facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials


Rambler's Top100

Review of GSM-handset Sony Ericsson W380i

Live photos of Sony Ericsson W380i

Table of contents:

  1. Positioning
  2. Design, size, controls
  3. Display
  4. Keypad
  5. Battery
  6. USB
  7. Bluetooth
  8. Memory, Memory cards
  9. Performance
  10. Camera
  11. Gesture Control
  12. Preinstalled applications, themes
  13. Music department
  14. Impressions

Sales package:

  • Handset
  • Charger
  • Wired headset (HPM-65, color-keyed to the casing)
  • USB data cable
  • 512 Mb M2 memory card
  • User Guide

Positioning

Sony Ericssons Walkman series has always been targeting the more savvy part of the audience those who value not only sound quality but also visual appeal in their phones. Interestingly, the latest and greatest devices in this line-up often put fashion above music, although the latter is still of some interest as far as software goes. The epitome of this approach is the sliding Sony Ericsson W910i, whose offbeat design, skinny profile and extended player functionality arent quite backed up by the quality of sonic experience it offers. While its overall specs are decent, its audio is nothing to write home about. But what seems to be a crucial letdown on flagship devices couldnt be more welcome in low-tier solutions. Plausible sound quality can grab a lot of ears, but it all comes down to what this phone actually packs under its hood and how hefty its price tag is. Thats the area where Sony Ericsson hasnt seen much success for instance, take the entry-level Sony Ericsson W200i with its eye-candy design and fairly good sound quality that could trump the competition in its class hands-down, being marred by the fact that for 200 USD its owners got the same feature pack as that available with offerings going for half as much. This huge gap couldnt be justified, neither by the W200is bundled speakers, nor by a pair of decent headphones that came boxed with it. So, since it was out of demand in the segment it had originally been meant for, it ended up competing with better, yet not particularly music-savvy solutions - after all, music is only one of the things that make todays phones.

Another attempt to enter the 200 USD segment has materialized in the form of the Sony Ericsson W380i. It wouldnt be right to state that it is the first affordable folding Walkman handset, as the market already had the Sony Ericsson W300i that was relatively successful, but was no big thing in the makers portfolio. It was rather a neat phone with no critical omissions or shortcomings, whose selling points were design and price tag in fact, very few viewed it as a music-centric device. Thats why the maker has resolved to really highlight the new model's music department; and the only way to do that was to bring music controls to the front fascia.

Speaking of the 200 USD price bracket we don't mean what the W380i will go for upon its debut, but the money that will buy you this phone in 8-9 month's time, when its price will get almost halved. We wonder, though, whether someone will seriously consider it as a possible way to go right now with its price tag of 240-320 USD it is way out of line as far as this price bracket goes.

Based on the experience of previous devices, we can infer that the W380is primary audience is youth (men for the most part) and students. But Sony Ericsson couldnt pass up the opportunity to bring along another iteration of the W380i for fashion-conscious girls as you probably have already guessed, it is the Sony Ericsson Z555i with its reflective surface decked out in shiny squares. Curiously, pretty much similar look-and-feel is offered by the Sony Ericsson Z770i, although it is a bird of a different color positioned way above the W380i and very different from it on all fronts on top of that.

That said, the W380i targets 11-22 year old males and will also look to appeal to young girls and women of the same age.

Back to the table of contents >>>

Design, size, controls

The W380i just feels so Sony Ericsson with the slope at the base of the casing, just like the one on the Sony Ericsson W910i and some cues adopted from the latter here and there. Since it has youth as its main audience, matte plastic doesnt seem out of place in the W380i while it is relatively inexpensive, thanks to the pattern stamped on it, player controls and a glossy insert, it doesnt look cheap whatsoever. All up, as far as design is considered, the Sony Ericsson W380i is vastly different from the ocean of folding phones out there, its curves and lines are unparalleled, which is already worth something.

The phone comes in a choice of two colors - Electric Purple and Magnetic Grey. Both are not without a certain aesthetic appeal.

The W380is front plate houses the lens of a 1.3 Mpix camera along with the loudspeaker and an array of music controls, which are all touch-sensitive, and as long as they are locked (enable them with the help of the toggle on the back) no matter how you press them, you wont get any feedback. Once you unlock them, however, pressing the Play key will start playback and bring current songs name to the outer display. A nice touch to the W380is player controls is that when unlocked they provide decent tactile feedback, as the phone vibrates a little every time you tap one of the keys we were surprised that it felt almost as if we were punching a mechanical button. When out of use, the controls get locked automatically.

The outer display is mounted beneath the casings matte plastic and when inactive prefers to keep very low profile. It is a 128x36 pixel OLED unit with white backlight, although it doesnt look white, all thanks to the layer of plastic sitting on top of it for example in our Electric Purple flavor it swayed more towards blue hues. This screens backlight power is just enough for indoors use, but as soon as you step outside with the sun barely shining, this single-line display gets washed out completely. This is by far the worst thing about the W380s external display tilting the phone didnt help either. All in all, it is just another example when substance has been sacrificed in favor of visual appeal.

The handset measures in at 92x48x16 mm and tips our scales at 100 grams. It readily slips into a trousers pocket and certainly wont weigh you down. The W380i also felt robust in the hand, and we have no grips with its build quality. On the downside, we were somewhat disappointed about its plastic being exposed to wear and tear, so it loses its pristine conditions two weeks into use in our case it was the battery cover, although the damage was light, as we could tell that there were some scuffs only after a close inspection. On the other hand, should it spend a year in your pocket or so, these worn spots will be visible even to a naked eye, although the front fascia is unlikely to suffer from this problem.

The W380i has a tendency to creak in the hands at times, although it is largely due to its battery compartment cover; overall, it doesnt feel rock solid, but as we have just mentioned its build quality was never an issue.

The left-hand spine sports the Fast Port connector; the M2 memory expansion slot is perched underneath the battery cover; on the right are the volume rocker and the lanyard eyelet.

Opening the W380i single-handedly is pretty much a breeze, although you will need some time to master it. It turned out that some people didnt find it convenient in this sense, while others simply paid no attention to its folder action.

Back to the table of contents >>>

Display

Since the W380i is an entry-level solution, it has no QVGA display and enjoys a 176x220 pixel screen (1.9 inches, 262 K colors, TFT), that can accommodate up to 7 text and 4 service lines. The picture quality is quite mediocre, on top of that it is somewhat grainy, yet fares well in the sun all in all, a typical low-tier device.

Back to the table of contents >>>

Keypad

The number pad is made of glossy plastic; unfortunately, the travel distance is disappointingly short, but other than that, the W380is keypad is a breeze to handle. All keys are lit in white, plus the phone includes an ambient light sensor nested on the displays right.

Back to the table of contents >>>

Battery

The back cover firmly sits in its slot, and is easy to open. Removing it reveals a 930 mAh Li-Ion battery (BST-39). As the maker claims, the W380i provides up to 350 hours of standby and up to 9 hours of talk time. In Moscow its battery life averaged two and a half days with moderate use (up to 1 hour of calls, about 30 minutes of games and 20 minutes of browsing). Should you get heavier on its features, you will need to recharge once every 1.5 days or so. And if you cut your total call time to the very minimum, the battery will stay up and running for about 3-4 days, but thats an improbable scenario. Within the European networks the device will last for at least twice as long in all modes thanks to better coverage. Continuous music playback drains the battery in 15 hours. Its takes the W380i a tad under 2 hours to charge up.

Back to the table of contents >>>

USB

Upon linking the W380 with your PC via USB you will be forced to pick connection type specifically whether you will be accessing data stored on the memory card or just keep managing the phone or activate Print mode. For the first mode, we mentioned above the handset turns off, and you gain access to the contents of both the memory card and the phones internal storage. Despite the maker claiming that the W380i supports USB 2.0, data transfer speed doesnt exceed 500 Kb/s. If you just want your W380i to turn into a modem, then pick the second option, where you will have a chance to play around with various USB settings for going online.

Back to the table of contents >>>

Bluetooth

The handset comes with EDR-enabled Bluetooth 2.0, the menu enables you to turn on enhanced power saving mode. There is also A2DP support, which allows employing wireless headsets with the W380i. Below is the list of supported profiles:

  • A2DP;
  • Basic Imaging Profile;
  • Basic Printing Profile;
  • Dial-Up Networking Profile;
  • File Transfer Profile;
  • Generic Access Profile;
  • Generic Object Exchange Profile;
  • Handsfree Profile;
  • Headset Profile;
  • HID;
  • JSR-82 Java API;
  • Object Push Profile;
  • Personal Area Network Profile;
  • Serial Port Profile;
  • Service Discovery Application Profile;
  • Synchronization Profile;
  • SyncML OBEX binding.

Back to the table of contents >>>

Memory, Memory cards

The handset ships with about 15 Mb of user-manageable memory; the retail package includes a 512 Mb M2 memory card (the W380i can handle memory cards up to 2 Gb). Plus, you can always swap cards on the go;

Back to the table of contents >>>

Performance

The W380i puts up typical numbers for the companys current generation of devices, being ahead of most models available on the market. There are no limits on JAR-file size, while HEAP size can range from 512 Kb to 1.5 Mb.

Back to the table of contents >>>

Camera

The W380is camera is no bells and whistles at 1.3 Mpix with no video recording capabilities. Among supported resolutions are 1280x1024 pixels, 640x480 and 320x240; two compression settings, a bunch of overlays (B&W, Negative, Sepia), and white balance. Other than that, we dont have much to add about this handsets camera.

(+) maximize, 12801024, JPEG (+) maximize, 12801024, JPEG
(+) maximize, 12801024, JPEG (+) maximize, 12801024, JPEG
(+) maximize, 12801024, JPEG (+) maximize, 12801024, JPEG
(+) maximize, 12801024, JPEG (+) maximize, 12801024, JPEG
(+) maximize, 12801024, JPEG (+) maximize, 12801024, JPEG

Back to the table of contents >>>

Gesture Control

One of the interesting things about the W380i is so-called gesture control its disabled by default, but you can always change that from the Settings menu. Basically, when you are receiving a call, or the alarm clock triggers off, a bright white LED sitting next to the camera springs into life, so that when you swing your hand above it, the phone will mute the sound a quite similar ability is available with the Nokia 8800 Arte, where by turning the phone face-down you can reject calls.

But as far as the W380i goes, this gesture control feature is more a gimmick that is of no real use. Some might really fall for this functionality, but I doubt feats like this will become all the rage any time soon.

Back to the table of contents >>>

Preinstalled applications, themes

The W380i runs Sony Ericssons previous platform A100. Learn more about its standard abilities, features and applications in our special write-up.

Comparison of S40 3rd Edition and Sony Ericsson A100 platforms

There are three games coming pre-installed with the W380 - Sims 2, QuadraPop, Extreme Air Snowboard.

Also the phone packs in Music Mate2.

Back to the table of contents >>>

Music department

Unlike the vast majority of low-tier phones in this class, the W380i comes boxed with pretty decent earphones the HPM-65. The handset sports Walkman 2.0 onboard, and we could hardly expect it to pack in something different. The music quality (by the way it can handle wireless headphones too) is quite average, plus its volume level has obviously been lifted up, as compared to other models in this line-up. I see no point in going over the players standard suite of features you will find more about them in our dedicated review of this platform.

On the plus side, the W380i also comes equipped with RDS-enabled FM-radio.

Back to the table of contents >>>

Impressions

The W380is ring tones volume was never an issue its speaker fared well in most environments. The reception quality was nothing to complain about either. Our only gripe is with the phones vibro alert, which occasionally proves to be on the weak side.

The question is, who is going to buy the W380i two-three months into its sales basically, after dealing with the first surge of interest, Sony Ericsson will run into exactly the same problem as with the W200i. Its affordable music-savvy device will be a step behind such solutions as the Nokia 6131/6267 that retail at the same price point. What is superior: music or bigger screen and a bunch of extra feats? The jury is still out on that. Another thing of note is that the segment the Sony Ericsson W380i is stepping into is crowded with other folder-type phones, and in this case its off-the-wall looks can well play a mean joke on it. Like it usually happens, standout things get both zealous followers and haters, but they rarely become really popular. For 340 USD (while its fashion-conscious edition, the Z555i, retails for 275 USD), the W380i isnt exactly an affordable offering. Actually, we wouldnt tell you the whole truth if we called it well-balanced in terms of the price/quality ratio. All in all, this handset is nearly a perfect choice for students, but looking at todays youth I have to admit that their tastes and preferences are vastly different from mine or those of phone makers.

Related links:

Comparison of S40 3rd Edition and Sony Ericsson A100 platforms

Review of GSM-handset Sony Ericsson W580i

Review of GSM-handset Nokia 6131

Back to the table of contents >>>

Eldar Murtazin (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Translated by Oleg Kononosov (oleg.kononosov@mobile-review.com)

Published — 03 April 2008

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

News:

[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean

Subscribe

Register | Lost password?

E-mail


Password




Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

podcast quotes-left quotes-right search menu arrow-up arrow-up2 google-plus3 facebook2 instagram telegram twitter vk youtube android rss2

Обзор GSM-телефона Sony Ericsson W380i

Фотографии Sony Ericsson W380i в интерьере

Содержание:

  1. Позиционирование
  2. Дизайн, размеры, управляющие элементы
  3. Дисплей
  4. Клавиатура
  5. Аккумулятор
  6. USB
  7. Bluetooth
  8. Память, карты памяти
  9. Производительность
  10. Камера
  11. Gesture Control – управление жестами
  12. Предустановленные приложения, темы
  13. Музыкальные возможности
  14. Впечатления

Комплект поставки:

  • Телефон
  • Зарядное устройство
  • Проводная гарнитура HPM-65 (в цвет корпуса)
  • USB-кабель
  • Карта памяти М2 512 Мб
  • Инструкция

Позиционирование

Модели серии Walkman изначально ориентировались на взыскательную публику, тех, кто ищет не только звук, но и имидж. В последних аппаратах имидж зачастую ставится выше, чем музыкальная составляющая, хотя и она интересна в программном плане. Ярким примером такого подхода является слайдер Sony Ericsson W910i, при неординарном внешнем виде, небольшом размере, расширенном плеере по сравнению с базовой версией аппарат не предлагает наилучшего звучания на рынке. Выигрывая совокупно по своим характеристикам, в области звука модель не слишком выдающаяся. То, что выглядит как явный недостаток для флагмана, таковым отнюдь не является в бюджетном сегменте. Хорошее качество звука привлекает покупателей, но встает вопрос минимальной цены такого аппарата и его умений. Опыт Sony Ericsson в этой области скорее негативен. Можно вспомнить бюджетный моноблок Sony Ericsson W200i, его отличал приятный дизайн, минимум функций и неплохое звучание плеера, выигрывающее у всех моделей того же класса. Аппарат не стал продаваемым, так как при цене почти в 200 долларов он имел функции, характерные для телефонов стоимостью около 100 долларов. Двухкратная разница в стоимости не оправдывалась ни колонками в комплекте поставки, ни качественными наушниками. Для этого сегмента телефон не был востребован, конкурировал с более сильными, пусть и не музыкальными моделями. Ведь музыка – это только одна из составляющих современного телефона и отнюдь не главная.

Вторая попытка освоить сегмент около 200 долларов – это модель Sony Ericsson W380i. Наверное, говорить о том, что этот телефон – первый недорогой Walkman в форм-факторе раскладушки, нельзя, ранее уже была модель Sony Ericsson W300i. Она стала относительно популярна, но не снискала особой славы. Приятная модель без особых изъянов, которая привлекала своим дизайном и демократичной стоимостью. В качестве музыкального решения она рассматривалась единицами. Из этого был сделан вывод, что необходимо заострить в новой модели внимание на музыкальных функциях, а добиться этого можно только вынеся наружу элементы управления.

Говоря про сегмент в 200 долларов, мы оперируем не изначальной стоимостью модели, а ее позиционированием через 8-9 месяцев после начала продаж, когда стоимость снизится почти вдвое. Остается открытым вопрос, будет ли вообще спрос на эту модель при цене в 320-340 долларов, уж больно она не соответствует этой ценовой группе. Уже в марте этого года мы сможем понять этот вопрос.

Из опыта продаж предыдущих аппаратов было понятно, что основной аудиторией для подобного решения станет молодежь, преимущественно юноши. Причем это как школьники, так и студенты. Для них эта модель и создавалась. Не обошлось и без вариаций аппарата для модных девушек, таким вариантом можно смело считать Sony Ericsson Z555i с зеркальной поверхностью в ромбиках. Если окинуть весь модельный ряд, то со сходной эстетикой существует модель Sony Ericsson Z770i, но она позиционируется значительно выше и сильно отличается от рассматриваемого аппарата.

Получается, что мы имеем дело с раскладушкой для юношей от 11 до 22 лет, с вторичным фокусом на девушках того же возраста.

К содержанию >>>

Дизайн, размеры, управляющие элементы

Эстетика этой модели выдержана в духе линейки от Sony Ericsson, скошенный нижний угол сходен с Sony Ericsson W910i, в чем-то перекликается дизайн. Ориентирование на молодежь сделало оправданным использование матового пластика, он недорогой, но за счет узора, внешних клавиш, а также глянцевой вставки на нижнем торце впечатления дешевизны не возникает. Модель отличается по дизайну от огромного количества существующих раскладушек, у нее нет ни одного подобия на рынке, что уже само по себе является достижением.

Аппарат выпускается в двух цветовых решениях – фиолетовом (Electric Purple), темно-сером (Magnetic Grey). Оба цвета выглядят интересно.

На лицевой поверхности находится объектив 1.3-мегапиксельной камеры, тут же – динамик, а также ряд музыкальных клавиш. Кнопки сенсорные, нажать на них нельзя, вы не почувствуете никакой отдачи. По умолчанию эти клавиши заблокированы, на задней стороне есть рычажок, с его помощью можно разблокировать клавиатуру. Тогда при нажатии на клавишу Play начнется воспроизведение и на внешнем экране появится название композиции. В разблокированном состоянии сенсорные клавиши имеют отдачу, телефон вибрирует, и создается полная иллюзия нажатий. Очень приятно и удобно. Через некоторое время клавиши вновь блокируются.

Внешний дисплей скрыт под матовым пластиком корпуса, в неактивном состоянии он не виден. Экран имеет разрешение 128х36 точек, это OLED-дисплей с подсветкой белого цвета. За счет корпуса цвет выглядит не белым. В нашем варианте – пастельным, в фиолетовом отдает немного синим. В помещении этот однострочный дисплей хорошо различим, подсветки вполне достаточно. Но стоит выйти на улицу, хотя бы на не очень яркое солнце, и на экране нельзя ничего рассмотреть. Это самый большой минус внешнего дисплея в этом аппарате, он мало читаем. Не помогает поиск «хороших» углов обзора, отсутствие прозрачного окошка дисплея делает такое поведение нормой. Это очевидный пример того, как эргономикой пожертвовали в пользу внешней привлекательности.

На внешнем экране отображается информация о различных событиях, например, пропущенных звонках, полученных сообщениях. Если событие одно, то указывается номер, с которого поступил звонок, либо подставляется имя из телефонной книги. Размера дисплея не хватает для полного отображения номера в международном формате либо имени, информация прокручивается. Это не раздражает, все, что нужно, видно.

Размер телефона – 92х49х16 мм, вес – 100 грамм. Аппарат легко помещается в карман брюк, рубашки, носить его удобно. Качество сборки хорошее, не вызывает никаких нареканий. Другое дело, что использованный пластик со временем вытирается, на матовых поверхностях появляются залысины. В нашем аппарате за две недели немного вытерся пластик на задней поверхности, но видно это только при очень внимательном изучении. С другой стороны, через год вытертых зон, видимо, будет достаточно, и они станут заметными. Их появление на лицевой поверхности выглядит маловероятным.

В руках аппарат может поскрипывать, сказывается крепление крышки аккумулятора. Модель не производит впечатления крепко сбитой, как говорится, монолитной. Но она и не должна быть таковой, качество сборки действительно неплохое, хорошее, как и указывалось выше.

На левой боковой стороне находится интерфейсный разъем Fast Port, под крышкой аккумулятора – разъем для карт памяти М2. На правой стороне – спаренная клавиша регулировки громкости, а также отверстие для ремешка.

Раскрыть аппарат легко одной рукой, правда, к этому процессу необходимо приспособиться. Кому-то модель по этому параметру не нравится, кто-то не обращает на это внимания.

К содержанию >>>

Дисплей

Аппарат является бюджетным решением, отсюда отсутствие ставшего привычным по большинству продуктов QVGA-экрана, в W380i диагональ дисплея – 1.9 дюйма, а разрешение – 176х220 точек (262К, TFT). На экране помещается до 7 строк текста и до 4 служебных строк. Качество картинки среднее, она зернистая, модель явно не рекордсмен по этому показателю, типично бюджетное решение. На солнце экран остается читаем.

К содержанию >>>

Клавиатура

Цифровые кнопки из глянцевого пластика, у них минимальный ход, но в целом работа с ними не доставляет проблем. Подсветка клавиш белого цвета, есть датчик освещенности, он расположен слева от экрана. Блок функциональных клавиш также по эргономике не вызывает нареканий.

К содержанию >>>

Аккумулятор

Задняя крышка не имеет люфта, ее легко открыть. Внутри размещается литий-ионная батарея BST-39, ее емкость – 930 мАч. По заявлению производителя, время работы аппарата в режиме ожидания составляет до 300 часов, в режиме разговора – до 7 часов. В условиях московских сетей аппарат работал в среднем два с половиной дня при умеренной нагрузке (до часа разговоров, около 30 минут игр, 20 минут использования браузера). Большая нагрузка означает, что вам придется подзаряжать аппарат раз в два дня. В то же время совсем малое число разговоров означает, что телефон может проработать до 3-4 дней, но это маловероятный сценарий. В европейских сетях время работы будет выше как минимум в два раза во всех режимах вследствие лучшего покрытия сетей. Время проигрывания музыки составляет до 15 часов. Полное время зарядки аккумулятора – чуть менее двух часов.

К содержанию >>>

USB

При USB-подключении вы в принудительном порядке должны выбрать, будет ли осуществляться доступ к файлам на карте памяти, это режим передачи данных, или продолжится работа с телефоном, либо включается режим Print (печать фотографий). В первом случае телефон отключается, вы видите карту памяти и память телефона. Несмотря на заявленную поддержку USB 2.0, скорость передачи данных не превышает 500 Кб/с. Во втором случае присутствуют различные настройки USB для осуществления доступа в сеть, телефон выступает в качестве модема.

К содержанию >>>

Bluetooth

Bluetooth в данной модели версии 2 и поддерживает EDR, в меню можно выставить режим повышенного энергосбережения. Поддерживается и профиль A2DP, что позволяет использовать беспроводные стереонаушники. Модель поддерживает следующие профили:

  • A2DP;
  • Basic Imaging Profile;
  • Basic Printing Profile;
  • Dial-Up Networking Profile;
  • File Transfer Profile;
  • Generic Access Profile;
  • Generic Object Exchange Profile;
  • Handsfree Profile;
  • Headset Profile;
  • HID;
  • JSR-82 Java API;
  • Object Push Profile;
  • Personal Area Network Profile;
  • Serial Port Profile;
  • Service Discovery Application Profile;
  • Synchronization Profile;
  • SyncML OBEX binding.

К содержанию >>>

Память, карты памяти

Телефон имеет порядка 15 Мб памяти, доступной пользователю, в комплект входит карта М2 объемом 512 Мб. Поддерживается «горячая» замена карт памяти, максимальный объем карт составляет 2 Гб.

К содержанию >>>

Производительность

Типичная производительность для этого поколения устройств компании, положительно отличается от большинства моделей, представленных на рынке. Ограничений на размер JAR-файла нет, размер HEAP – от 512 Кб до 1.5 Мб.

К содержанию >>>

Камера

Простейшая камера с разрешением 1.3 мегапикселя, у нее даже отсутствует режим съемки видео. Поддерживаются три разрешения снимков – 1280х1024 точки, 640х480, а также 320х240 точек. Есть два типа сжатия файлов, эффекты (B&W, Negative, Sepia), баланс белого. Говорить о камере, в общем-то, нечего, ее присутствие номинально, снимки средние по качеству для такого продукта.

(+) увеличить, 1280х1024, JPEG (+) увеличить, 1280х1024, JPEG
(+) увеличить, 1280х1024, JPEG (+) увеличить, 1280х1024, JPEG
(+) увеличить, 1280х1024, JPEG (+) увеличить, 1280х1024, JPEG
(+) увеличить, 1280х1024, JPEG (+) увеличить, 1280х1024, JPEG
(+) увеличить, 1280х1024, JPEG (+) увеличить, 1280х1024, JPEG

К содержанию >>>

Gesture Control – управление жестами

Одна из необычных функций – это контроль жестов. По умолчанию он отключен, но в настройках его можно активировать. При звонке или звуке будильника рядом с камерой загорается яркий белый светодиод. Достаточно провести рукой над камерой, и звук сигнала будет заглушен. Нечто подобное есть только в Nokia 8800 Arte, там, переворачивая аппарат дисплеем вниз, вы отказываетесь от приема входящего звонка.

В этой модели практической пользы от такого управления с помощью жестов нет. Это скорее фишка, чем реально востребованная функция. Другое дело, что кому-то это может сильно понравиться, но вряд ли в ближайшее время такая функция станет широко востребованной на рынке.

К содержанию >>>

Предустановленные приложения, темы

Модель построена на предыдущей версии платформы от Sony Ericsson, а именно А100. Отсюда вытекают все ее возможности, с ними можно ознакомиться в отдельном материале.

Сравнение интерфейсов S40 3d Edition и Sony Ericsson A100

Игры представлены тремя приложениями – Sims 2, QuadraPop, Extreme Air Snowboard.

Также есть приложение Music Mate2.

К содержанию >>>

Музыкальные возможности

Хорошие наушники в комплекте, не свойственные бюджетным или недорогим аппаратам такого рода, это модель HPM-65. Плеер – Walkman 2.0, но иного было сложно и ожидать, поддерживается работа с беспроводными наушниками. Качество воспроизведения музыки среднее, при этом явно завышена громкость, максимальная громкость чуть выше, чем на других моделях линейки. Описывать подробно возможности плеера не имеет смысла, это сделано в описании платформы.

Присутствует FM-радио с поддержкой RDS.

К содержанию >>>


Впечатления

Громкость звонка неплоха, телефон слышно в большинстве ситуаций, вряд ли вы пропустите звонок. С приемом сигнала также все на уровне современных моделей, проблем не было за все время никаких. Виброзвонок не очень удачный, иногда пропускаешь его, не чувствуешь.

Основной вопрос, который возникает относительно этого аппарата, – кто его будет покупать через 2-3 месяца после начала продаж. Ведь удовлетворив первый спрос, компания столкнется ровно с той же проблемой, что была и у Sony Ericsson W200i. То есть недорогой и музыкальный аппарат будет проигрывать таким решениям, как Nokia 6131/6267 при сравнимой стоимости. Что выбрать, музыку или больший экран и ряд других возможностей? Вопрос остается открытым. На рынке есть много раскладушек в этом сегменте, и тут необычность внешнего вида Sony Ericsson W380i может сыграть злую шутку. Не секрет, что вещи выбивающиеся, заметные зачастую имеют ярых поклонников или противников, но они крайне редко становятся по-настоящему массовыми. Думаю, что и этот аппарат становится всего лишь одним из предложений от Sony Ericsson. У него есть дизайнерская версия – Sony Ericsson Z555i (275 долларов). За 340 долларов (8000 рублей) модель получилась не слишком дешевой. Авантюрой было бы назвать ее при этом хорошо сбалансированной по соотношению цена/качество, этот аппарат на любителя. Для школьника средних классов такая модель будет почти идеальна. Однако, поглядывая на младое поколение, понимаю, что их представления о прекрасном сильно разнятся с таковыми как у меня, так и у производителей. Стоимость слишком высока, чтобы Sony Ericsson W380i стал заметным явлением на рынке.

Ссылки по теме:

Сравнение интерфейсов S40 3d Edition и Sony Ericsson A100

Обзор GSM-телефона Sony Ericsson W580i

Обзор GSM-телефона Nokia 6131

К содержанию >>>

Эльдар Муртазин (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Twitter    Instagram    Блог MrMurtazin.com

Опубликовано — 14 марта 2008 г.

 

Мы в социальных сетях:

Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

Новости:
Hit

26.05.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор Micromax BOLT Warrior 2

26.05.2017 Huawei представила смартфоны Nova 2 и Nova 2 Plus

26.05.2017 Nokia 9 будет иметь версию с 8 ГБ оперативной памяти

26.05.2017 Стэнфордский университет подтвердил, что гаджеты плохо считают калории

26.05.2017 Информация о защищенном Galaxy S8 Active случайно «всплыла» на сайте Wireless Power Consortium

26.05.2017 Google Photos установлены более одного миллиарда раз

26.05.2017 Энди Рубин представит свое новое детище 30 мая

26.05.2017 Lenovo не будет сворачивать производство телефонов под собственным брендом

26.05.2017 Центробанк предложил рассматривать криптовалюты как цифровой товар

26.05.2017 Ростелеком вложит 200 миллионов рублей в разработку биометрической идентификации

Hit

25.05.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор Micromax BOLT warrior 1 plus

25.05.2017 Mail.Ru выпустила мессенджер TamTam

25.05.2017 «Билайн» предлагает смартфоны Samsung по спеццене

25.05.2017 Представлен 6,44-дюймовый фаблет Xiaomi Mi Max 2

Hit

25.05.2017 Видео на канале: Знакомство с Xiaomi Mi Mix 18K

Hit

25.05.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор Nokia 3310 (2017)

25.05.2017 Tele2 снижает стоимость корпоративных тарифов в Москве

25.05.2017 ESET: мошенники раздают на WhatsApp годовую подписку на Netflix

25.05.2017 Panasonic анонсировал тонкие полузащищенные бизнес-ноутбуки Toughbook CF-54mk3

24.05.2017 Sony объявила о старте продаж своего нового 6-дюймового смартфона Xperia XA1 Ultra

24.05.2017 В Госдуму внесен законопроект о регулировании работы мессенджеров

Hit

24.05.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор Asus ZenFone 3 Max

Hit

24.05.2017 Видео на канале: Пример работы Android Pay в России

Hit

24.05.2017 Видео на канале: Комментарий Андрея Кормильцева по поводу Android Pay и HTC U11

24.05.2017 Apple и Nokia урегулировали свои споры

Подписка
 
   
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2017. All rights reserved.