facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials


Rambler's Top100
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Print this review

S60 Summit, Madrid 2007

S60 Summit 2007. Expo>>>

Events like S60 Summit are oriented more to the partners rather than press, and all the more exiting it is to attend them. The opening speech by Matti Vanska was very optimistic and there are all the prerequisites for that, actually.

The last years Summit was attended by about 500 men, and this years event saw a 10 percent growth. The primary task is demonstration of what the world of the S60 looks like today. Among the visitors are not only developers, carriers and vendors representatives, but also press, analysts, those who guide the market to a greater or lesser extent. In the exhibition area you could witness Samsungs new smartphone the SGH-I400, the first model to retain the S60s latest version with the ability to recharge via USB and have a claim for the mass market.

The crucial success factors for the S60 are production volume, offering new experience, ability to make up new devices and editions in short term. In the sense of innovations, it needs to be noted that mobile solutions are getting to be the centerpiece of systems involving personal, mobile Internet, which automatically implies convergence between operators and Internet-services.

In the first quarter 2007 around 20 million units of S60-devices were shipped, which stands for a bit more than a 50 percent share of the whole smartphone market. Accumulated sales of S60-based devices have gone over 100 million units. After these words the hall started acclaiming, which is no surprise the S60 is beyond competition as of today, while Windows Mobile still has a long way to go before it can become a threat to the S60. With the growth of smartphone and communicator market, the share of the S60 will be going down, which is a natural process, but in terms of units shipped the S60 will be topping the market for years to come, this is the fact one would barely deny.

Now let us shed more light on some presentations made at S60 Summit. For the most part, these were personal thoughts of the speakers, that is why the text below might feature direct speech and so on.

S60 Extending the Internet
Ilari Nurmi
Director, Product Management, Software Platform, Nokia

Download presentation in a format pdf (4.3 Mb)>>>

The S60 has a very clear strategy regarding Internet and development of various online-based services, as this is one of the most vital device constituents. The companys primary mission is to make the Internet go truly mobile. We could give an example of Nokia Web Browser, which is the first browser to feature true desktop-like Web browsing experience, being installed already in 10 millions of sold handsets (first and second versions). This browser has been awarded by many competent resources.

But not only does the Internet provide for viewing web-pages, but also it allows various services. The S60 is developing in this way as well you can instantly think of integration of Flickr, Yahoo Go, Google Maps, Locr and others in the S60-powered solutions. To ensure maximum capabilities for the developers of such services, the S60 offers a wide selection of run-time technologies, with C placed at the frontier. Open C can be easily adapted to applications (ported), familiar to most programmers, and they say over at the S60, they dont set off to reinvent the wheel and offer a well-known environment. The proof of Open C advantages is given in the form of several examples, specifically, port of SQLite took 3 hours (84000 lines of code), HyperEstraier Search Engine 2 months without any manuals used.

The development of S60 SDK goes in the direction of Carbide (C++ or Carbide v.2.0). In future they are planning on adding more graphical tools to the environment, improve emulator experience, leverage Eclipse ecosystem.

S60 is the first platform to have Widgets integrated, this is web 2.0 technology, allowing to attach users to using mobile Internet, and giving the developers new capabilities of creating new services and truly mobile applications. The main advantages of widgets are as follows:

Familiar known from desktop PCs.

Rapid fast time-to-market, simplicity.

Simple easy to use, clear concept.

WeatherBug was given as a widget example indeed, such applications are popular, remember, for instance, Handy Weather. In this widget you can not only check out the weather forecast, but also upload a satellite map with no Internet connection at hand, such ability would be totally impossible.

Reuters News Widget gathers main news items from Reuters, this widget shows how easy the development process is, as it was written in just five days. Unsophisticated, yet very useful widget it is.

Widgets add more value to cell phones than PCs the philosophy is what differs. These applications are what really build personalized Internet, mobile Internet. Thats why the motto Your Internet. Wherever You are makes much sense.

Using Convergence Services on S60 to Increase Revenues in mature markets
Jose Antonio Moujadami
Telefonica
Head of Application and Open OS Devices

Download presentation in a format pdf (3.7 Mb)>>>

The evolution of technology shows that SMS is no longer the unique relevant data bearer (in person-to-person communications), while the content is working its way up (from 31 in 2005 to 33 percent in 2006). Mobile Internet is growing even faster from 6 to 9 percent over the same time span. We have stabled a unique data tariff that offers unlimited Internet access for 1 Euro a day and it is vastly popular. The only limitation for us is the price for such devices today feature-rich smartphones cost about 600 Euro, in future price decline will reignite the market.

For us, as an operator, openness is what matters the most, willingness of the vendor to create services with us, adapt already existing to our networks. We are into innovations and new services, development of OpenSource. Of course the industry orients to the content generated by UGC users, which is an import part of services development.

The primary task is getting tariffs perception easier. Data tariffs should not be hard to come to grips with, they should be unsophisticated, even though they are backed up by technologies (for example our tariff 1 Euro for 1 day of mobile Internet).

Traditional barriers have been removed and the competitive environment is complex, any developer has access to devices operating system, older players cant make use of defensive strategies against the young companies, it is the consumer who picks the device in the end. Operators need to provide superior value to succeed. To do that they need to use customer effectively, delight consumers with the best care and services. Only giving the best experience through technology they can keep their current positions on the market or strengthen them. The factor of success is not only software, but also UGC, shared and superior knowledge (i.e. Wikipedia).

How S60 helps operators to succeed?

S60 Browser today can work everywhere by this we mean not only handsets, but also TV-sets, trop computers, gaming consoles, and so on. This grants wholly different opportunities to the operator. The browsers advantages are its openness, reliability and a PC forefather.

Another constituent is Open C environment, which brings open source methods and current applications to mobile, increases competitiveness on the application market, blurs the edges between desktop OC and mobile device. The community now can drive development into the direction that they need, not the vendor; this is an important part of the development.

Unique user experience allows operators to:

  • Deeply segment consumer groups
  • Create unique products box, menu, pre-installed content-based applications

In a nutshell, S60 is a tool that could help operators to capture innovation, reduce the time-to-market and the fragmentation, provides sources for a deep differentiation. This is becoming a vital constituent of any operators growth.

Role of Software Platforms in bringing innovative services to market operator perspectives
Karman Kordi
T-Mobile

Download presentation in a format pdf (244 Kb)>>>

For an operator, right choice of the platform means its predictable performance, consistent quality, better maintenance, cost reduction, scalability and other benefits. This implies that picking the platform is a key step to address challenges facing the operator.

Standardization. Opportunity to unify solutions across multiple vendors.

Innovation. Ability to try out services without having bespoke terminals built

The market features multiple hybrid platforms and solutions, at that these platforms differ in terms of both hardware and software. For operators this is a true Gordian Knot, as money funds are spent on support for various platforms, real-life tests. And this is really expensive treat

The todays S60 also has weak spots, since operators can influence minimal parts of the core requirements for terminals and functionality. At the same time they can ensure manufacturers conform to agreed operator. On the upside, S60-based devices run on various hardware solutions, yet share the software platform, which makes development less expensive. Modularity of the platform increases with time, which brings more opportunities for operators.

Future Opportunites in the connected world
Shaun Collins
CCS Insight, Managing Director

Download presentation in a format pdf (796 Kb)>>>

The world we live in has changed much we are no longer bound to a certain place, we have entered the ear of untethered communications, where the paradigm is shifting from voice to visual interaction with devices on the move. Today we can stay connected wherever we are, we dont have to call at the nearest post office to send a litter, we can even pay bills having a breakfast in, say, a cafe. The new paradigm states that you can actually see the services, they are near you, they are everywhere.

New companies emerged on the market, such as Yahoo, Google, Microsoft, they stormed into the market of cable/mobile/TV operators. By creating tension on the market, they unintentionally stir up other players.

When it comes to services, we come across the fact that the operators are not willing to make the users life easier. There is no simplicity in these relations; flat rate offered in the UK for mobile Internet usage is a fantastic move. You always know how much you spend and dont have to wonder upon getting enormous bill. Though, technology matures more slowly than expected, with fragmentation leading to slow adoption. One of the reasons is that the key stakeholders (e.g. connectivity suppliers) resist partnerships and new business models. This is amplified by conservatism of consumers about new technologies and new form factors.

The world has changed. It took Reuters only 5 days to come up with a mobile widget for accessing its content; there are many companies out there that would need this much time to decide on doing something similar. The business structure itself has changed, The Web giants are getting serious about mobility, they bypass the mobile operators with new technology, offerings new services and faster time-to-market.

Which areas are emerging today?

Music. Digital music revoltion, streamed content, changing business models.

Location. Navigation services, adding context to location-based applications, new revenues

Imaging. Many devices come included with cameras, sharing experience, blogging and so on are now truly possible.

Games. Network gaming, increasing capable devices (memory, display, audio)

Other applications Search, TV, Connected home, Enterprise

Wrapping it all up, we could say that an increasing number of network operators will focus on a decreasing number of software platforms, people will purchase experience rather than technologies. Affordable flat rate data tariffs will be key catalysts for applications and services uptake. Platform S60 might become a part of this future, a successful part that will reduce market fragmentation, making it more transparent.

S60 reaching out for new segments and markets
Mikko Rontynen
Head of S60 platform marketing

S60 enables highly segmented devices, which can be classic smartphones with the functionality consumers have come to expect from convergent devices. These devices may have various form-factors. At the same time S60 allows developing music-minded, imaging-centric, sporty solutions, etc. This creates extra niches for products, sets them apart from each other, and makes them unique. The flexibility of S60 provides for maintaining user experience (standard interface and suite of features) and ability to add specific functions.

Today S60 offers a complete suite of smartphone applications multimedia, PIM, messaging, browsing, telephony and so on.

The data on how and for what people use their devices also looks interesting. A thing of note voice calling are obviously inferior to messaging in this sense.

In Feature Pack 2 we made an attempt to simplify usage of S60 devices as much as possible, make them easier for uptake. So, composing a message, you dont have to think over which type (SMS or MMS) is right for this particular situation, it is automatically tweaked depending on the content you put into it. Then, one browser for both Web and mobile content. Label for middle soft-key, makes for more convenience. Easier to find the multi-tasking capability. All these interface-related enhancements should make the devices easier to use. You can learn more about all novelties of the Feature Pack 2 in our dedicated article.

The FP2 comes pre-installed with 49 languages, in future more are going to be added. Apart from that, some applications will get enhanced with special features like lunar calendar for the Asian market; Islamic regions will get devices with specific tweaks as well.

The hardware and software abilities of S60 enable creating devices housed in different form factors with or without keyboard, various suites of accessories and so on. This system proves to be flexible on all levels.

Differentiation with software brings about great capabilities, allowing to leave out unnecessary components, modify their design, code, that is also accessible.

Eldar Murtazin (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Translated by Oleg Kononosov (oleg.kononosov@mobile-review.com)

Published — 26 April 2007

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

News:

[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean

Subscribe

Register | Lost password?

E-mail


Password




Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

podcast quotes-left quotes-right search menu arrow-up arrow-up2 google-plus3 facebook2 instagram telegram twitter vk youtube android rss2
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Версия для печати

S60 Summit, Madrid 2007

S60 Summit 2007. Expo>>>

Такие мероприятия, как S60 Summit, ориентированы в большей мере на партнеров, чем на прессу, тем интереснее присутствовать на них. Вступительное слово от Matti Vanska было очень оптимистичным, и для этого есть все предпосылки.

На Summit в прошлом году прибыло порядка 500 человек, в этом году количество регистраций увеличилось на 10 процентов. Основной задачей является демонстрация того, что происходит в мире S60 сегодня. Среди посетителей не только разработчики, представители операторов, производителей устройств, но и пресса, аналитики, те, кто определяет развитие рынка в той или иной степени. На выставочной территории можно было увидеть новый смартфон от Samsung – SGH-I400, первую модель на последней версии S60 c возможностью подзарядки по USB, ориентированную на массовый рынок.

Критическими факторами для успеха S60 является объем выпуска продуктов, предоставление нового опыта пользователям, возможность быстрого создания различных версий, изданий устройств. В плане инноваций надо отметить тот факт, что мобильные устройства становятся центральной частью систем, связанных с персональным, мобильным Интернетом, что автоматически означает конвергенцию операторов и интернет-сервисов.

В первом квартале 2007 года по всему миру было отгружено порядка 20 миллионов S60-устройств, это составляет чуть больше 50 процентов всего рынка смартфонов. Кумулятивные продажи S60-устройств за все время превысили 100 миллионов. На этих словах зал начал аплодировать, немудрено, ведь конкурентов у S60 сегодня нет, а Windows Mobile весьма и весьма далека от создания угрозы для S60. С ростом рынка смартфонов и коммуникаторов доля S60 будет уменьшаться, это естественный процесс, но в штучном выражении S60 будет еще долгие годы лидировать на рынке, с этим фактом трудно не согласиться.

Теперь же давайте поговорим об отдельных презентациях на S60 Summit. В большей мере это основные мысли каждого из докладчиков, отсюда в тексте может проскакивать прямая речь и тому подобное. Но это мысли докладчиков, их презентации.

S60 Extending the Internet
Ilari Nurmi
Director, Product Management, Software Platform, Nokia

Скачать презентацию в формате pdf (4.3 Мб)>>>

В S60 имеется очень ясная стратегия относительно Интернет и развития различных услуг на его основе, это одна из важнейших составляющих наших устройств. Основной миссией компании является задача сделать Интернет действительно мобильным. В качестве примера можно привести Nokia Web Browser, первый браузер, который предлагает в мобильных телефонах качество использования, просмотра аналогичное обычным компьютерам, он уже установлен в 10 миллионах проданных телефонов (первая и вторая версия). Этот браузер заслужил множество наград различных изданий.

Но Интернет это не только просмотр web-страниц, это и различные сервисы. В S60 развивают и это направление, можно вспомнить интеграцию сервисов Flickr, Yahoo Go, Google Maps, Locr и других в продуктах S60. Для создания максимальных возможностей для разработчиков таких сервисов S60 предлагает широкий выбор средств разработки, язык С становится основным средством. Open C очень легко адаптируется для приложений (портирование), знаком большинству программистов, как говорят в S60, они не хотят изобретать колесо вновь и предлагают знакомую среду разработки. В качестве доказательства преимуществ Open C приводится несколько примеров, в частности, портирование SQLite заняло 3 часа (84000 строки кода), HyperEstraier Search Engine – 2 месяца без всякой документации.

Развитие S60 SDK происходит в направлении Carbide (C++ или Carbide v.2.0). В будущем планируется добавить большее число графических инструментов в среду разработки, улучшить качество эмулятора, расширить экосистему Eclipse.

S60 является первой платформой, которая интегрировала Widgets, это технология web 2.0, которая позволяет привязать пользователей к использованию мобильного Интернета, а разработчикам дает новые возможности для создания сервисов и действительно мобильных приложений. Основные преимущества widget’ов следующие:

Familiar – знакомы по настольным компьютерам.

Rapid – быстрая разработка, простота.

Simple – простота использования, понятная концепция.

Примером widget’а стал WeatherBug, подобные приложения популярны, можно вспомнить хотя бы Handy Weather. В этом виджете можно посмотреть не только погодные условия в определенной точке мира, прогноз, но и загрузить спутниковую карту. Без соединения с Интернет такая возможность в принципе была бы невозможна.

Reuters News Widget – собирает основные новости от Reuters, подобный виджет демонстрирует простоту разработки, он был создан за 5 дней. Это очень простой виджет, но крайне полезный.

Widget’ы добавляют больше ценности в мобильные телефоны, чем такие же приложения на ПК, это разная философия. Именно подобные приложения создают персонализированный Интернет, мобильный Интернет. Поэтому логичным выглядит следующий слоган: “Your Internet. Wherever You are”.

Using Convergence Services on S60 to Increase Revenues in mature markets
Jose Antonio Moujadami
Telefonica
Head of Application and Open OS Devices

Скачать презентацию в формате pdf (3.7 Мб)>>>

Эволюция технологий показывает, что использование SMS для общения отдельных людей (персона-персона) в наших сетях падает, в то время как контент-услуги растут (с 31 процента до 33 с 2005 по 2006 год). Еще больший рост показывает использование мобильного Интернета – рост с 6 до 9 процентов за тот же период. Мы запустили уникальный тарифный план, который предлагает безлимитный мобильный Интернет за 1 Евро в день, этот тариф имеет огромную популярность. Ограничением для нас является стоимость устройств, сегодня смартфоны с высоким уровнем функциональности стоят порядка 600 Евро, в будущем снижение цен активизирует рынок.

Для нас как оператора важнейшим параметром в наших партнерах является открытость, готовность производителя создавать с нами сервисы, адаптировать существующие для наших сетей. Мы заинтересованы в создании инноваций, новых сервисов, развитии OpenSource. Конечно же, индустрия ориентируется и на контент, генерируемый пользователями UGC, это очень важная часть развития сервисов.

Основной задачей становится упрощение восприятия тарифов, услуг. Тарифы с передачей данных, услугами не могут быть сложными в восприятии, они должны быть простыми, пусть за ними и скрываются технологии (пример – наш тариф 1 Евро за один день мобильного Интернета).

Традиционные барьеры, существовавшие на рынке, исчезли, любой разработчик имеет доступ к устройствам, старые игроки не могут обороняться от новых, выбирает продукт в итоге потребитель. Операторам необходимо предоставить превосходные сервисы, чтобы быть конкурентными в новых условиях. Для этого есть предпосылки, в частности, хорошее знание своих пользователей, возможность обеспечить качество сервисов и обслуживания. Только через инновации можно сохранить свое положение на рынке или упрочить его. Фактор успеха – не только программное обеспечение, но и возможность создания опыта, UGC, успешным примером может быть WiKipedia.

Как же S60 помогает оператору быть успешным в своей деятельности?

Браузер S60 сегодня может работать везде, причем под «везде» мы понимаем не только мобильные телефоны, но и ТВ-приставки, компьютеры в машинах, игровые консоли и тому подобное. Это дает принципиально иные возможности для оператора. Достоинством браузера является его открытость, тестирование большим сообществом, прообраз на ПК.

Другим элементом является использование Open C, это максимальное приближение к методологии Open Source, создание конкурентной среды, стирание различий между настольным компьютером и мобильным устройством. Комьюнити способно направлять разработку в том направлении, которое нужно им, а не производителю, это важный элемент развития.

Уникальный пользовательский опыт позволяет оператору:

  • Проводить четкую сегментацию пользовательских групп
  • Создавать уникальные продукты – коробку, меню телефона, предустановленные контент приложения

Вкратце, S60 дает оператору средство для соответствия текущим изменениям на рынке, позволяет быстро адаптироваться к ним. Это становится важным элементом для развития любого оператора..

Role of Software Platforms in bringing innovative services to market – operator perspectives
Karman Kordi
T-Mobile

Скачать презентацию в формате pdf (244 Кб)>>>

Для оператора выбор правильной платформы означает предсказуемость ее управления, производительности, постоянства качества, масштабируемости, уменьшения стоимости владения и ряда других параметров. Из этого следует, что выбор платформы становится ключевым фактором для успешности оператора на рынке, времени выхода новых продуктов на рынок.

Стандартизация. Возможность создания одинаковых сервисов для различных устройств от различных производителей.

Инновации. Способность попробовать сервисы без необходимости создания специальных терминалов для них.

На рынке существует множество гибридных платформ, решений, причем платформы различаются как на аппаратном, так и на программном уровне. Для операторов это воистину гордиев узел, слишком большие средства должны уходить на поддержку различных платформ, их тестирование в различной среде. Это крайне дорогое удовольствие.

В S60 сегодня также имеются слабые места, операторы в меньшей мере влияют на требования к основным функциям терминалов, их функциональности. В то же время они способны оказывать влияние на наличие той или иной функциональности, включение программных функций. К плюсам относится то, что устройства S60 работают на различных аппаратных решениях, но имеют одну и ту же программную платформу, это удешевляет разработки. Модульность платформы со временем увеличивается, что также дает новые возможности для операторов.

Future Opportunites in the connected world
Shaun Collins
CCS Insight, Managing Director

Скачать презентацию в формате pdf (796 Кб)>>>

Мир, который нас окружает, сильно изменился, теперь мы не привязаны к месту, можем говорить по телефону где угодно, основными сервисами будущего становятся визуальные, но не только простой голос. Мы можем общаться сегодня вне зависимости от того, где находимся, отпала необходимость в походе на почту, чтобы отправить письмо, мы даже можем платить за услуги и вещи, находясь где-нибудь в кафе. Новая парадигма на рынке говорит о том, что можно увидеть сервисы, они всегда рядом, они везде.

На рынке появились компании, такие, как Yahoo, Google, Microsoft, они ворвались на рынок кабельных, мобильных, проводных операторов. Создавая напряжение на рынке, они невольно или вольно катализируют развитие других игроков.

Когда речь идет об услугах, то мы сталкиваемся с тем, что операторы не хотят облегчить жизнь пользователю. Нет простоты взаимоотношений, flat rate, предлагаемый в Великобритании за использование мобильного Интернета, – это фантастический ход. Вы всегда знаете, сколько тратите и не вынуждены удивляться, когда получаете огромный счет. Технологии взрослеют сегодня медленно, мы могли ожидать их быстрой адаптации. Одной из причин является сопротивление новым бизнес-моделям со стороны компаний, обеспечивающих связность (контроль каналов связи, традиционные компании). На это накладывается и здоровый консерватизм со стороны потребителей, которые скептически относятся к новым технологиям, устройствам в непривычных форм-факторах.

Мир изменился. Для Reuters заняло всего 5 дней создать мобильный виджет для доступа к своему контенту, существует множество компаний, где только обсуждение, а делать ли что-то подобное, займет столько же времени. Структура бизнеса изменилась. Гиганты web’a серьезно смотрят на рынок мобильных услуг, многие компании обходят операторов в технологиях, создают новые сервисы быстрее, и пользователи начинают их использовать.

Какие направления формируют спрос сегодня?

Музыка. Революция в бизнес-модели, потоковая загрузка музыки, цифровые форматы. Новые стили использования устройств.

Местоположение. Сервисы навигации, контекст в приложениях, связанный с местоположением, новые услуги.

Imaging. Большинство устройств выпускается со встроенными камерами, свои фотографии можно разделить с друзьями, другими людьми и так далее.

Игры. Сетевые игры, увеличение возможностей устройств, так как игры требовательны к железу.

Другие направления развития – Поиск, TV, Connected home, Enterprise

В качестве заключения можно говорить о том, что уменьшение числа платформ будет происходить при увеличении числа сетей. Люди будут покупать опыт, но не технологии. Операторам необходимо предлагать простые тарифные планы, с ясной системой расчетов, это ключевой фактор для продажи не только трафика, но и приложений, сервисов. Платформа S60 может стать частью этого будущего и успешной частью, так как уменьшает дефрагментацию рынка, делает его более прозрачным.

S60 reaching out for new segments and markets
Mikko Rontynen
Head of S60 platform marketing

S60 позволяет сегментировать устройства на очень высоком уровне, это могут быть классические смартфоны с функциональностью, которую потребители ждут от конвергентных устройств. Это могут быть устройства различных форм-факторов. В то же время S60 позволяет создавать устройства, ориентированные на музыку, фотографию, спорт и так далее. Это создает дополнительные ниши для устройств, делает их отличными друг от друга, уникальными. Гибкость S60 делает возможным сохранение пользовательского опыта (единство интерфейса, функций), плюс добавление специфичных функций.

Сегодня S60 имеет полный набор приложений, характерных для смартфонов, – мультимедиа, PIM, сообщения, браузер, телефония и так далее.

Интересно выглядят данные о том, как же пользователи и для чего используют их устройства. Интересно выглядит тот факт, что голосовые звонки явно уступают messaging.

В Feature Pack 2 мы постарались максимально упростить использование S60-устройств, сделать их проще в восприятии. Так, при создании сообщения вам не надо задумываться о том, какой тип сообщения вы создаете (SMS or MMS), оно автоматически формируется в зависимости от контента. Браузер один и для мобильного контента, и для обычного Интернет. Появление ярлыка для средней клавиши – большее удобство. Для запуска скрытых задач в панели появился специальный пункт меню. Все это – улучшения в области интерфейса, которые должны сделать устройства проще в использовании. Подробно прочитать обо всех особенностях Feature Pack 2 можно в нашем материале.

В FP2 встроена поддержка 49 языков, но в будущем планируется добавление и новых языков. Помимо этого, для ряда приложений будет изменяться их концепция, например, лунный календарь для азиатского рынка, для исламских стран также будут вводиться специфичные изменения.

Аппаратные и программные возможности S60 позволяют создавать устройства различных форм-факторов, с клавиатурой и без таковой, с различным набором аксессуаров и так далее. Это гибкая система на всех уровнях.

Дифференциация на уровне программной платформы также дает широкие возможности. Можно отказаться от ненужных приложений, изменить их дизайн, изменить код, к которому также можно получить доступ.

Эльдар Муртазин (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Опубликовано — 25 апреля 2007 г.

 

Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

  [an error occurred while processing this directive]
Новости:
Hit

18.08.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор функции Samsung Smart Switch Mobile

18.08.2017 Продажи Apple Watch могут достигнуть 15 миллионов

18.08.2017 ASUS обновит серии ZenFone 3 и 4 до Android O

18.08.2017 «Мегафон» отозвал из суда своё заявление против ФАС

Hit

18.08.2017 Представлена концепция новой модели смартфона BLUBOO с соотношением сторон экрана 18:9

18.08.2017 Группа МТС и Nokia подготовила технологическую платформу для 5G в Москве

18.08.2017 Honor 9 Premium поступает на полки российских магазинов

18.08.2017 В России появятся пластиковые деньги

18.08.2017 ФСБ участвует в разработке международного стандарта блокчейна

Hit

17.08.2017 Видео на канале: Проверка защиты от воды Samsung Galaxy S8 Plus

Hit

17.08.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор смартфона LG Q6? с FullVision экраном

17.08.2017 ASUS представила сразу 6 новых смартфонов

17.08.2017 Минкомсвязи меняет регулирование работы виртуальных операторов

17.08.2017 «Яндекс» покажет контент сайта без перехода по ссылке

17.08.2017 Житель Тамбова попал в финансовый отчет МТС

17.08.2017 LG V30 на пресс-фото со всех сторон

17.08.2017 HMD Global представила Android флагман – Nokia 8

17.08.2017 Google приобрела белорусский стартап Aimatter

17.08.2017 «Билайн» предлагает Samsung Galaxy по выгодной цене при оплате услуг связи

16.08.2017 Дизайн Facebook изменится

16.08.2017 За баллы «Активного Гражданина» можно отремонтировать технику

16.08.2017 World of Tanks зазвучит по-новому

16.08.2017 Vodafone Украина представила безлимитные 3G тарифы

16.08.2017 Игровые программируемые роботы UBTech добрались до России

16.08.2017 В России продавцов поддельных ждунов ждет штраф

Подписка
 
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2017. All rights reserved.