facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials


Rambler's Top100
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Print this review

First look. Sony Ericsson Anzu - X12

Sony Ericsson's Android devices are beginning to grow in numbers and still trying to keep up in the OS's race that Google starts with a new version every few months. So far all the XPERIA Android devices were relying more on their design and features rather than Android version in order to attract as many customers as they could.

This approach was neither a successful nor a failed one since the sales generated from these phones where at least acceptable for the manufacturer's position on the market.

Here we have one of the next generation devices from Sony Ericsson that will try to fill the top end of their lineup for the first months of 2011. X12 or Anzu will hit the market with 2.2 Froyo and will probably be updated to 2.3 Gingerbread at some point in the late summer of 2011. At least this time, the device will come out with the Android version found in most other high-end devices and the majority of these phones will not be updated to Gingerbread yet. However, by the time X12 hits the market, there probably will be some new devices already available and running Gingerbread out of the box. Still for Sony Ericsson, being just one OS version behind the others on the release date of X12 is a step forward.

At this time, the device still runs on 2.1 Eclair, for engineering purposes. Even though, this is the official explanation from Sony Ericsson it does raise some questions since this being a prototype, no one would expect smooth operation from it, so using 2.2 Froyo on it even in a development stage would have made more sense.

Some of the leaked features of the device are far from true since Sony Ericsson's attempt was never to create a Galaxy S "killer" or a high end device from a hardware point of view. It is rather an attempt to improve the design and features standard set with X10. For that purpose the device got thinner, lighter, with a larger display, this time supporting multitouch out of the box and with some improvements to the camera and interface.

However, the device runs on an MSM7230 chipset from Qualcomm and not the QSD8250 Snapdragon the X10 used. This new chipset offers the same CPU Core named "Scorpion", but in a lower maximum frequency of 800MHz instead of the 1GHz of the QSD8250 used in X10.

While this may seem as a downgrade (this chipset is a mid level solution from Qualcomm) at a time when the new generation of top end chipsets the will offer 2 cores, it does offer some improvements. Just as the Desire Z from HTC running on the same platform it offers a smoother and more optimized operation, with all the graphic elements of Android presented without any lagging of any kind. The chipsets multimedia capabilities are equal to the ones offered by the QSD8250 but with some improvements. The chipset can now encodes 720p video in H264 smoothly and offers increased playback times for both audio and video while being optimized for decoding DIVX and XVID videos.

However, since this prototype unit is free of any custom UI from Sony Ericsson, stock Android is expected to run fast. Whether this speed is intact on the production version of the device remains to be seen.

1080p video was never one of X12's possible features since the platform needed for its support is still under development and only Samsung will be able to provide this kind of technology not based on a Qualcomm chipset in the first months of 2011.

So what does that leave the X12 with? 720p video recording is again on board and this time it will be much smoother and reliable than in X10, since X12 hardware is optimized for this – it is not just a software improvement as it was in X10 or the original Desire from HTC.

The camera is supposed to be a 12MP unit, however at this stage it does not work properly - the viewfinder gets distorted and the image resolution is limited to 3MP. The same goes for video recording, the device captures only at 352 x 288.

Much of the multimedia capabilities of the phone are still in need to be fine tuned and optimized to run on the new hardware. The question is how Sony Ericsson will find the time, resources and money to do all these twice again, for both 2.2 and 2.3 versions of Android.

As for the design, as we already mentioned, the device is thinner, lighter and has a bigger screen in diagonal. It feels differently in hand than X10 although different doesn't necessarily mean better. The smaller weight makes X12 loose some of the "quality" sensation given by the X10 and the plastics used offer a nice looking glossy finish while being on par with the plastic quality used in all current Sony Ericsson phones. In this aspect, it is a step back from the nicely manufactured and designed X10 in order to provide a slimmer more "aerial" design and feel. Since some of these things may change until the phone hits the market, we will wait and see if Sony Ericsson will realize for once some of the mistakes made in most of their phones.

The X12 features a 4.3" screen with 854 x 480 resolution similar in specs to the one used in X10. The diagonal grew, but the colour reproduction is similar and this time the screen supports multitouch without software tweaks, on hardware level, thanks to the touch sensitive layer above the screen, to be exact. However, since Sony Ericsson does not have and probably won't have at any point access to AMOLED screens (or S-AMOLED ) and they seem reluctant for some reason, not to be explained here, to use S-LCDs, what we are left with is a usual display with mirroring of the black colour, decent, but not great viewing angles. Of course, all of these details will play a part in the device sales success when it will come across Galaxy S and especially its successor, which will offer better experience and basically the same amount of money.

And that is the problem with Sony Ericsson as a company and the X12 as a particular product. Now days they come to the market each time offering less than their competitors and always relying on software tweaks and design to outsell their rivals. If that wasn't wrong enough, this time they cut back on aesthetics and actual quality of the materials used, they rely even more on software (still an open bet if it will be delivered on time) and on design, without creating anything new, but rather by just improving an already used design which did not help them the first time around.

Going against Desire HD is a suicide since the HTC Sense in the version found in both Desire HD and Desire Z is far superior in design and features than the custom UI shell used in Xperia Android devices.

Adding to that , the much better build quality and problem free devices from HTC have already started to shift the image of the company for the better, something that cannot be said for Sony Ericsson and all the software and hardware problems in most of its current and recent product lineup .

Going against the Galaxy S is also a suicide committed by blowing yourself up with a stick of dynamite, considering that the X12 will face both Galaxy S and its successor on the market. Even now Galaxy S offers much better features coupled with a superb screen and the only drawbacks are some of its software problems, which, by the way, didn't prevent the device from being the best seller for Samsung.

Not long after the X12 hits the shelves across Europe, i9100 will see the light of day as the new flagship from Samsung and will offer all the characteristics that X12 was believed to have, but of course it doesn't. The Super AMOLED screen will be improved, the hardware will be upgraded to a mind blowing level and its multimedia features will make most current devices look outdated.

As a teaser let us all be reminded that the hardware used in Galaxy S now is capable of 1080p video playback, a capability used only in Galaxy TAB. This was not a mistake from Samsung, but rather a conscientious choice.

So what's left for Sony Ericsson and the X12? Some of the momentum created years ago in many markets still holds in some of them at least enough for the networks and local retail stores to trust Sony Ericsson and buy one of their devices. This momentum is slowing down in some markets and in others it has completely stopped. X12 will only help stopping in more of them and will leave Sony Ericsson lagging behind even more. A device that could easily have been a decent middle range solution (much like Desire Z is for HTC) is thrown into the market to be eaten at the top end and take down the company with it. Its price tag will not be justified with its features in any possible way and the software disadvantages will only disappoint the buyers of the device.

Do you want to talk about this? Please, go to our Forum and let your opinion be known to the author and everybody else.

Martin Elm (martin.elm@mobile-review.com)

Published — 17 November 2010

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

News:

[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean

Subscribe

Register | Lost password?

E-mail


Password




© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

podcast quotes-left quotes-right search menu arrow-up arrow-up2 google-plus3 facebook2 instagram telegram twitter vk youtube android rss2

AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Версия для печати Блоггерам

Первый взгляд на Sony Ericsson Anzu - X12

Количество Андроид устройств Sony Ericsson растет, и компания пытается не отстать в гонке ОС, начинаемой Google заново каждые несколько месяцев. Пока что для привлечения покупателя все устройства серии XPERIA на Андроиде опирались больше на дизайн и функциональность, чем на версию ОС.

Этот подход не принес большого успеха, но и не провалился – продажи этих телефонов были, по меньшей мере, приемлемыми для положения производителя на рынке.

Сегодня у нас в руках представитель следующего поколения устройств Sony Ericsson, который займет верхнюю строчку в табели о рангах SE в первые месяцы 2011 г. X12 или Anzu появится на рынке с 2.2 Froyo и скорее всего будет обновлен до 2.3 Gingerbread летом 2011 г. По крайней мере, в этот раз устройство выйдет с версией Андроида, используемой в других флагманах настоящего времени, и когда большинство из них еще не будут обновлены до Gingerbread, правда, к тому моменту уже появится несколько новых устройств, созданных сразу на Gingerbread. Тем не менее, для Sony Ericsson отставать от других всего на одно поколение Андроида в момент выхода телефона – большой прогресс.

В настоящее время для «инженерных целей» устройство работает на 2.1 Eclair. Эта официальная версия объяснения Sony Ericsson задает больше вопросов, чем на них отвечает – никто не ожидает корректной работы прототипа, так что использование 2.2 Froyo на стадии разработки было бы более логичным.

Некоторые из «утекших» спецификаций аппарата далеки от правды, т.к. Sony Ericsson даже не пытался создать «убийцу» Galaxy S или настоящего флагмана с позиций «железа». Это, скорее, попытка улучшить дизайн и функциональность Х10. Устройство похудело, став тоньше и легче, появился больший дисплей, в этот раз поддерживающий мультитач, есть некоторые улучшения камеры и интерфейса. Однако устройство работает на процессоре MSM7230 от Qualcomm, а не на QSD8250 Snapdragon, используемом X10. Новый процессор имеет то же ядро Scorpion, но с максимальной частотой 800 MГц вместо 1 ГГц в X10.

Хотя это может показаться ухудшением характеристик (это процессор среднего уровня от Qualcomm) в то время, когда новое поколение процессоров-флагманов будет предлагать 2 ядра, на деле это улучшение. Также как в НТС Desire Z, использующем эту же платформу, мы получаем более плавную и оптимизированную работу телефона со всеми графическими элементами Android без малейших задержек. Мультимедиа возможности процессора равны предлагаемым QSD8250, но с улучшениями. Процессор теперь позволяет записывать 720p видео в H264 качественно и дает увеличенное время проигрывания аудио и видео с оптимизацией кодеков DIVX и XVID.

Однако надо заметить, что прототип не имеет интерфейсов Sony Ericsson, а «голый» Android и должен работать быстро. Сохранится ли эта шустрость в финальных версиях продукта, пока непонятно.

Поддержка Х12 1080p видео никогда не будет возможна, поскольку платформа, необходимая для этого, только разрабатывается, и только Samsung сможет представить эту технологию, не основанную на процессорах Qualcomm, в первые месяцы 2011 года.

Что тогда может X12? 720p видеозапись опять поддерживается, и в этот раз все будет гораздо плавнее и надежнее, чем в Х10, поскольку железо в Х12 оптимизировано в этих целях, а не просто добавлена программная надстройка, как это было с Х10 или с НТС Desire.

Теоретически в телефоне установлена 12 МП камера, но на этой стадии она не работает как надо – изображение в видоискателе искажено, и размер снимков ограничен 3 МП. Проблемы и с видеосъемкой – записывается только 352 x 288.

Большая часть мультимедийных функций в телефоне еще нуждается в настройке и оптимизации для работы на новом железе. Вопрос, где Sony Ericsson найдет время, ресурсы и деньги, чтобы сделать это для обеих (2.2 и 2.3) версий Android, остается открытым.

Что касается дизайна, то, как мы уже говорили, устройство тоньше, легче и имеет большую диагональ экрана, чем предшественник. В руке оно лежит по-другому, не как Х10, хотя это не значит, что лучше. Меньший вес заставляет потеряться часть ощущения качества в Х10, и используемый блестящий пластик находится на том же уровне, что и другие современные модели Sony Ericsson. В этом отношении компания сделала шаг назад в сравнении с Х10, чтобы придать продукту более тонкий, «воздушный» вид и ощущение. Поскольку облик еще может измениться к моменту выхода на рынок, подождем и посмотрим, поймет ли Sony Ericsson наконец некоторые ошибки, сделанные в большинстве их новых телефонов.

X12 имеет экран с диагональю 4,3 дюйма, но с разрешением 854 x 480 – тем же, что и в Х10. Количество цветов также осталось тем же, а вот поддержка мультитача стала реальностью благодаря специальному слою на экране. Однако, поскольку Sony Ericsson не имеет и наверное не будет иметь доступа к AMOLED экранам (или S-AMOLED ), и по каким-то причинам, которые тут мы затрагивать не будем, не хочет использовать S-LCD производства Sony, нам остается обычный дисплей с зеркальной подкладкой черного цвета, с приемлемыми, но не отличными углами обозрения. Разумеется, эти «мелочи» будут иметь влияние на продажи устройства, конкурирующего с Galaxy S, а особенно – с его наследником, который предложит лучшую функциональность за те же деньги.

В этом и лежит основа проблем Sony Ericsson как компании и X12 как конкретного продукта. Каждый раз они выходят на рынок, предлагая меньше, чем конкуренты, и рассчитывая на то, что интерфейс и дизайн вытянут продажи. Как будто этого мало, в этот раз сокращениям подверглись внешний вид и качество материалов, расчет идет на софт (еще не факт, что он будет сделан вовремя) и дизайн без создания чего бы то ни было нового, на простые улучшения уже использованного облика, который не очень-то помог продажам и в первый раз.

Конкуренция Х12 с Desire HD - это самоубийство, поскольку новая версия НТС Sense в Desire HD и Desire Z не по-детски сильнее в дизайне и функционале, чем оболочка, используемая в Xperia устройствах на Android.

Добавим к этому, что гораздо лучше сделанные и беспроблемные устройства HTC уже начали менять представления пользователей о компании к лучшему, чего нельзя сказать о Sony Ericsson в свете всех программных и железных проблем во многих современных и недавних продуктах компании.

Конкуренция с Galaxy S тоже самоубийственна, только в этот раз самоубийство совершается палкой динамита засунутой себе в..., если принять во внимание, что конкурировать придется и с Galaxy S, и с его продолжением. Даже сегодня Galaxy S предлагает гораздо более продвинутый функционал вместе с гораздо лучшим дисплеем и единственными недостатками являются некоторые программные проблемы, которые, кстати, никак не помешали аппарату стать бестселлером Samsung.

Вскоре после выхода X12 i9100 станет новым флагманом от Samsung и предложит все характеристики и функции, ожидаемые от Х12, которых тот иметь не будет. Экран Super AMOLED будет обновлен, железо улучшено до сносящего крышу уровня, а мультимедийные возможности мгновенно сделают всех царей горы ноября 2010 года посмешищем. Просто для затравки хочу напомнить, что платформа Galaxy S уже сегодня поддерживает проигрывание 1080p видео, но открыта эта функция только на Galaxy TAB. Это не ошибка Samsung, это тактика.

Так что остается Sony Ericsson и X12? Репутация, созданная годы назад по-прежнему живет на некоторых рынках в объеме, достаточном для того, чтобы некоторые сети и магазины поверили в Sony Ericsson и купили одну из моделей компании. Эта репутация быстро ухудшается на одних рынках и уже исчезла на других. X12 только ускорит этот процесс, и Sony Ericsson отстанет еще больше. Устройство, которое могло бы быть очень неплохим игроком в средней ценовой категории (как Desire Z у HTC), бросается на рынок, чтобы быть сожранным другими флагманами и забрать компанию с собой туда, откуда не возвращаются. Его цена не будет обоснована функционалом, а недостатки программного обеспечения только разочаруют пользователей.

Обсуждение на форуме >>>

Martin Elm (martin.elm@mobile-review.com)
Опубликовано — 17 ноября 2010 г.

Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

Новости:

28.03.2017 Вредоносные приложения в Google Play маскируются под Minecraft

28.03.2017 Очки дополненной реальности от Apple появятся через год или позже

28.03.2017 Vodafone рассекретил европейские цены на Samsung Galaxy S8

28.03.2017 Задержки поставок Google Pixel при покупке через Google Play превысили месяц

28.03.2017 Microsoft не покажет Surface Book 2 этой весной

28.03.2017 Oppo R11 получит двойную основную камеру

28.03.2017 LG подала иск о нарушении патентных прав в отношении североамериканского производителя смартфонов BLU

28.03.2017 Энди Рубин подразнил мобильный мир, показав часть будущего смартфона от своей новой компании

28.03.2017 Samsung представила новую технологию для «кинотеатров будущего»

28.03.2017 МТС продала свой узбекский бизнес за символический доллар

28.03.2017 Samsung планирует выпустить в продажу восстановленные Galaxy Note 7

Hit

28.03.2017 Посиделки по вторникам №163. Лень и автокоррекция

Hit

27.03.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор OnePlus 3T

Hit

27.03.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор смартфона Google Pixel XL

27.03.2017 Panasonic представил новые модели смартфонов с собственным виртуальным помощником Arbo

27.03.2017 TSMC проводит переоснащение для производства чипсетов Apple A11

27.03.2017 Qualcomm заблокировала продажу чипсетов Exynos

27.03.2017 Huawei продала 12 миллионов смартфонов P9 и Р9 Plus

27.03.2017 LG K8 2017 поступил в продажу в России

27.03.2017 «Связной» открыл предзаказ на LG G6

Hit

27.03.2017 Видео на канале: Знакомство с Asus ZenFone 3 Zoom

27.03.2017 В «Яндекс.Деньги» отменяется комиссия на внутренние переводы в мобильном приложении

27.03.2017 В России стартуют официальные продажи бюджетного смартфона Micromax Bolt Q354

27.03.2017 Новые пресс-фото и подробные характеристики Samsung Galaxy S8 и S8 Plus

27.03.2017 Китайцы понемногу раскрывают информацию о Xiaomi Mi6

Подписка
 
   
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2017. All rights reserved.