для работы с документами MS Office. При редактировании и просмотре документов доступны все базовые инструменты форматирования (цвет, выравнивание, шрифты, размер шрифтов, отступы, стили и так далее). По возможностям редактирования документов, количеству опций имеется превосходство над Pocket Word в Windows Mobile.

В текст можно добавить комментарий, ссылку, таблицу, изображение, разрыв страницы. Доступен предпросмотр, можно посмотреть, что увидит человек, открывший ваш файл на настольном компьютере.

Попытка редактирования документа вылилась в расстройство: документ потерял часть форматирования, колонтитулы, рисунок в тексте, в отличие от Word Mobile в Windows Mobile, который все это форматирование сохранил (потери хоть и есть, но ими можно пренебречь).

MS Word – исходный файл>>>

MS Word – Nokia Eseries>>>

MS Word – Windows Mobile>>>

Sheet. Эта часть пакета отвечает за работу с файлами MS Excel, можно просматривать таблички и графики. По возможностям редактирования и форматирования здесь все во многом совпадает с Document, добавляется форматирование границ ячеек. Можно вставлять/удалять ячейки, добавлять комментарии, ссылки, графики (!), фиксировать области, включать полноэкранный режим. В общем, ничуть не уступает Excel Mobile, разве что отсутствием сенсорного экрана, удобства ввода, но это уже проблема платформы, а не программы.

Пробуем редактировать файл, смотрим, что из этого получится, памятуя не очень бережное отношение к форматам Word.

MS Excel – исходный файл>>>

MS Excel – Nokia Eseries>>>

MS Excel – Windows Mobile>>>

Это шок! Формат сохранился практически в исходном виде, включая ссылки, рисунки, слитые ячейки. На голову выше Excel Mobile!

Последняя программа – это Presentation. С помощью нее можно не только просматривать, но и редактировать презентации MS PowerPoint. Вспоминаем, что в PowerPoint Mobile на Windows Mobile можно было только просматривать файлы. Опять Nokia впереди.

Вывод здесь простой – Nokia обыгрывает Microsoft на ее «домашнем» поле, на котором компания, в общем-то, не привыкла проигрывать. Если Nokia доработает приложение Document, то Microsoft придется срочно что-то предпринимать. Не за горами момент, когда все то же самое появится у Nokia, но с сенсорным экраном. Отметим наличие стороннего пакета MobiSystems OfficeSuite для работы с офисными приложениями.

Часто вложения приходят в запакованном виде, для работы с архивами вместе с Eseries поставляется программа Handy ZIP (нужно ставить отдельно с диска или скачивать с сайта).

Печать документов. Этому моменту уделено весьма пристальное внимание – большой набор поддерживаемых принтеров, тонкие настройки печати, печать из офисных приложений, печать на сетевом принтере через Wi-Fi, по Bluetooth, через инфракрасный порт, через файл. Не нужно и говорить про превосходство над Windows Mobile, всего этого в WM просто нет. С другой стороны, вряд ли функция печати будет так востребована в компании, которая в первых рядах внедряет мобильную электронную почту.

Последняя «офисная» функция, которую мы отметим, – это Экспорт экрана (Screen export). С помощью специального приспособления, подключаемого к проектору, вы можете транслировать экран смартфона на большой экран, проводить презентации для аудитории. Это не новая функция, она присутствовала еще в Nokia 9000 серии.

Безопасность, резервное копирование

Встроенная функция резервного копирования присутствует в модели давно, однако программа нефункциональная, подробно на ней останавливаться не будем.

При краже или потере смартфона основной ущерб – это не стоимость аппарата, а данные, которые нанесут большой вред компании, если попадут в «неправильные» руки. Для того чтобы попытаться избежать этой ситуации, в Eseries предусмотрена удаленная блокировка смартфона. Как только вы обнаружили пропажу, отправьте текстовое сообщение с заданным текстом на свой номер, устройство будет заблокировано. Конечно, это не панацея – злоумышленник может успеть сменить SIM-карту или вывести телефон в offline-режим, если ему необходимы данные.

Nokia Configuration Tool. Суть этой программы – управление настройками смартфона, установка программ с компьютера через USB-подключение. Своего рода корпоративная альтернатива Nokia PC Suite.

Intellisync Device Management. Впервые поддержка OMA DM (Open Mobile Alliance Device Management) появилась в Nokia Eseries, что позволяет системному администратору удаленно управлять настройками устройства, уровня безопасности, установкой программ, обновлением программного обеспечения; это минимизирует риски и снижает общую стоимость решения. Подробнее вы можете прочесть в этом документе.

Любой антивирусный пакет для смартфонов – это больше успокоительное для руководства, принимающего решения по проекту, реальной пользы от них нет. Вообще, эти антивирусы для мобильных устройств появились не из-за вирусных эпидемий (таких попросту пока нет), а из-за логики обычного, неподготовленного пользователя: «Как так, на компьютере антивирус есть, а на смартфоне – нет, это что, не компьютер?» Может, именно поэтому среди специальных программ для Eseries нет штатного антивируса?

Прочее

Буквально несколько слов о том, что не попало в обзор, но, тем не менее, заслуживает упоминания. Большим компаниям часто, помимо просто почты и синхронизации контактов/встреч, требуется доступ к корпоративным системам класса ERP. В этом плане Nokia преуспела (поддержка SAP, IBM, Oracle), но пока это относится к Nokia 9000 серии. Думается, появление соответствующих клиентов для Eseries/S60 3rd Edition – дело ближайшего будущего.




Выводы

Безусловно, компания Microsoft не ожидала того, что ее будут переигрывать на ее собственном «корпоративном» поле. Соседский король, который до этого снисходительно глядел на проделки князя Windows Mobile, неожиданно решил пойти в наступление, княжество хоть и маленькое (не чета по размерам королевству), но плодородное, годами возделываемое WM и RIM. Если раньше средний и крупный бизнес считался вотчиной Window Mobile на пару с RIM, то после бесцеремонной военной интервенции Eseries расстановка сил как минимум не будет прежней. Бой только начинается, но уже сейчас это сильная заявка на победу. Атакующие силы Eseries сильны – в первых рядах VoIP, мощный офисный пакет, любое почтовое решение на выбор.

Все, что нужно сделать Nokia сейчас, – это улучшить стабильность существующих функций (в особенности VoIP), доработать приложение Document. Все ключевые, востребованные бизнес-функции будут реализованы. Вот тогда Windows Mobile окажется действительно в незавидном положении.

Примечание. Большинство упомянутых в статье программ доступно на специальном сайте Nokia. Те функции, которые описаны в данном обзоре, могут присутствовать в других смартфонах, отличных от Eseries.



Антон Котов (anton.kotov@mobile-review.com)
Опубликовано — 22 августа 2006 г.

 

Поделиться

Мы в социальных сетях:

Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

 
Новости:
Hit

15.02.2019 Видео на канале: ОБЗОР ФЛАГМАНА | BQ Aurora 6200L

15.02.2019 Sony готовит новую модель начального уровня

15.02.2019 Oppo R19 в нынешнем году не выйдет

15.02.2019 Качественные рендеры Vivo V15 Pro попали в Сеть

15.02.2019 Meizu 16th Plus Sound Color – смартфон для меломанов

15.02.2019 Android приложение от Samsung раскрыло детали о новых гаджетах компании

15.02.2019 Единый 5G-оператор может обойтись российской экономике в сотни миллиардов рублей

15.02.2019 Lenovo также готовится выйти на мобильный рынок со своим суббрендом?

15.02.2019 Раскрыты технические характеристики новой линейки смартфонов Samsung Galaxy A 2019 года

14.02.2019 Sony снова переименует топовые смартфоны?

14.02.2019 ZTE представит гибкие гаджеты Nubia на MWC

14.02.2019 Google вновь пересмотрит подход к позиционированию своих смартфонов

14.02.2019 Генеральный директор Xiaomi раскрыл дизайн нового флагмана компании

Hit

14.02.2019 Видео на канале: Яндекс телефон против BQ Aurora 6200L

Hit

14.02.2019 Видео на канале: МЫСЛИ | Война США против компании Huawei

14.02.2019 Energizer P18K Pop – смартфон с аккумулятором на 18 000 мАч

14.02.2019 В России продажи носимой электроники за год выросли в разы

14.02.2019 LG раскрыла детали об аудио возможностях своего будущего флагмана LG G8 ThinQ

14.02.2019 Canon представила компактную полнокадровую камеру EOS RP

13.02.2019 Transcend анонсировал портативный SSD диск с интерфейсом USB 3.1 Gen 2 Type-C

13.02.2019 LG потеряла лидирующую позицию на рынке ЖК экранов

13.02.2019 Название Samsung Galaxy S10e можно считать официальным

13.02.2019 Объявлена дата анонса нового флагмана от Xiaomi

13.02.2019 На российский рынок вышел недорогой смартфон OPPO AX7 с ёмким аккумулятором

13.02.2019 Официальные изображения LG G8 ThinQ со всех сторон

Подписка
 
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2019. All rights reserved.