facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials


Rambler's Top100

Review of GSM-handset Samsung SGH-E390

Sales package:

  • Handset
  • 850 mAh Li-Ion battery
  • Charger
  • User Guide
  • CD with software (PC Studio v2.0)
  • USB data cable
  • Stereo-headset

Today launching cheaper counterparts of prime models has become a tradition. If you come to think of it, why would the company take the pain of creating something all-round new if it can offer a resembling device sporting cut functionality at lower price. Samsung has picked this way, releasing the SGH-E390 in addition to the two look-a-like sliders the SGH-D840 and the SGH-D900. The new handsets looks is much akin to its more expensive predecessors, but in terms of software, it is less sophisticated, which results in an expected price about 100 USDlower.

The phone casing is remarkable for its austere lines, reminiscent of of the SGH-D900. It lacks smooth lines and needless trinkets no-nonsense shapes and sharp curves are the E390s credo.

While a bit thicker than its senior D-counterparts, the E90 has more of a minimalist design in it. It measures up at 94x47x16 mm and weighs in at 80 grams. Almost the whole casing is made of black plastic with silver insets on the fascia. Thanks to matte coating not only does the handset look eye-candy, it is a pleasure to hold as well. Over and above the E390 is a quality thing, which means there are no creaking noises, all details are so well-attuned to each other, that it proves to be quite challenging to take back panel off in spite of the fact that no other lockers are used for the battery cover.

On the left spine you can find a plastic flap covered socket which serves for plugging in USB data cable, charger or wired headset. The volume rocker key is right beneath. The right plate houses microSD memory expansion slot on top of a skinny dedicated camera button. Both top and bottom ends are left completely bald.

The front panel is traditionally occupied by large display covered with a layer of matte plastic. Functional and navigational keys are also placed here. Numeric buttons are on the sliding part of the device.

The quality display embedded in Samsung SGH-E390 enjoys TFT technology at a resolution of 176x220 pixels (33x40 mm) and shows up to 65000 colors. The viewing angles are a bit on the small side, however it wasnt much of a hassle to interact with the handset. In the sun the screen does pretty well and gets washed out to a minor extent, but the information remains readable. While dialing a number (at the smallest font settings) the display accommodates 5 text and 2 service lines and when looking at the menu there will be 6 list items, sections title, current time line and service buttons; as regards messages, if you have selected the small font size, then the screen will present you with up to 7 text and 3 service lines.

Using only one hand you can easily zip the phone open, luckily there is spring-loaded slide mechanism. To avoid fingerprints on the screen when opening it up, there is a special ridge beneath it, which you can use as a thumb rest. In passing, it comes in handy only for snapping the phone open/closed, while for the rest of your quality time it will be more of a hassle, making the upper part of the navi-pad hard to reach.

The keypad leaves two-fold impression. On the one hand, the keys themselves are rather bulky and typing with them is quite comfortable, only on a rare occasion will you press wrong buttons. But on the other hand, the plastic rim around the keypad the keys, especially the bottom row, might feel not so good on your fingertips.

The keypad is evenly lit in bright white. Backlighting is well-visible in different conditions.

Samsung SGH-E390 makes use of a 800 mAh Li-Ion battery. In conditions of Moscow networks on average load (one hour of gaming, one hour for other functions, recording of two-minute long video clips and five snaps) the handset lasted less than 2 days and eventually asked us to give it some more power by recharging it. It takes the E390 about 2 hours to charge up from empty to full.

Menu

The main menu features 9 items and can be displayed either in the grid mode (3x3) or in the list form. If the latter is the case, then once you have selected the relevant line, the right part of the screen will get filled up with sub-menu a scaled-down list of the sections contents. Moving into it is possible by pressing the navigational key rightwards, and to view it full-screen, just press OK.

Another handy addition to the menu layout the handset memorizes which function was called up last time and when you re-enter the menu automatically highlights it, this goes for sub-menu items as well.

Apart from the navigation keys you can turn your sight to shortcut number navigation for browsing through the menu each menu item has its own number on the list. At that three directions of the navigational key are very user-manageable, the only exception is Up, permanently assigned to My Menu, but in return you are free to customize of the five items present in My Menu.

Phonebook. The phonebook in the E390 can store up to 1000 entries, each with a variety of fields and phone numbers to fill: First Name, Last Name, Mobile phone, Work phone, Home phone, Fax, extra number and e-mail. Every contact can be personalized with an image of a ring tone, as well as added to a group or enhanced with a text note. By the way, custom tunes may be set for groups as well, however if a contact, having a personal ring tone, is in a group, the on an incoming call the latter tune gets higher priority.

It is a good thing to find out that the E390s phonebook treats the SIM-card memory with some respect: the phonebook features entries from both the handsets and the SIMs storages.

When submitting data for a contact on SIM-card, the selection of available fields is much less impressive: Name, Phone number and ID. There are also options for binding up a contact with a custom ring tone, image and group, yet on an attempt to do so the handset notifies you of these features being enabled only for data stored in the handsets memory and suggests moving the entry over there.

For improved experience of trading your contacts back and forth, the handset allows a namecard with six phone numbers, e-mail and a text note after filling in all the fields you need, this card can be sent as SMS, MMS or via Bluetooth to other devices.

Speed dial feature with up to 8 numbers on the list is also onboard, at that different keys may have specific phone numbers of one contact.

Call log. Each lists displays up to 30 phone numbers, there is also a merged list available, where next to each contact name (or phone number) is a call type icon (on the left) and amount of calls made (on the right). To switch between the lists (Missed Calls, Incoming, Outgoing) you can make use of the navigational key. Detailed view for each entry reveals date and time of call, callers name, if available in the phonebook, otherwise a phone number, however call duration is not recorded here.

Massages. The messaging department of the E390 is quite standard when attempting to create a new message you are offered three types to pick from: SMS, MMS or e-mail with each having its own suite of settings. Text messages may have pictures, animations, tunes, namecard from the phonebook or other kind of data taken from the organizer (reminder, memo or task) attached.

The interface layout for MMS is straightforward and easy to master: you can add a text message, tune, image or a video clip, however all this shouldnt exceed 295 Kb in size. The E390 comes pre-installed with several message templates as well.

As for e-mail settings, there are no difficulties at all. You should only put an address, servers settings (to receive POP3 and IMAP support) and the type of massages  downloading. Having done all this things you will fully enjoy working with e-mail in your handset. The only restriction is a size of incoming massage. You may download from server to the phone only 100 Kb file.

For storing messages Samsung SGH-390 has 200 slots for SMS and 3072 Kbytes for MMS.

Also there is a useful function for sending SOS-messages when activated, should you find yourself in an emergency, after pressing the volume key four times, the message I am in emergency. Please help me will be sent to contacts submitted earlier, all incoming calls from these numbers upon sending the emergency message will be picked up automatically. Recipients (not more than 5), as well as number of Repeats may be set up manually, while text of the SOS-message is not manageable.

Y! Ready. A stand-alone item dedicated to search page and mail. It should be mentioned that the service provider varies by region. In Europe this item is used to provide quick access to Yahoo, while in the devices supplied to Russia and CIS countries to Google. As for e-mail, there are no strict caps in terms of services used, thus you may set up any account you wish. The only thing you should touch up is settings of pop and smtp server (by default these are Yahoo and Google values correspondingly).

Organizer. The phones memory is good for storing up to 100 events of each of four types: appointment, anniversary, task, others. For every entry you set start and due dates and times, and location. You are also at liberty to turn on a reminder, adjust the time when it should trigger off and make it repeated (if needed). In tasks you are offered to enter the contents of a task, start and due dates and times, as well as priority (low, normal, high). Calendar may be viewed in monthly or weekly mode.

Memos on the E390 are quite basic, presenting you only with text message and date fields. The phone memory is good for storage pf up to 100 memos.

Opening Alarm Clock section you will find three alarms in there: Morning Alarm, Alarm1 and Alarm2. However they are no different in terms of functionality: you set up alarm time, repeat mode and tune.

The bundled calculator can perform not only the very basic operations but to calculate logarithms, roots, sines, cosines and other functions like that.  The way it is implemented is quite nice it allows for submitting a whole formula with several operations and brackets.

Unit converter, as well as countdown timer as well as stopwatch (saves up to 4 intermediate results) is onboard.

The unsophisticated Voice Recorder allows making .amr clips for sending via MMS and Email and capped at 1 hour. This feature doesnt work during calls.

World time. Time is shown for all time zones, on top of that for each zone you will have a list of its three biggest cities popping up. The standby mode supports only two time zones, which provide you with time, date, format and week-start day. If you wish, you can save entries for the rest of time zones, but that list will be available only within the application.

MP3-player. The bundled player supports .mp3 and .aac formats and is incapable of working in background mode, thus after launching the application all you have got left to do is close the clam and enjoy your favorite tunes. Standard playback modes are enabled on the E390 sequential, random playback and shuffle. You are at liberty to create playlists and group the compositions inside them in the way you wish (compositions order can be changed manually). Both equalizer and presets are missing on the handset, but in return it empowers with an ability to send tracks over Bluetooth onto other devices and set them as ring tones.

ImageEditor is a simplest application for photo addition. With the help of it you are free to apply various affects, as well as add frames and objects to a shot.

Java World. The E390 comes included with two games available in demo-mode (Bejeweled and Lemmings) and four fully-functional games (Cannonball, Forgotten Warrior, Freekick and Arch Angel).  Much like other Samsung-branded devices, uploading Java via Bluetooth or a data cable in default mode is not supported to do that you will have to look up in service settings and turn on a corresponding option on, but even with that done, data transfer speed leaves much to be desired.

File Manager. This application categorizes all files by time: music, pictures, video, sounds and other. For storage purposes the E390 possess 15 Mb of built-in memory and add a memory card to this as well. Only list layout is enabled.

Browser. In standard mode the access to build in browser in accomplished separately from Yahoo search page. The browser allows surfing both WAP and ordinary HTML-pages, however this is a cap that should be observed a page should not be heavier than 500 Kb.

As full size pages are too large for the phone screen you have to use scrolling lines to view them.

Camera. The matrix of the built-in camera sports a resolution of 1.3 Mpix and can output photos up to 1280x1024 pixels big. Although the camera itself is quite poor, it can boast a considerable number of settings. Such settings as shooting mode, snap resolution, quality, the type of expo-sample, white balance and photosensitivity can be customized. Besides that you are free to choose one of the overlays.

  (+) maximize, 1280x1024, JPEG

  (+) maximize, 1280x1024, JPEG

  (+) maximize, 1280x1024, JPEG

  (+) maximize, 1280x1024, JPEG

  (+) maximize, 1280x1024, JPEG

  (+) maximize, 1280x1024, JPEG

  (+) maximize, 1280x1024, JPEG

  (+) maximize, 1280x1024, JPEG

 

  (+) maximize, 1280x1024, JPEG

 

Video is recorded in .3gp format with the top resolution making up 176x144 pixels, overlays here are no different from what you will find in still images settings.

Sample video 1(mp4, 668 Kb)>>>

Sample video 2(mp4, 674 Kb)>>>

Settings. The Phone settings are pretty standard, so I wont specifically bring them into the limelight and rather note that there you will find Offline mode, which is fact quite challenging to reach, but I really doubt that it will be called for very often. The Display settings allow you to set up wallpaper, main menu view (list or grid), skin (black or white), brightness, backlighting time-out, LED color for the external display and screen style in dialing mode (which enables you to pick one of three font sizes, font and background colors).

The Sound settings are nothing special on the E390 as well ring tone, volume, sound notification for incoming messages and key tone this is what Sound section is limited to. Any tune you like can be set as a ring tone, whereas incoming messages is where Samsung got a bit greedy you are restricted to select any sound but one of the default list.

Profiles system is missing on the E390, thus at meetings or other ringing-phone-unfriendly events you will have to stick to the silent mode. The volume outputted by the speakers is just enough to make sure you wont miss a call even in a crowded and noise-filled place.

Settings offered for Bluetooth are widely spread among other handsets and dont cry out for an extra note. The A2DP profile for handing wireless headsets is not included.

Browsing the Security section you are bound to stumble upon a handy feature known as Mobile Tracker, which keeps track of whether SIM card has been changed on the device. To use it effectively you will need to set a phone number that will receive messages upon SIM card swapping, containing ID of the newly installed SIM. To enter this item one will have to enter a password, which slightly ups the chances for you to reclaim ownership of a lost or stolen phone.

Impressions

In terms of reception quality, when tested, the E390 delivered no problems you clearly hear what people on the other end say even in a noisy room. The hands free feature of the phone also does well.

All in all the handset appeals to me. Its most crucial letdowns, spoiling the experience a bit, are ridge beneath display and a rim around the numberpad. As for the rest, the E390 is typical representative of its class. If you do not want to overpay 100 USD for useless features of Samsung SGH-D900 and at the same time would like to own a good-looking, austere phone, this handset will be a worthy choice for you.

The E390 will be rivaled mainly by other Samsung-branded sliders, and also Nokia 6111, if we are to look at other vendors proposals. Nevertheless smooth design of the Nokias device will win the place for the 6111 in womens pockets, while men are more likely to find themselves at a loss which one to go for. Sliders by Pantch and Voxtel can be also considered as rivals in some way, if not in the top echelon of manufacturers for the same money they give slightly better quality (2 mgpx camera for example).

Related links:

Review of a GSM-handset Samsung D900. A begging King>>>

Review of GSM-handset Samsung D840>>>

Margarita Mokshina (margo.mokshina@mobile-review.com)
Translated by Vera Paderina (oleg.kononosov@mobile-review.com)

Published — 21 February 2007

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

News:

[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean

Subscribe

Register | Lost password?

E-mail


Password




Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

podcast quotes-left quotes-right search menu arrow-up arrow-up2 google-plus3 facebook2 instagram telegram twitter vk youtube android rss2

Обзор GSM-телефона Samsung SGH-E390

Комплект поставки:

  • Телефон
  • Аккумулятор: емкость 800 мАч, Li-Ion
  • Зарядное устройство
  • Инструкция
  • Диск с ПО (PC Studio v3.0)
  • USB-кабель
  • Стереогарнитура

Создавать более дешевые аналоги дорогих моделей – это традиция. Действительно, зачем упорствовать, разрабатывая что-то совершенно новое, если можно предложить похожий аппарат с урезанными возможностями и за меньшие деньги. Компания Samsung пошла именно этим путем, недавно вдобавок к паре очень похожих друг на друга слайдеров SGH-D840 и SGH-D900 выпустив еще одну модель – SGH-E390. Внешность у нее почти такая же, как у более дорогих предшественников, однако программная начинка проще, возможностей поменьше, а соответственно, и ожидаемая цена почти на сто долларов ниже.

Корпус у телефона строгий, лаконичный и очень напоминает SGH-D900. В нем нет никаких обтекаемых форм и ненужных украшений – все максимально просто и аккуратно.

Хотя толщина модели несколько превышает этот показатель у ее старших D-аналогов, модель E390 более миниатюрна. Ее габариты составляют 94х47х16 мм при весе 80 грамм. Почти весь корпус выполнен из черного пластика, который «разбавлен» лишь серебристыми элементами на передней панели. Благодаря использованию матового пластика он не только хорошо смотрится, но и приятен на ощупь. Сборка аппарата качественная – скрипы отсутствуют, а детали так плотно пригнаны друг к другу, что даже снятие задней панели оказывается процедурой непростой, хотя никаких дополнительных механизмов для крепления аккумуляторной крышки не предусмотрено.

На левой боковой панели располагается разъем для подключения зарядного устройства, data-кабеля и наушников, прикрытый пластиковой заглушкой (он такой же, как в устройствах серии Ultra Edition), а под ним – качелька изменения громкости. На правой панели находится слот для карт памяти microSD и клавиша управления встроенной камерой. Верхняя и нижняя грани от каких-либо разъемов свободны.

На передней панели по традиции располагается большой дисплей, покрытый слоем глянцевого пластика, а также функциональные и навигационные кнопки, цифровые клавиши находятся на выдвижной половинке.

Сам экран качественный и яркий, он обладает разрешением 176х220 точек (33х40 мм), выполнен по TFT-технологии и отображает 65000 цветов. Углы обзора не слишком велики, но вполне достаточны для комфортной работы с телефоном. На ярком солнце дисплей выцветает незначительно, поэтому картинка блекнет, но вся информация остается читаемой. В режиме набора номера (при самом маленьком шрифте) на экране помещается 5 строк и 2 статусные, при просмотре меню отображается 6 элементов списка, название раздела, строка с часами и служебные кнопки, а при написании сообщения, если выбран маленький шрифт, на экране отображается до 7 строк плюс 3 служебные.

Открывается аппарат очень легко одной рукой, есть система автоматической доводки. А для того чтобы при раскрытии аппарата экран не «ляпался», предусмотрен специальный выступ под ним, который удобно использовать в качестве упора. Кстати сказать, удобен этот упор лишь для открытия аппарата, при общении с телефоном он очень мешает, затрудняя нажатие на верхнюю часть навигационной клавиши.

Клавиатура оставляет неоднозначное впечатление: с одной стороны, кнопки сами по себе довольно крупные и удобные, случайных нажатий почти не возникает. Однако из-за пластикового «канта», расположенного по периметру вокруг клавиатуры, пользоваться крайними клавишами, а в особенности нижним рядом, очень неудобно.

Клавиатура имеет яркую подсветку белого цвета, она равномерная и хорошо видна в различных условиях.

Аккумулятор в Samsung SGH-E390 используется Li-Ion емкостью 800 мАч. В условиях тестирования при среднем использовании функций аппарата (час игр, 2 часа использования других функций, запись двух минутных видеороликов и съемка десятка кадров) в условиях московской сети Билайн телефон проработал около 1.5 суток, после чего подал жалобный сигнал о севшей батарейке. Для полной зарядки аккумулятора потребовалось чуть меньше 2 часов.

Меню

Главное меню состоит из девяти элементов и может отображаться в виде матрицы (3х3) или списком. В последнем случае при выборе желаемого поля в правой части экрана открывается «подменю» – уменьшенный список элементов раздела. Переместиться в него можно нажатием клавиши вправо, а чтобы открыть список на весь экран, достаточно на выбранном поле нажать «ОК».

Еще одно приятное дополнение – аппарат запоминает, к какой функции вы обращались в последний раз, и при входе в меню сразу подсвечивает ее. Причем запоминается и подпункт меню, которым вы пользовались.

Помимо навигационных клавиш для управления можно использовать и цифровые последовательности – возле каждого элемента меню указывается его номер в списке. Трем положениям навигационной клавиши можно назначать быстрый запуск различных функций. Исключение составляет положение «вверх» – оно всегда открывает «Мое меню», и переназначить функцию нельзя. Зато каждый их пяти пунктов «Моего меню» можно заполнить по собственному желанию.

Телефонная книга. В телефонной книге предусмотрено 1000 ячеек для заполнения. При этом на каждого абонента можно указывать: имя, фамилию, номер мобильного, домашнего и рабочего телефонов, факс, дополнительный номер и e-mail. А также присваивать контакту собственную картинку, мелодию звонка, определять его в группу и даже добавлять текстовый комментарий. Кстати, собственную мелодию можно присваивать и группе контактов, однако если абонент определен в группу, но у него также установлен личный звонок, при входящем вызове срабатывать будет последний.

Очень приятно, что телефонная книга E390 с уважением относится к памяти SIM-карты: так, в списке контактов отображаются сразу и абоненты из памяти телефона, и те, чьи номера записаны на SIM-ке.

При записи номера в память SIM-карты список полей для данных предлагается куда более скромный: имя контакта, номер телефона и номер ячейки для хранения. Есть опции добавления контакта в группу, а также присвоения личной мелодии и картинки, но при попытке введения этих данных аппарат сообщает, что функции доступны лишь для номеров, хранящихся в памяти телефона, и предлагает сохранить абонента там.

Для удобства обмена контактными данными телефон позволяет создать свою визитную карточку с указанием шести номеров телефона, адреса электронной почты и дополнительного комментария. После чего эту карточку можно пересылать на другие аппараты в виде SMS, MMS или через Bluetooth-соединение.

Предусмотрена возможность быстрого набора номеров, максимум их может быть 8, причем на разные клавиши можно назначать отдельные номера одного и того же контакта.

Списки вызовов. В каждом списке отображается до 30 номеров телефонов. Есть сводный список, в котором слева от имени (номера телефона) отображается иконка типа звонка, а справа – их количество. Для переключения между списками (Последние звонки, Пропущенные вызовы, Исходящие и Входящие) можно пользоваться навигационной клавишей. В деталях вызова указывается дата и время каждого из звонков, имя абонента, если он есть в записной книжке, и его номер телефона. Длительность каждого вызова не запоминается.

Сообщения. Возможности по работе с сообщениями довольно стандартны. При создании предлагается выбрать тип, SMS, MMS или Email, для каждого предусмотрен свой список настроек. В текстовые сообщения можно добавлять картинки, анимации, мелодии, а также прикреплять карточку абонента из записной книжки и данные из органайзера, как-то:  напоминание о встрече или годовщине, заметку или задание.

Интерфейс для создания MMS простой и понятный, можно добавлять текстовое сообщение, мелодию, фотографию или видеоролик, однако общий объем сообщения при этом не должен превышать 295 Кбайт. Есть несколько шаблонов сообщений.

С настройкой Email совершенно никаких трудностей не возникает: нужно лишь ввести адрес, настройки серверов (для получения поддерживается POP3 и IMAP) и тип закачки сообщений (целиком или только заголовки), и можно наслаждаться почтой в телефоне. Единственное ограничение – входящие сообщения можно закачивать с сервера на телефон, только если их объем не превышает 100 Кб.

В памяти Samsung SGH-E390 под текстовые сообщения выделено 200 ячеек, а для хранения MMS- и Email-сообщений выделяется вся свободная память.

Есть также полезная функция отправки SOS-сообщений. Если ее активировать, то в экстремальной ситуации после четырехкратного нажатия на клавишу изменения громкости сообщение «I am in emergency. Please help me» будет отправлено указанным ранее контактам, и входящие звонки с этих номеров, полученные после отправки сообщения, будут приниматься автоматически. Номера абонентов (не более 5) и количество повторений сообщения можно указать самостоятельно, однако текст не редактируется.

Y! Ready. В отдельный пункт выделен быстрый доступ к поисковой страничке и почте. Причем для разных стран поставщик услуг будет отличаться. В аппаратах Samsung SGH-E390 предназначенных для Европы, пункт будет обеспечивать быстрый доступ к страничке Yahoo, а в устройствах, поставляемых в Россию и страны СНГ - к страничке Google. Что касается почты, она жестко не заточена под услуги определенного сервера, поэтому в этом разделе можно настроить совершенно любую учетную запись. Единственное что придется подправить - настройки pop и smtp серверов, по умолчанию там указываются, соответственно, настройки Yahoo и Google.

Органайзер. В памяти телефона можно сохранять до 100 событий каждого из четырех типов – встреча, годовщина, задание, разное. Для каждой записи указывается дата и время начала и окончания события, а также место его проведения. Можно установить напоминание, интервал его срабатывания, а также частоту повторения (если необходимо). В заданиях предлагается указать собственно текст задачи, дату начала, дату окончания, а также приоритет (низкий, нормальный, средний). Календарь можно просматривать по месяцам и по неделям.

Заметки простые – в них указывается только текстовое сообщение и дата. В памяти может храниться до 100 записей.

Будильников три: Morning Alarm, Alarm1 и Alarm2. Функциональных различий у них никаких нет: указывается время срабатывания, периодичность и сигнал звонка.

Калькулятор может выполнять не только простые операции, но и высчитывать логарифмы, корни, синусы, косинусы и тому подобные функции. Он реализован очень неплохо: есть возможность записывать целый пример с несколькими операциями (для удобства записи добавлены скобки), а затем уже подсчитывать результат.

Есть также конвертер величин, таймер и секундомер, в котором можно сохранять до 4 промежуточных значений.

Диктофон простой, позволяет делать записи в формате .amr для отправки в виде MMS, Email длительностью до 1 часа. Во время разговора он не работает.

Мировое время. Время указывается по часовым поясам, при этом для каждого пояса приводится список из трех основных столиц, расположенных в зоне его действия. Для отображения в режиме ожидания можно выбрать максимум два часовых пояса. Для них указывается режим обновления временной зоны, время, дата и их формат, а также день, с которого начинается календарная неделя. По желанию можно сохранить записи для трех часовых поясов, однако данные о третьем поясе будут отображаться лишь внутри приложения.

MP3-плеер. Встроенный музыкальный проигрыватель поддерживает воспроизведение мелодий в форматах .mp3 и .aac, но не работает в фоновом режиме. Таким образом, после запуска плеера можно лишь закрыть аппарат и наслаждаться музыкой. Поддерживаются стандартные режимы прослушивания: последовательно, в цикле или в случайном порядке. Возможно создание плей-листов, причем внутри каждого из них композиции можно группировать удобным образом (порядок композиций можно изменять вручную). Эквалайзер отсутствует, нет даже фиксированных настроек. Зато прямо из меню плеера можно отправлять композиции через Bluetooth на другие устройства и устанавливать в качестве мелодии звонка.

ImageEditor. Простейшее приложение для обработки фотографий, позволяет применять разнообразные эффекты, а также добавлять рамки и объекты в кадр.

JavaWorld. В телефоне предустановлено две игры, доступные в демо-режиме (Bejeweled и Lemmings), а также четыре полнофункциональные – Cannonball, Forgotten Warrior, Freekick и Arch Angel. Как это часто бывает в аппаратах Samsung, загрузка Java через Bluetooth или кабель в обычном режиме не поддерживается, требуется изучение сервисных настроек и активация соответствующей опции. При этом стабильность загрузки остается не слишком высокой.

Файловый менеджер. В этом разделе собраны все файлы по типам: музыка, картинки, видео, звуки и другие файлы. Для хранения на все про все отведено 15 Мб в памяти телефона + карта памяти. Отображаются элементы только списком.

Браузер. Доступ к встроенному браузеру в стандартном режиме производится отдельно от поисковой странички Yahoo. Он позволяет открывать как WAP, так и обычные HTML-страницы. Правда, объем страницы при этом не должен превышать 500 Кбайт.

Полноразмерные страницы на экране телефона целиком не помещаются, поэтому для просмотра приходится использовать полосы прокрутки.

Камера. Матрица встроенной камеры имеет разрешение 1.3 Мпикс и поддерживает разрешение фотографий до 1280х1024 пикселей. Хотя сама по себе камера довольно слабая, настроек у нее много. Можно указывать режим съемки, разрешение снимка, качество, тип экспозамера, баланс белого и светочувствительность. Кроме того, можно выбрать один из эффектов.

  (+) увеличить, 1280x1024, JPEG

  (+) увеличить, 1280x1024, JPEG

  (+) увеличить, 1280x1024, JPEG

  (+) увеличить, 1280x1024, JPEG

  (+) увеличить, 1280x1024, JPEG

  (+) увеличить, 1280x1024, JPEG

  (+) увеличить, 1280x1024, JPEG

  (+) увеличить, 1280x1024, JPEG

 

  (+) увеличить, 1280x1024, JPEG

 

Видео снимается в форматах .mp4 и .3gp с максимальным разрешением 176х144 пикселей. Поддерживаются те же эффекты, что и в режиме фотосъемки.

Пример видео 1(mp4, 668 Кб)>>>

Пример видео 2(mp4, 674 Кб)>>>

Настройки.Телефонные настройки стандартны, поэтому не буду останавливаться на них подробно. Отмечу лишь, что в этом разделе находится пункт «Offline mode», добраться до него непросто, но, с другой стороны, вряд ли вы будете пользоваться этой функцией часто. В настройках дисплея можно выбирать фоновую картинку, стиль отображения главного меню (список или матрица), скин, которых предусмотрено два (черный и белый), яркость экрана, длительность действия подсветки и цвет диода внешнего дисплея, а также настраивать вид экрана в режиме набора. Здесь позволяется выбрать один из трех размеров шрифта, цвет текста и цвет фона.

Звуковые настройки стандартны, в них можно указать мелодию и громкость звонка, звук входящих сообщений и клавиш. В качестве мелодии звонка можно выбирать любую понравившуюся мелодию, а вот с входящими сообщениями Samsung пожадничали – звук для них можно выбирать лишь из списка стандартных.

Профилей не предусмотрено, поэтому во время совещаний и встреч придется пользоваться беззвучным режимом. Функция виброзвонка работает только в беззвучном режиме, так что в обычном режиме приходится полагаться лишь на звонок. Справедливости ради замечу, что громкости динамика достаточно, чтобы не пропустить звонок даже в шумном месте.

Настройки Bluetooth стандартны и не требуют дополнительных комментариев. Профиль A2DP для работы со стереогарнитурой отсутствует.

В разделе Безопасность есть удобная функция Mobile Tracker, которая «отслеживает» смену SIM-карты в аппарате. В ней необходимо указать номер телефона, на который будет отправляться сообщение при смене SIM-карты, в котором будет указываться номер новой установленной SIM-ки. Войти в раздел можно только по паролю, так что возможность в какой-то мере повышает шансы найти свой телефон, если его украли.


Впечатления

По качеству связи за все время тестирования к модели не возникло никаких претензий – собеседника слышно хорошо даже в шумном помещении. Функция громкой связи нареканий не вызывает. 

В целом мне аппарат понравился, самыми большими его недостатками являются, пожалуй, упор под дисплеем на передней панели и кайма вокруг цифровой клавиатуры, затрудняющие общение с устройством. В остальном Samsung SGH-E390 – типичный представитель своего класса. Он станет достойным выбором для тех, кому нужен стильный строгий аппарат, но нет никакого желания переплачивать 100 долларов за «ненужные» возможности Samsung SGH-D900.

Соперничать E390 будет в наибольшей степени с другими слайдерами Samsung, а из продуктов других компаний наиболее близким конкурентом является Nokia 6111. Впрочем, из-за обтекаемого дизайна девушки скорее всего отдадут предпочтение аппарату Nokia, а вот мужчины наверняка задумаются при выборе. В конкуренты можно также записать слайдеры таких производителей как Pantech и Voxtel - хотя они не принадлежат к первому эшелону, за те же деньги компании предлагают устройства с чуть более широким функционалом (как то, двухмегапиксельная камера).

Ссылки по теме:

Обзор GSM-телефона Samsung D900. Блеск и нищета>>>

Обзор GSM-телефона Samsung D840>>>

Маргарита Мокшина (margo.mokshina@mobile-review.com)
Опубликовано — 26 января 2007 г.

 

Мы в социальных сетях:

Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

Новости:

26.05.2017 Центробанк предложил рассматривать криптовалюты как цифровой товар

26.05.2017 Ростелеком вложит 200 миллионов рублей в разработку биометрической идентификации

Hit

25.05.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор Micromax BOLT warrior 1 plus

25.05.2017 Mail.Ru выпустила мессенджер TamTam

25.05.2017 «Билайн» предлагает смартфоны Samsung по спеццене

25.05.2017 Представлен 6,44-дюймовый фаблет Xiaomi Mi Max 2

Hit

25.05.2017 Видео на канале: Знакомство с Xiaomi Mi Mix 18K

Hit

25.05.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор Nokia 3310 (2017)

25.05.2017 Tele2 снижает стоимость корпоративных тарифов в Москве

25.05.2017 ESET: мошенники раздают на WhatsApp годовую подписку на Netflix

25.05.2017 Panasonic анонсировал тонкие полузащищенные бизнес-ноутбуки Toughbook CF-54mk3

24.05.2017 Sony объявила о старте продаж своего нового 6-дюймового смартфона Xperia XA1 Ultra

24.05.2017 В Госдуму внесен законопроект о регулировании работы мессенджеров

Hit

24.05.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор Asus ZenFone 3 Max

Hit

24.05.2017 Видео на канале: Пример работы Android Pay в России

Hit

24.05.2017 Видео на канале: Комментарий Андрея Кормильцева по поводу Android Pay и HTC U11

24.05.2017 Apple и Nokia урегулировали свои споры

24.05.2017 Власти Москвы отказались от акции проезда в метро за один рубль для пользователей Android Pay

24.05.2017 Google начала продавать «умные» доски для работы со своими сервисами

24.05.2017 Huawei представила новые модели ноутбуков серии MateBook

Hit

23.05.2017 Видео на канале: Знакомство с HTC U 11

Hit

23.05.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор Archos Diamond 2 Plus

23.05.2017 МТС представила финансовые и операционные результаты Группы за первый квартал 2017 года

23.05.2017 Российские ученые разработают первый электрокар на солнечных батареях

23.05.2017 «Мегафон» предложил абонентам три варианта компенсации за сбой

Подписка
 
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2017. All rights reserved.