facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials


Rambler's Top100

Review of Bluetooth headset SonyEricsson HBH PV-705

Sales package:

  • Headset
  • Charger
  • Carrying strap
  • User Guide

This headset comes from a broad class of devices which can be called typical market players, following from the labeling of all new gadgets used in reviews over at Mobile-Review. Bluntly speaking, that stands for just another nothing-special offering with good quality/price ratio, targeting at the wide audience, in particular people looking not for a fashion-charged feature-packed solution. I cant say the PV-705 lacks any fetching options on its spec list such as very portable size, for example, but that doesnt make the headset stand out much on the shelves of retail stores.

Design and outlook

The headsets design, to my thinking, is rather successful, as it will fit both office workers and sportsmen, except those keen on runs in heavy rain, so before purchasing do consider this point as well. The device was test-drove by several (8 persons: 3 men, 5 women) potential buyers and was taken mostly positively, but criticized for lacking any design specialties, which could really grab their attention. The PV-705s small size doesnt play any significant part, as the market has already seen headsets smaller and lighter in weight than the PV705. In the sense of other aspects, I repeat it one more time, there were no complaints, since Sony Ericsson knows how to produce headsets, which would appeal nearly to everyone.

As for me it would seem quite logical if the company had included in the sales package of the PV-705 a USB-adapter to position it as an IP-telephony tailored solution. Especially in light of the fact that such kit could have been inexpensive and quite easy to run. Also this headset is literally crying out to be placed in one box with a handset. More precisely, its predecessor in the PV-line-up was promoted along with the companys handsets.

I should also notice that the comparison of the PV-700 and the PV-705 doesnt make any sense, as these are completely different products having only their target audiences in common. Namely the customers who want to get a high-quality branded headset for not more than 50-60 USD.

Physically the headset lives up to the bar as it is made of non-coated plastic, which basically excludes possibility of abrasion in course of day-to-day use. Unfortunately detaching the front panel of the headset is a tricky thing - although there is a hook there, I failed to get the panel off. The ear loop is monolithic here since in the middle there is no pivot point as that found on SE HBH-610, so you can change the ear without any troubles by taking off the band.

As you can see on the photos we tried out a headset in black, but other color schemes might materialize as well - for example on the companys site there is a photo of the device with light bronze finished faceplate.

Wearing the headset

Way of wearing the device with the help of ear loop is quite traditional; at least it seemed to me that the PV-705 is comfortable to have it on ear. On the inside the ear loop is covered with hard rubber, softening the touch. All in all, the headset is easy to wear such cases as pain or inconvenience are rare and occur only for people with complex ears. In fact the PV-705 can be worn together with glasses as well, but everything comes down to the size of ear arms.

Unfortunately the sales package of mine was not complete, so combined with the fact that the PV-705 lacks holes for a carrying strap, its still obscure whether its lanyard has the same design as the HBH IV-835s one.

Controls

The controls of the device are rather ascetic as they include multifunction button (pick/hang up key, switching between calls/voice dial/last number redial, also its used for device pairing) and a volume rocker switch. Buttons are pushed with barely audible, yet tangible click and are easy to get used to as they feel good to the touch and well laid-out. The LED mounted near the multifunction button triggers off with either red or green light not too often and bright, telling you what is happening with the headset.

Lifetime

As it usually happens with SE-branded devices, we failed to find any information on the battery used. However it is likely to be a Li-Pol unit with yet indefinable capacity. The manufacturer claims the headset manages to provide talk and standby times of up to 12 and 300 hours respectively on a single full charge. I should draw your attention to the former figure which is extremely high.

In practice the headset put up the following figures: it remained good for 5 days on average load of 20-30 minutes of calls a day and with two nights in offline mode. It sounds ridiculous, but with the PV-705 its not a big deal to forget about recharging at all - this device beats all other competitors lifetime-wise.

The headset retains halved FastPort slot, which will be greatly appreciated by the owners of up-to-date Sony Ericsson-branded handsets.

Connectivity and sound quality

The headset was tested out with Nokia 5500, Sony Ericsson W900, Samsung D600. To enter paring mode you need to push the multifunction button and the both volume keys at the same time; so as you have to hold the buttons for some time the whole process starts looking like some kind of tightrope-walking. I suppose that causes extra troubles which could have been avoided easily.

Both pairing and detecting the headset were a breeze for all handsets we used, this holds true for its main functions as well. It is strange, but the worst performance was put up in case with the W900 personally, I dont like pressing the pick up key on the phone on every coming call to confirm that I really want to use the headset for talking or wait for auto sound transfer to the PV-705. Nokia and Samsung didnt bring about such troubles.

The sound quality is on a high level which is common for most of the companys accessories. Although the PV-705 lacks DSP-processor, it doesnt prevent you from talking in moderately noise-polluted places - you hear the interlocutor quite well even when music is playing close to you; the volume provided by the PV-705 is quite something, at the same time its obvious that there is no way one could get what you are talking in such noise.

Increasing the distance between the headset and the phone up to 4-5 meters causes noise and makes parts of words go missing so the best thing to do is have the handset in a bag and the headset on your ear. Naturally, as you get closer to the handset, sound becomes more penetrating.

To sum-up everything up, I have to mention again that the sound quality for this price-bracket is extremely good pay attention to this parameter when you get to choosing a gadget.

Conclusion

Sony Ericsson PV-705 undoubtedly benefits from having very portable dimensions, fairly good design, great lifetime figures on a single full charge and good speech transfer quality. It would seem strange, but the shortcomings are rather hard to find I can think only of missing specialties that would boost the PV-705s status, though seemingly no one over at Sony Ericsson set out to create something like that. So in a nutshell its an extremely good entry-level offering, whose price will be around 60 USD. However its rivals are many, listing them all is quite challenging these are solutions by Jabra, Nokia, Motorola, other not widely known manufacturers and finally products by Sony Ericsson itself. Last but not the least goes for Sony Ericsson on this list, as the HBH-610, while having slightly higher price, boasts a very attractive design DSP, Bluetooth 2.0. That is why the PV-705 is unlikely to be an evident sales hit in below 60 USD price-bracket its design is nothing to shout about, after all (I guess those who have already seen the headset would agree with that). But shop-assistants should push through splendid lifetime (the PV-705 hasnt got any rivals at all now) and good speech transfer quality. To my mind, reaching high sale rates wont be a big deal in case these two greatest attractions will be highlighted on-the-spot.

Specifications:

  • Weight: approximately 14g.
  • Talk time: 12 hours
  • Stand-by time: 300 hours
  • Wearing: ear loop
  • Bluetooth type: 1.2Size: approximately 60 mm long

Sergey Kuzmin (skuzmin@mobile-review.com)
Translated by Ilya Baranov (oleg.kononosov@mobile-review.com)

Published — 28 November 2006

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

News:

[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean

Subscribe

Register | Lost password?

E-mail


Password




Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

podcast quotes-left quotes-right search menu arrow-up arrow-up2 google-plus3 facebook2 instagram telegram twitter vk youtube android rss2

Обзор Bluetooth-гарнитуры SonyEricsson HBH PV-705

Комплект поставки

  • Гарнитура
  • Зарядное устройство
  • Шнурок для переноски
  • Инструкция

Рассматриваемая в этом обзоре гарнитура относится к многочисленному классу устройств, которые, по аналогии с обозначением, принятым в обзорах новинок на нашем сайте, можно назвать обычными рыночными «игроками». То есть ничего особо выделяющего, хорошее соотношение «цена-качество», расчет на большую часть аудитории, а именно ту ее часть, которой не нужен имиджевый, многофункциональный продукт. Не скажу, что у PV-705 совсем нет каких-либо отличительных черт, есть, например, небольшой размер, но и это не сильно выделяет гарнитуру на прилавке магазина.

Дизайн и конструкция

Дизайн гарнитуры, на мой взгляд, удачен, это отличная гарнитура для офиса, для спорта она тоже подойдет, но не для пробежек под сильным дождем, при покупке учитывайте этот факт. Устройство было продемонстрировано нескольким (8 человек: 3 мужчины, 5 женщин) потенциальным покупателям, было хорошо воспринято, но основное замечание свелось именно к отсутствию какой-либо изюминки в дизайне, бросающейся в глаза. Небольшой размер здесь особой роли не играет, на рынке уже давно есть гарнитуры и размером, и весом намного меньше, чем PV705. В остальном, повторюсь, никаких претензий высказано не было, в компании Sony Ericsson знают, как делать гарнитуры, которые нравятся практически всем.

Субъективно, я бы не увидел ничего удивительного в том, если бы компания начала продавать PV705 в комплекте с USB-адаптером как решения для IP-телефонии, это логично. Тем более, комплект мог бы быть недорогим и крайне простым в использовании. Также, на мой взгляд, PV705 прямо-таки напрашивается на то, чтобы быть помещенной в коробку с телефоном. Тем более, именно предыдущая модель из серии PV продвигалась совместно с аппаратами компании.

Замечу, что в сравнении PV700 и PV705 нет никакого смысла – это абсолютно разные продукты, объединяет их только позиционирование. А именно: расчет на покупателя, который не располагает суммой более 50-60 долларов, но хочет получить в свое распоряжение качественную гарнитуру от бренда.

Конструктивно гарнитура выполнена на хорошем уровне, в основном использован неокрашенный пластик, что означает отсутствие потертостей при повседневном использовании. Увы, так и осталось загадкой, можно ли снять панель на фронтальной части гарнитуры, спереди есть зацеп, но у меня не вышло открепить панель. Заушник здесь литой, он не имеет шарнира посередине, как у SE HBH-610, поменять положение для носки на другом ухе вы можете, сняв его, проблем это не составляет никаких.

Как вы видите на фотографиях, на тестировании была гарнитура в черном варианте, не исключено, что увидят свет и другие цвета оформления, например, на сайте компании есть фотография, где эта гарнитура имеет переднюю панель светло-бронзового цвета.

Способ ношения

Способ ношения традиционен, для этого используется заушник, гарнитура комфортна, по крайней мере, мне так показалось. Заушник с внутренней стороны отделан твердой резиной, она смягчает соприкосновение. В принципе, носить гарнитуру удобно, болевые ощущения возможны в редких случаях у обладателей ушей «сложного» склада. С очками PV-705, в принципе, тоже можно носить, все зависит от размера дужки.

На гарнитуре отсутствует крепление для ремешка, увы, у меня в руках был неполный комплект, так что остается неясным, устроен ли он так же, как и ремешок в комплекте SE HBH IV-835.

Управление

Управление устройством аскетично, это многофункциональная клавиша (прием/отбой вызова, переключение между линиями, активация голосового набора, набор последнего номера, также она задействована в активации сопряжения) и качелька регулировки громкости. Клавиши приятны, легко находимы, к ним легко привыкнуть, нажимаются они с еле слышным, но ощутимым щелчком. В общем, управление организовано хорошо. Световой индикатор располагается рядом с многофункциональной клавишей, сигналы подает неяркие и не особо частые, в зависимости от того, что происходит с устройством, горит красный либо зеленый свет.

Питание

Как и в большинстве случаев, информации об использованном аккумуляторе найти не удалось, это типично для SE. Скорее всего, он литий-полимерный, о емкости судить сложно. Производитель заявляет об уверенной работе гарнитуры в режиме разговора в течение 12 часов, в режиме ожидания – 300 часов. Обращу ваше внимание на первую цифру, она крайне велика.

На практике результаты оказались такие: гарнитура спокойно живет около пяти дней при средней загрузке – это 20-30 минут разговоров в сутки, две ночи она была выключена. Удивительно, но с PV-705 в какой-то степени вообще забываешь о необходимости заряжать гарнитуру, по этому параметру она превосходит своих конкурентов.

В гарнитуре использован уполовиненный разъем FastPort, что порадует владельцев современных телефонов SE.

Связь с телефоном и качество звука

Гарнитура тестировалась с телефонами Nokia 5500, Sony Ericsson W900, Samsung D600. Для ввода в режим сопряжения необходимо нажать многофункциональную клавишу и обе клавиши регулировки громкости, это сравнимо с эквилибристикой, держать клавиши в нажатом положении нужно некоторое время. На мой взгляд, это создает лишние сложности, которых вполне можно было избежать.

С обнаружением и сопряжением гарнитуры не возникло проблем ни с одним из аппаратов, все работает корректно, это касается и основных функций. Хуже всего, как ни странно, организована работа с W900, лично мне не нравится каждый раз при входящем звонке нажимать на телефоне кнопку, чтобы подтвердить, что я хочу говорить по гарнитуре, либо дожидаться, когда звук перейдет в PV-705 автоматически. С Nokia и Samsung таких проблем нет.

Качество звука на высоком уровне, традиционном для большинства аксессуаров компании. В PV-705 отсутствует DSP-процессор, однако это не мешает вполне нормально общаться и в местах средней зашумленности. Собеседника вы слышите хорошо, даже когда рядом громко играет музыка, громкости хватает с избытком, понятно, что вас разобрать в шуме практически невозможно.

При удалении от телефона на 4-5 метров появляются шумы, выпадают части слова, так что оптимальный вариант – телефон в сумке или портфеле, гарнитура на ухе. Как только вы приближаетесь к аппарату, все возвращается на круги своя.

В заключение еще раз скажу, что качество звука для продукта в этой ценовой категории крайне хорошее, обратите внимание на этот параметр при выборе устройства.


Выводы

У Sony Ericsson PV-705 есть плюсы. Это небольшой размер, неплохой дизайн, очень большое время работы от заряда аккумулятора, хорошее качество передачи речи. Минусы найти, как ни странно, довольно тяжело, это, пожалуй, лишь отсутствие некой изюминки, но, видимо, в компании никто и не ставил цель сделать нечто особое. Это крайне качественный бюджетный продукт, средняя стоимость которого будет в районе 55-60 долларов. Соревноваться придется с массой конкурентов, перечислить их все довольно сложно – это продукты от Jabra, Nokia, Motorola, малоизвестных производителей и, наконец, от компании SonyEricsson. И главным конкурентом тут может стать именно SE HBH-610, стоит она чуть дороже, но имеет привлекательный дизайн, DSP, Bluetooth 2.0. Посему вряд ли PV-705 будет явным победителем в сегменте «до 60 долларов» – все-таки, ее дизайн не привлекает особого внимания (думаю, те, кто видел гарнитуру, с этим согласятся). Но продавцам стоит говорить покупателям именно о времени разговора (конкурентов пока просто нет) и качестве передачи речи. На мой взгляд, хорошие продажи возможны в случае, если эти моменты будут раскрываться в процессе консультации.   

Технические характеристики:

  • Вес: около14 г.
  • Время работы в режиме разговора: 12 часов
  • Время работы в режиме ожидания: 300 часов
  • Способ ношения: с заушником
  • Профиль Bluetooth: 1.2
  • Размеры: длина около 60 мм.

Сергей Кузьмин (skuzmin@mobile-review.com)
Опубликовано —10 октября 2006 г.

 

Мы в социальных сетях:

Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

 
Новости:
Hit

25.07.2017 Посиделки по вторникам №172. Потерянные посылки

25.07.2017 «Яндекс.Такси» запустился в Молдавии

25.07.2017 Почта России расследует факт обнаружения вскрытых посылок в Ростове-на-Дону

24.07.2017 Panasonic превратит японские автобусные остановки в островки тумана

24.07.2017 Обновление Telegram принесло исчезающие медиа файлы

24.07.2017 Microsoft прекращает поддержку Paint и еще ряда программ

24.07.2017 Британский виртуальный оператор мобильной связи Lycamobile пришел на украинский рынок

24.07.2017 Минкультуры предложило взимать авторский сбор с умных часов

24.07.2017 В сеть просочились «живые» фото защищенного смартфона Samsung Galaxy S8 Active

24.07.2017 UMIDIGI представила новый компактный смартфон – C2 с достаточно функциональной начинкой

21.07.2017 Facebook работает над модульным смартфоном

21.07.2017 iPhone получат L-образные аккумуляторы от LG

21.07.2017 Государственные сайты получат единый шрифт и оформление

21.07.2017 «Вконтакте» запустила десктопный мессенджер

21.07.2017 Банк Хоум Кредит запустил онлайн-площадку по оформлению товаров в рассрочку

21.07.2017 Закон о запрете анонимазайров принят Госдумой в окончательном чтении

Hit

21.07.2017 «Железная» составляющая ASUS Zenfone 3 Zoom

21.07.2017 LG Q8 – компактный флагман в металлическом водонепроницаемом корпусе и дополнительным дисплеем

21.07.2017 Qualcomm лишилась 40% прибыли из-за конфликта с Apple

21.07.2017 Новый закон о мессенджерах позволит блокировать отдельных пользователей по решению суда

21.07.2017 23 августа Samsung представит новый Galaxy Note

20.07.2017 В России стартовали продажи компактного безрамочного смартфона DOOGEE MIX с двойной камерой

20.07.2017 JP Morgan: iPhone 8 выйдет вовремя, но ограниченной партией

20.07.2017 Консоли Sega и Atari поступят в магазины осенью

20.07.2017 Amazon Spark - соцсеть для совершения покупок

Подписка
 
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2017. All rights reserved.