facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials


Rambler's Top100

Encrypted voice communication using SecureGSM on the Windows Mobile platform.

The aspects of personal information security are always of increased interest in every society. A priority of every person is to protect his private information and keep that information from dissemination. Consequently there is always a category of people who has interested in that confidential information. Within day to day life there are often gossips and rumors in circulation which may be troublesome but not critical for people who are influential in society (either commercially or politically). The dissemination of such confidential information can often be disastrous either in a direct or figurative sense. Therefore certain members of society are concerned about the preservation of confidentiality while others do their best to get the necessary information for whatever reason or use. It is certainly not a secret that the most vulnerable aspect of providing secrecy is the process of data transmission. Since this review focuses on the security of voice traffic transmitted via cellular communication and does not concern itself with systems of secret observation, we will take a look at the program which allows the preservation of confidentiality when talking on a cell phone, namely SecureGSM Pro.

Software product SecureGSM Pro.

The manufacturer is SecureGSM, www.securegsm.com, the way of distribution is commercial ware. The price is $190. The distribution rights of the program in Russia and Ukraine belong to the company NewPalper Inc., www.securegsmrus.com.

Program functionality.

The program encrypts voice with the use of a layered triple encryption mechanism based on the AES, Twofish and Serpent algorithms in real time, using a Diffie-Hellman 256 bit key. None of the applied algorithms is susceptible to decryption. As for being more specific about the effort needed to break this kind of encryption, well, the financial and temporal costs for decryption make this process practically not viable. I am not a specialist in the field of cryptography and cannot judge professionally the compliancy of those algorithms; however the fact that the creators have announced a competition in decoding of an encrypted conversation is indirect evidence of their resistance. As an award there were $10 000. Nevertheless, the prize for decoding was unclaimed.

The list of compatible devices is constantly increasing. Recently the support of HTC Prophet and Charmer was announced. In March a Smartphone version based on WM5.0 (devices similar to Qtek 8310) will be available. The complete list of supported devices is available on the manufacturers Web site.

Available versions.

For evaluation and testing purposes, a free light version is available from the manufacturers Web site, aptly named SecureGSM Evaluation. This light version is a fully functional product with a significantly reduced security mechanism,

To get access to the full-scale version it is necessary to login on the website and pay for the program. When distributing the program there are some limitations:

  1. The program cannot be sold, leased or transferred to the use of government or military organizations without the official permission of the Department of Defense of Australia.
  2. The program is not distributed to the following countries: Cuba, Iraq, North Korea, Iran, Libya, Sudan, Syria.
  3. When registering, the end user of the product must supply their personal information: name, actual address, e-mail, phone number.

Installation of the program.

Installation of the program is via a standard ActiveSync setup or using a cab file directly on the device. The installation path is recommended to be in the non-volatile memory area of the device (Storage). Therefore, in a situation when forced to do a hard reset of the device, all that is required to restore the program to full functionality is to run the executable file via Explorer. At that moment, all settings, even the launch icon in the menu Programs are restored. Such a method of program recovery is part of the manufacturers intimate knowledge of the device and operating system and is the first time we have seen such functionality implemented in a Windows Mobile product.

At first launch a device identification file is created in the program folder which is sent to the manufacturer for licensing (activation). After checking the registration information the modified ID file and license file are sent to the user; it is necessary to copy those files to the program folder on the device. The license considers hardware features of the specific device. Transferring the program to another communicator is possible only with the consent of the manufacturer and can be made by revocation of the previous license and getting a new one.

Program settings.

In the lower part of the main window there is an option menu and quick access icons to various functionalities. Volume control of alert, microphone sensitivity, program access from the standard contacts list and automatic launch on communicator start-up are available from the general settings area of the program. When personal information managers (Pocket Informant, Agenda Fusion, SPB Diary, etc.) are installed, a direct dial with the SecureGSM program is present as one of the options.

The program uses the CSD protocol and therefore the corresponding service should be activated with the carrier. Generally this protocol is used for data or fax transmission. If there is an additional number when service activated, it is better to use it for calls in secure mode, though the carried out experiments have shown the possibility of calling to the primary number. The default device CSD settings are usually set at 9600 bps (v.32) which should be changed to 9600 (v.110). At that setting, the quality of voice communication noticeably improves. The rest of the icons in the lower part of the window allow making a voice call, getting into the messaging screen, opening the default contact list, sound settings and the online help.

Working with the program.

For a secure call it is necessary for the program to be installed on both terminals. The telephone number can be dialed directly from the keypad or activated from the address book. If the software is not installed, or the CSD channel is unavailable, an alert is shown on the display, stating that the call cannot be established. In the case when the program is installed on both terminals, the process of establishing a connection consists of several stages. After receiving an incoming call alert, a negotiation stage is completed followed by an exchange of dynamic keys. Finally a picture containing a geometrical figure and a digital code is shown in the displays of both devices. This picture is always generated dynamically in real time. We arranged several communication sessions in secure mode every time the picture and the digital code was different from the previous call but they were always the same in both devices. Before enabling secure mode the only requirement is to confirm with the interlocutor that the information presented is identical on both devices. As long as the information on this screen is identical on both devices, it is safe to proceed with communications.

The logic behind this algorithm is to ensure that an unknown party cannot get in the middle to listen in on the conversation the interlocutor is always known. Possible voice distortions when using the CSD protocol should be anticipated beforehand and in that case I suggest a few practice sessions before carrying on with secret negotiations.

There is an extra and unique way of communicating within the program the capability of short message exchange in secure mode. This functionality helps protect against the use of directional microphones and device fitted bugs. Switching to the message exchange window is simply a matter of clicking the corresponding icon. Earlier this possibility has never yet existed in a software product. One can judge the convenience of this functionality simply through an attempt to reproduce, by voice, a simple key such as, for example: IASHER-HDTRIEU-HDTERIOTR-SHDGFGERT- SGKJHIS.

General remarks and conclusions.

The quality of communication is quite satisfactory. The voice of interlocutor is heard clearly; noise and echo are minimized. A quite natural attribute when working with the program is the use of a headset it is more convenient to talk and to exchange messages with its assistance. In the conlusion of the review I will venture to make some remarks not concerning the description of the program. Probably law experts will consider important making their remarks.

  1. Legal fundamentals of using encryption algorithms

According to the legislation of Russian Federation (Belarus), programs assigned for personal use do not require certification. Moreover, only domestic products, which this program is not, to are subject of certification. The manufacturer office is located in Melbourne, Australia. This program also does not come up against the demands of SORM an operator is obliged to provide unimpeded access of special services to its equipment. This, of course is only applicable and specific to the Russian Federation and ex-Soviet countries only. According to the statement of specialists in the case of the necessity of the filtering of subscribers, using such programs does not cause any technical complicacy on the part of the operator.

To specify the position of an operator in the aspect of limiting the use of CSD channels, a corresponding question was formulated. I would like to emphasize that the question was put to Minsk operator Velcom; those who would like to identify the position of their own cellular communication operators can do so independently. The content of the inquiry and answer are below.

Inquiry.

Good afternoon.
Do the legal limitations for using the CSD channel exist? If so, what are they (with references to the corresponding statutory acts)? Is the operator allowed to deactivate the service of data transmission in a one-sided way? If so, in which cases? There are no statements about it in the contract.
Thank you.

And the answer.

Dear Victor!
Providing the service Data transmission JV LC MCS gives the technical possibility (transport) for data exchange between the network user and Internet resources or other devices for data transmission. When using the service CSD data transmission is realized via standard voice channel.

The communication services (including the service Data transmission) can be deactivated by the operator in the cases provided by the regulations of the contract concluding between you and JV LC MCS. The company has the right to block the access to GSM network for the client in the following cases:

  • if the resources on the balance of payment (front money) is used completely (subparagraph 3.7 of the contract):
  • when technical damage of the equipment of the company (subparagraph 3.10.1 of the contract);
  • when preventive activity is carrying out (subparagraph 3.10.2 of the contract);
  • in case of vis major (subparagraph 6.1 of the contract).

In all other cases regarding the contract, the rendering of communication services of GSM standard JV LC MCS follows the legislation of the Republic of Belarus.

Best regards, Department of client servicing, Velcom

  1. The vulnerability of the algorithms to break-in I am not a specialist, but the encryption algorithms used are considered to be unbreakable.
  2. Alternative ways of information interception do not concern the program directly. If the budget of the attacker is limited only by imagination, it is possible to invent a large amount of ways of alternative information interception which are not connected directly with the program break-in. The program also cannot protect from personal interrogation. Any attempts to modify the program code by direct penetration in the mobile device can be checked with the assistance of a special tool, freely available to all customers.
  3. Alternative ways of protecting data transmission. The existing hardware (at the moment of writing of the review) such as the phone Atlas has a much higher cost. The advantage of such cryptophones is the state certification.

Conclusion.

  1. The program is available to lawful citizens who would like to protect their phone conversations from unauthorized people.
  2. This program does not have analogs.
  3. The cost of a leak of confidential information would be much greater than the cost of purchasing the program itself.
  4. The Evaluation version of the software is available for testing and evaluation purposes, but should not be considered as a viable means of protection (easily defeated).

The program was tested on the communicator Qtek S110 provided by the company Vobis. The full-scale version of the program (SecureGSM Pro) is available from the manufacturer.

Viktor Dashkevich (viktor.dashkevich@mobile-review.com)
Translated by Kira Efimova (kira.efimova@mobile-review.com)

Published - 09 June 2006

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

News:

[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean

Subscribe

Register | Lost password?

E-mail


Password




Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

HTC online Фирменный магазин  |   |   |   |   |   |   |  Подкасты (274)  | 
Loading
  • RSS
IFA 2014. Навигатор по выставке Сервисы Microsoft на Windows-устройствах Радар-детектор Whistler 118ST Ru: щит от «Стрелок»
Обзоры Статьи Описания ЧаВо


Rambler's Top100
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
версия для печати

Шифрование голосового трафика на устройствах под ОС Windows Mobile.

SecureGSM.

Вопросы защищенности личной информации всегда вызывают повышенный интерес в любом обществе. Априори, у каждого человека имеются сведения, которые не подлежат разглашению. И всегда найдется категория людей, которым эти сведения интересны. И если на бытовом уровне это очень часто сплетни и слухи, циркуляция которых хоть и неприятна, но не смертельна, то для лиц, имеющих определенный вес в обществе (будь то коммерческий или политический), разглашение конфиденциальной информации очень часто равносильно уходу в небытие. Как в прямом, так и в переносном смысле. Именно поэтому одна часть общества озабочена сохранением конфиденциальности, другая – как раз и занимается тем, чтобы необходимые данные получить. Не секрет, что наиболее узким местом в обеспечении секретности является процесс передачи информации. Поскольку этот обзор не имеет отношения к системам скрытого наблюдения, а касается только голосового трафика, передаваемого через операторов сотовой связи, то мы рассмотрим программу, позволяющую сохранить конфиденциальность при разговорах по сотовому телефону.

Программный продукт - SecureGSM.

Разработчик – SecureGSM, сайт www.securegsm.com, принцип распространения – коммерческий продукт. Цена - $190. Права на распространение программы в России и на Украине принадлежат компании "NewPalper Inc.", сайт - www.securegsmrus.com.

Назначение программы.

Программа предназначена для шифрования голосового трафика с использованием 256-битного, тройного шифра, построенного на алгоритмах AES, Twofish, Serpent, в реальном времени. Ни один из примененных алгоритмов в настоящее время расшифровке не поддается. Но если быть более точным, то материальные и временные затраты на расшифровку делают этот процесс нецелесообразным. Я не являюсь специалистом в области криптографии и не могу профессионально судить о сложности этих алгоритмов, однако об их стойкости косвенно свидетельствует тот факт, что разработчиками проводился конкурс на вскрытие зашифрованного разговора. В качестве награды предлагалось $10000. Тем не менее, премия за расшифровку осталась невостребованной.

Совместимые устройства – их список постоянно расширяется. Недавно анонсирована поддержка HTC Prophet, Charmer, XDA ATOM. В марте будет доступна версия для смартфонов на базе WM5.0 (устройства, аналогичные Qtek 8310). Полный список поддерживаемых устройств доступен на сайте разработчика.

Доступные версии.
Для ознакомления с возможностями утилиты в бесплатный доступ выложена light-версия продукта SecureGSM Evaluation, в которой применен облегченный механизм шифрования.

Для получения доступа к полнофункциональной версии необходимо зарегистрироваться на сайте и оплатить программу. При распространении программы предполагаются следующие ограничения:

1. Программа не может быть продана, сдана в аренду или передана в пользование правительственным или военным организациям без официального разрешения Министерства Обороны Австралии.

2. Программа не поставляется в следующие страны: Куба, Ирак, Северная Корея, Иран, Ливия, Судан, Сирия.

3. При регистрации конечный пользователь продукта должен предоставить свои данные: ФИО, фактический адрес, Email, телефон.

Инсталляция программы.

Первоначальная установка программы проводится стандартным образом через ActiveSync или путем запуска cab-файла. Установку рекомендуется проводить в область дополнительной памяти (Storage). В этом случае при вынужденной жесткой перезагрузке для восстановления работоспособности программы достаточно запустить файл запуска через проводник. При этом восстанавливаются не только все настройки, но и иконка запуска в меню Программ. Такой подход к восстановлению работоспособности программ является know-how и применен впервые.

При первом запуске в каталоге программы создается файл идентификации устройства, который высылается разработчику. После проверки регистрационной информации пользователю высылается модифицированный ID-файл и файл лицензии, которые необходимо скопировать в каталог с программой. Лицензия учитывает аппаратные особенности конкретного устройства. Перенос программы на другой коммуникатор возможен только с ведома разработчиков и производится путем аннулирования прежней лицензии и получения новой.

Настройки программы.

В нижней части главного окна программы расположено меню опций и иконки быстрого управления. Из общих настроек программы доступны регулировки громкости звонка, чувствительности микрофона, доступ к программе из стандартных контактов и автоматическая активация при старте коммуникатора. При наличии установленных менеджеров персональной информации (Pocket Informant, Agenda Fusion, SPB Diary, etc.) звонок в защищенном режиме возможен непосредственно из главного окна.

Для передачи голосового трафика используется протокол CSD, поэтому соответствующая услуга должна быть подключена и активирована. Как правило такой протокол используется при передаче данных или факсов. Если при активации услуги выдается дополнительный номер, то для звонков в защищенном режиме лучше использовать именно его. Хотя проведенные эксперименты показали возможность звонка на обычный номер. В настройках CSD-протокола по умолчанию стоит значение 9600 bps (v.32), которое сразу можно поменять на 9600 bps (v.110). При этом качество голосовой связи значительно улучшается. Остальные иконки в нижней части окна позволяют сделать голосовой вызов, перейти в режим обмена письменными сообщениями, открыть список контактов, настроить звуковые параметры и открыть файл справки.

Работа с программой.

Для звонка в защищенном режиме необходимо, чтобы программа была установлена на обоих терминалах. Номер абонента можно набрать непосредственно с клавиатуры или вызвать из адресной книги. Если программное обеспечение не установлено или недоступен канал CSD, то на экран выдается сообщение о невозможности установки связи. В случае, когда утилита установлена на обоих терминалах, процесс установления связи состоит из нескольких этапов. После поступления сигнала о входящем звонке происходит согласование устройств, затем коммуникаторы обмениваются динамическими ключами. В конечном итоге на экран обоих устройств выводится картинка, содержащая геометрическую фигуру и цифровую последовательность. Причем и картинка, и последовательность генерируются динамически в реальном времени. Мы провели несколько сеансов связи в защищенном режиме – каждый раз картинка и цифровой код отличались от предыдущего вызова, но они всегда были одинаковыми на обоих устройствах. Перед переходом разговора в «секретную» фазу достаточно просто сообщить собеседнику выводимый на экран цифровой код и тип картинки. Если результаты на обоих устройствах совпали, можно включать подтверждение и переходить непосредственно к разговору.

Логика подобного алгоритма проверки заключается в том, что вести секретные переговоры с неизвестными людьми никто не будет – голос собеседника всегда известен. Возможные искажения голоса при использовании протокола CSD необходимо предусматривать заранее – в этом случае перед ведением секретных переговоров лучше несколько раз потренироваться, для того, чтобы уверенно идентифицировать голос звонящего.

Дополнительным и уникальным способом передачи информации в программе SecureGSM является возможность обмена текстовыми сообщениями в защищенном режиме. Такая возможность сразу отсекает применение для записи разговора направленных микрофонов или встроенных в устройство жучков. Переход в окно обмена сообщениями происходит путем нажатия соответствующей иконки. Ранее такая возможность не была реализована ни в одном программном продукте. О ее удобстве можно судить хотя бы по попытке передать голосом несложный ключ подобного вида IASHER-HDTRIEU-HDTERIOTR-SHDGFGERT- SGKJHIS.

Общие замечания и выводы.

Качество связи при разговоре вполне удовлетворительное. Голос собеседника слышится четко, помехи и эхо сведены к минимуму. Вполне естественным атрибутом при работе с программой является гарнитура – с ее помощью разговаривать, и обмениваться сообщениями намного удобнее. В конце обзора я позволю себе привести несколько не совсем относящихся к описанию программы замечаний. Возможно, специалисты в области права сочтут нужным внести свои замечания.

1. Правовые основы применения алгоритмов шифрования.

По законодательству РФ (Белоруссии) программы, предназначенные для личного использования, сертификации не требуют. Более того, сертификации подлежат только отечественные продукты, к которым эта программа не относится. Офис разработчиков находится в Мельбурне. Не вступает эта программа в противоречие и с требованиями ОРМ – беспрепятственный доступ спецслужб к своему оборудованию обязан предоставить оператор. По утверждению специалистов, в случае необходимости фильтрация абонентов, использующих подобные программы, никакой технической сложности не представляет.

Для уточнения позиции оператора по вопросу ограничений в использовании каналов CSD был сформулирован соответствующий запрос. Подчеркну, что речь идет о минском операторе Velcom, желающие уточнить позицию своих операторов сотовой связи могут это сделать самостоятельно. Текст запроса и ответ на него ниже по тексту.

Запрос.

Здравствуйте.
уществуют ли правовые ограничения для использования канала CSD? Если да, то какие (со ссылками на соответствующие нормативные акты)? Может ли услуга передачи данных быть отключена оператором в одностороннем порядке? Если может, в каких случаях? В Договоре об этом упоминаний нет.
пасибо.

И ответ.

Уважаемый Виктор!
редоставляя услугу «Передача данных», СП ООО "МЦС" обеспечивает техническую возможность (транспорт) для обмена данными между абонентом сети и ресурсами Интернета или другими устройствами передачи данных. При использовании услуги CSD передача данных осуществляется по стандартному голосовому каналу.

Услуги связи (в том числе и услуга Передача данных) могут быть отключены оператором в случаях, предусмотренных положениями договора, заключенного между Вами и СП ООО МЦС. Компания имеет право отключить Клиента от сети GSM в следующих случаях:

- если средства на балансе клиента (предоплата) использованы полностью (п.п. 3.7 договора);
- при технических повреждениях оборудования Компании (п.п. 3.10.1 договора);
- при проводимых Компанией профилактических работах (п.п. 3.10.2 договора);
- в случае возникновения форс-мажорных обстоятельств (п.п. 6.1 договора).
Во всех иных случаях, не урегулированных договором об оказании услуг электросвязи стандарта GSM, СП ООО МЦС руководствуется законодательством Республики Беларусь.
уважением, Отдел обслуживания клиентов Velcom

Комментировать ответ оператора нет необходимости – вы можете использовать канал CSD по собственному усмотрению.

2. Степень защищенности алгоритмов от взлома – не специалист, но применяемые алгоритмы шифрования считаются устойчивыми.

3. Альтернативные способы перехвата информации – непосредственно к программе отношения не имеют. Если бюджет противной стороны ограничен только воображением, то вариантов альтернативного получения нформации, не связанной непосредственно со взломом программы, можно придумать сколь угодно много. рограмма также не предохраняет от паяльника, утюга или допроса. При этом попытки модификации программного кода путем проникновения непосредственно в мобильное устройство отслеживаются при помощи дополнительных утилит, распространяемых бесплатно.

4. Альтернативные способы защищенной передачи данных. Существующие на момент написания обзора аппаратные средства в виде телефона Атлас имеют на порядок большую стоимость. Плюсом таких криптофонов является государственная сертификация.

Итог.

Программа предназначена для законопослушных граждан, желающих защитить свои телефонные переговоры от посторонних лиц. Аналогов не имеет. При этом стоимость возможной утечки должна как минимум на порядок превышать стоимость самой программы. Если информация не критична - лучше воспользоваться бесплатной копией с упрощенным механизмом шифрования. При использовании подобного вида софта следует учитывать возможный нтерес со стороны правоохранительных органов.

Программа тестироваласьна коммуникаторе Qtek S110, предоставленном компанией Vobis. Полнофункциональная версия программы (SecureGSM Pro) предоставлена разработчиком.

Виктор Дашкевич (viktor.dashkevich@mobile-review.com)
Опубликовано - 21 февраля 2006 г.

Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

Новости:
Hit

15:00, 21 сентября:Видео на канале: Обзор Apple iPhone 6, Сравнения Samsung Galaxy Note 4 и S5, Galaxy Note 3 и Note 4, Обзор Samsung Galaxy Note 4 - дизайн, работа со стилусом, многозадачность, Чехлы Spigen для iPhone 6

21:06, 19 сентября:В Android 5.0 L будет автоматическое шифрование данных пользователя

17:35, 19 сентября:Android L может появиться на смартфонах Samsung уже в этом году

16:15, 19 сентября:iOS 8 уже работает на 18% устройств Apple

15:53, 19 сентября:Samsung может выпустить Tizen-смартфон в Индии в ноябре

Hit

08:20, 19 сентября:Подкасты Mobile-Review.com. Выпуск 275 от 19 сентября

19:47, 18 сентября:Dune HD первой в мире представила серийную ТВ-приставку с поддержкой кодека HEVC

17:57, 18 сентября:MediaTek и Opera Software становятся партнерами в области оптимизации интернет-данных

Hit

11:30, 18 сентября:Видео на канале: Обзор Philips Xenium i928

19:17, 17 сентября:Программа Android Silver заморожена Google

Подписка

Регистрация | Забыли пароль?

Ваш E-mail


Пароль




 
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2014. All rights reserved.