facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials


Rambler's Top100

Review Samsung C100

It is typical for Samsung to produce phones of high price band, the company is one of the leader in this group in the market. Besides, the company has several models in the middle and low-end price segments, they are rather successful but now they became almost out of date. To strength position in the middle price segment the company should introduce a new handset and equip it with excellent set of features to attract a user and influence his/her choice. Its not a secret that namely this segment has most of rival models.

Traditionally the company produces not expensive models, which have a classic design. C100 is not an exception. Originally this phone will be made in silvery color, later other color solutions will be available. The phones exterior is rather unusual, side edges are raised and the keypad is placed deep into the phone. There are no problems while pressing side keys; you dont touch the edges. All keys are made of plastic, they are well spaced and have middle size. The keypad is comfortable, it has a blue backlighting, but characters are not always visible.

The screen is located above the keypad. It is not large by sight, but has a resolution of 128128 pixels. It allows to show up to 5 text lines and 1 service line. This phone is equipped with UFB-65K display. In the sunny day the information wont be clearly visible. Even when you are inside, it is difficult to say that this dispay is really capable to support up to 65000 colors. The picture is not sharp, color rendering is worse than on similar clamshell phones from Samsung. But it is necessary to remember that C100 is a middle class handset and in this group it doesnt have any rivals as regarded to screen quality.

When firstly you take this phone, youll be surprised by a small thickness of the case (17mm). Engineers could reach this effect due to a lithium-polymer battery (firstly applied in the phones of this class). This battery has 800 mAh capacity. According to the manufacturer, it could provide up ot 3 hours of talking time and up to 145 of standby time. In reality the handset operated about 4 days in case of 10 minutes of talking per day (Beeline network) and up to 15 minutes of using other applications. Time of full charging is about 2 hours.

The phone has optimal dimensions (111x45x17 mm). It is neither large, nor small. It weighs 76 g., what allows to wear it as you like. We think that this model has a well-developed form-factor.

A double volume key is placed on the left-hand side of the phone. IrDA is also positioned there. Most of manufacturers consider that IrDA is unnecessary in the model of this price segment, but Samsung decided to increase demands to the phones of this class and set it.

Menu

This phone has a standard menu structure from Samsung, but all items of the main menu are 3D-animated. So, when you enter a menu, you can see not just an animated picture, but full three-dimensional picture, which is almost alive. For example, you can see dew on the flowers. These pictures dont add enrich phones functions, but they are very pleasant. We think that Samsung is a first manufacturer, which began a mass production of the phones with such kind of menu. Dont confuse 3D-animated pictures with 3D function. These technologies are different.

If you wish, you can switch off a new menu style. In this case youll see usual menu.

Traditional lists of submenus are hidden under a renewed main menu. A fast shortcut number navigation is available. If you find time to study this phone, youll understand that it is a functional copy of Samsung S100. The phone has Java, GPRS (class 8) but doesnt support MMS. It has a loud 40-tones polyphonic ringer, new set of wallpapers and pictures. To say the truth, the phone offers many possibilities. Lets quote from the review of Samsung S100 a detail description of several features.

Phonebook. You can store up to 500 phone numbers in the phonebook. Up to 3 numbers (home, office and mobile) and e-mail address can be added to one entry. When you create a new contact, you are offered, firstly, to choose a phone number type and then to enter it. Auxiliary numbers can be entered from the edit submenu, not at once. Such arrangement has both advantages and disadvantages. It depends on how often you enter contacts with one phone number.

You can organize your contacts in the caller groups. A special ringing tone and a special icon can be associated with each group.

In the total list all numbers (from the phone memory and SIM-card memory) are displayed. The handset provides a search by name. You can just type a first letter and a first name matching your input will be displayed, then you can type the next letter and so on. A similar find option exists in every caller group. You can setup a speed dialing for 8 phone numbers. Unfortunately, as S100, this phone doesnt have voice dialing function.

Messages. It's possible to keep up to 50 messages in the phone memory and it is not by chance. Actually, the phone supports EMS standard. So, there is a good set of icons, melodies, sounds and animation in the phone. A rather unusual set of smiles is also placed here. Funny faces have now a body.

The other features are standard: a predictive text input T9 for English, a possibility to create up to 5 own templates.

Call records. Traditionally, the lists with last 20 received, 20 dialed and 20 missed calls are hidden under this menu. You can view a date and a time for each call. A peculiarity of the phone is that the same numbers are not doubled in the list; phone number moves up and a new time and date are indicated. It is the most convenient structure for the vast majority of users.

Tone. You can set various ringing tones to personalize your phone: one of the 6 bells, one of the 8 animals voices (horse, dog, birds and so on), one of the 31 melodies. Melodies are different - modern and classical, they can satisfy all needs. I think you will be delighted by them, taking into consideration that the phone has polyphonic melodies and a loud sound.

Uses profiles are not available, but you can set an own incoming alert (light, melody, vibra, vibra+melody). It is possible to switch on a minute minder in this menu. It will operate while the talk.

Settings. You can easily personalize your phone using this menu. You can set language, wallpaper (by default phone has 22 animations). Besides, you can tune screen brightness and adjust security settings.

Organizer. Several applications are placed under this submenu.

The first one is the calendar. You can add one event for each day, to add more you should copy a note of the other day, it's not handy. Here you can also view a calendar by months. Days with events are highlighted and you can quickly move to the date you selected.

A to-do list supplements possibilities of the calendar. This submenu allows you to write a job list, set a priority type (high, low, normal). Notes can be copied to the calendar.

Alarm-clock. You can set the alarm to ring at a specific time (once, daily or weekly (from Monday till Friday or from Monday till Saturday)).

There is also a calculator and a convert currency in the phone.

Time and date. Here you can setup time and date, check the current time in many cities (a world time feature).

Network Service. All settings concerning network services are placed here.

Funbox. This submenu allows you to use your phone as Web-browser via WAP (version 1.2.1). There are also two preloaded games here. There is also a menu of applications here. I set such games as bowling and the other favourite game PacMan.

Impressions

This phone has an excellent reception quality. It didnt have any problems. Volume of the sound is high. 40-tones polyphony is also loud; you can easily hear it when the phone is under clothes. Sometimes you can miss calls in too noisy places. In this case a vibrating alert can help you. It is average, but you can fill it rather well, probably because of the thin case.

Lithium-polymer battery is the other virtue of this handset. It decreases the phones weight and allows using a handset for a long time without re-charging. If you dont talk much, you can use approximately 5-6 days.

We didnt find evident shortcomings and technical bugs. Originally the phone is stable and it is a great advantage of it. In the near future this phone will become one of the most popular models from Samsung and repeats success of Samsung R200/210.

Samsung C100 will be available in July in the shelves of the shops and an expected price is about 150 USD. It will make the phone very popular, as there are not similar models for such price on the market. Among novelties, C100 stands out by its technological functions, which are for the first time used in the phone of the middle class. We think that namely Samsung C100 will be an outstanding product in 2003 and may be even the best in its class.

Examples of the ringing tones (383 Kb, mp3)

Eldar Murtazin (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Translated by Maria Sennikova (maria@mobile-review.com)

Published — 22 May 2003

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

News:

[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean

Subscribe

Register | Lost password?

E-mail


Password




Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

podcast quotes-left quotes-right search menu arrow-up arrow-up2 google-plus3 facebook2 instagram telegram twitter vk youtube android rss2

Обзор GSM-телефона Samsung C100

Для компании Samsung стало привычным выпускать телефоны высокого ценового класса, в этом сегменте компания занимает лидирующие позиции. В среднем и бюджетном сегментах у компании есть несколько моделей, причем они достаточно успешны, но на данный момент относительно устарели. Для завоевания большей доли рынка компании нужно было представить новый аппарат в среднем сегменте и подобрать его характеристики так, чтобы выбор потребителя стал очевиден. Ведь не секрет, что в этом сегменте наблюдается масса конкурирующих моделей различных производителей.

Исторически компания выпускает недорогие модели в классическом дизайне, модель С100 не стала исключением. Первоначально на рынок будет поставляться аппарат в серебристом корпусе, позднее появятся и другие цвета. Корпус выполнен в необычном стиле, боковые грани приподняты, так что область клавиатуры как бы утоплена в корпус. Это не создает проблем при нажатиях на боковые клавиши, палец редко задевает за края. Вообще же все клавиши выполнены из пластика, они средние по размеру и неплохо разнесены. Клавиатура достаточно удобна, ее подсветка синего цвета, обозначения видны хорошо не во всех условиях.

Над клавиатурой располагается экран, он достаточно небольшой по размерам визуально, но имеет разрешение в 128х128 точек. За счет этого на экране помещается до 5 строк текста и служебной строки информации. На экране отображается до 65000 цветов, дисплей выполнен по UFB-технологии. На солнце экран подслеповат, да и в помещении сказать о том, что это 65000 цветов сложно. Картинка на экране выглядит не очень резкой, качество передачи цветов ниже, чем на аналогичных раскладушках от Samsung. Но следует понимать, что модель С100 относится к среднему классу, и здесь у нее по качеству экрана просто нет конкурентов.

Взяв телефон впервые в руки, вы удивитесь небольшой толщине корпуса (17 мм). Этого удалось добиться за счет применения литий-полимерного аккумулятора (впервые в телефоне такого класса). Емкость батареи 800 мАч, по заявлению производителя она способна обеспечить работу в течение 3 часов в режиме разговора и до 145 часов в режиме ожидания. Испытания в условиях московской сети Билайн показали, что аппарат работал в среднем около 2 суток при 10 минутах разговоров в день и до 15 минут использования других функций. Время полной зарядки аккумулятора около 2 часов.

Размеры телефона оптимальны, его нельзя назвать маленьким или большим (111x45x17 мм). При массе в 76 грамм телефон можно носить как угодно. В целом по форм-фактору модель удачна.

На левой боковой поверхности находится спаренная клавиша регулировки громкости, и тут же окошко ИК-порта. Большинство производителей считает присутствие ИК-порта в моделях этого класса излишним, но Samsung решил установить новую планку функциональности в среднем сегменте.

Меню

В этом аппарате применяется стандартная организация меню от Samsung с одним большим отличием, все пункты главного меню представляют собой 3D-анимацию. То есть вы, войдя в меню, видите не просто анимированное изображение, но полноценную трехмерную картинку, которая оживает на ваших глазах. К примеру, это может быть роса, капающая с цветков. Меню интересно именно с позиции оформления, никакой функциональной нагрузки 3-хмерные картинки не несут. Пожалуй, Samsung будет первым производителем, запустившим в серийное производство аппарат с таким типом меню. И не следует путать 3-хмерную анимацию с действительно функцией 3D, которая делает картинки на экране объемными, это различные технологии.

При желании можно отключить новый стиль меню, тогда вы увидите привычное вертикальное меню.

За обновленным меню скрываются ставшие уже традиционными списки подменю. Есть быстрая навигация с помощью цифровых последовательностей. Потратив немного времени на изучение аппарата, вы придете к неожиданному выводу, это точная функциональная копия такой модели, как Samsung S100. В телефоне также есть Java, GPRS (class 8), но отсутствует MMS. Полифония в этом аппарате 40-тональная и достаточно громкая. Обновились наборы заставок экрана, картинок. Набор возможностей достаточно велик, давайте приведем выдержку из обзора Samsung S100 с подробным описанием отдельных функций.

Телефонная книга. В памяти телефона можно сохранить до 500 номеров, при этом для одного имени записывается до 3 телефонов (домашний, рабочий, мобильный) и адрес электронной почты. При вводе новой записи вам предлагают выбрать тип номера и уже затем ввести его, дополнительные номера можно внести из подменю редактирования, а не сразу при вводе. У такой организации есть как плюсы, так и минусы - все зависит от того, как часто вы вводите записи всего с одним номером.

Можно назначить введенное имя одной из групп абонентов, причем для каждой группы устанавливается свой сигнал звонка, а также иконка.

В общем списке отображаются номера как из памяти телефона, так и из памяти SIM-карты, при этом есть быстрый поиск по имени. Для поиска достаточно набрать первую букву имени, и список покажет первое вхождение, затем можно набрать следующую букву, и т. д. Такой же поиск есть отдельно в каждой группе абонентов. Для 8 номеров можно назначить клавиши быстрого набора. Голосового набора, как ни странно, в этой модели нет.

Сообщения. В памяти телефона может быть сохранено до 50 сообщений, аппарат поддерживает стандарт EMS. В связи с этим, в телефоне есть неплохой набор иконок, мелодий, звуков и анимации. Весьма необычен набор эмотиконов - если обычно это просто веселые рожицы, то здесь у них есть даже туловище.

В остальном возможности аппарата стандартны: можно записать до 5 своих шаблонов, есть предиктивный ввод текста Т9 для английского языка.

Записи вызовов. Традиционно здесь скрываются списки с последними 20 набранными, 20 принятыми, 20 пропущенными звонками. Для каждого звонка указывается дата и время. Любопытная особенность списка заключается в том, что одинаковые номера в списке не дублируется, номер просто перемещается вверх и для него указывается новое время и дата. Этим достигается отсутствие одинаковых записей в списке, для большинства пользователей такая организация наиболее приемлема.

Установки звука. Здесь в качестве сигнала вызова можно выбрать один из 6 колокольчиков, один из 8 криков животных (лошадь, собака, птицы, и т.д.), а также мелодию (всего их 31). Мелодии разнообразные - от современных до классических, их набор удовлетворит самый взыскательный вкус, а если принять во внимание большую громкость и то, что все мелодии полифонические, то восторгам не будет предела.

В телефоне нет профилей, но вы можете выбрать свой сигнал предупреждения (свет, мелодия, вибро, вибро+мелодия). В этом же меню можно включить минутный таймер, он будет работать во время разговора.

Установки телефона. В этом меню можно практически целиком настроить телефон под свои нужды, выбрать язык меню, фоновое изображение для экрана в режиме ожидания (по умолчанию их 22, все анимированные). Тут же настраивается контрастность экрана, располагаются настройки безопасности.

Органайзер. За этим пунктом меню скрывается несколько приложений.

Открывает список Календарь, внутри которого можно ввести до одного события для каждого дня(добавить большее количество событий можно лишь скопировав запись другого дня, это не удобно), здесь же можно просмотреть календарь за месяц. Дни, для которых есть события, выделены другим цветом, есть быстрый переход к дате.

Дополняет возможности календаря список дел. Здесь можно создать задачу, установить для нее приоритет (высокий, низкий, нормальный). Записи дел можно скопировать в календарь.

Будильник. Вы вольны настроить будильник на однократное, ежедневное или еженедельное (с понедельника по пятницу, с понедельника по субботу) срабатывание.

Также в телефоне есть калькулятор и конвертер валют, здесь все традиционно.

Время и дата. Здесь устанавливается текущая дата и время, есть функция мирового времени.

Сетевые сервисы. За этим пунктом скрываются все настройки, связанные с операторскими функциями.

Развлечения (Funbox). В этом меню находится обычный wap-браузер версии 1.2.1. Тут же можно обнаружить две игры. Тут же находится раздел приложений, традиционно установил боулинг и вторую свою любимую игрушку PacMan.


Впечатления

По качеству связи телефон проявил себя наилучшим образом, никаких проблем не было замечено. Громкость звука в динамике во время разговора велика. Полифония 40-тональная, она звучит громко, из-под одежды звонок слышно, его не различаешь только на очень громкой улице. В этом случае спасает виброзвонок, он средний по силе, чувствуется неплохо, видимо не в последнюю очередь за счет толщины корпуса.

Наличие литий-полимерного аккумулятора является плюсом, так как он облегчает вес аппарата, и при этом позволяет использовать его достаточно долго. При небольшом количестве разговоров пользоваться телефоном можно около 5-6 суток.

Очевидных минусов у аппарата найдено не было, как и технических проблем. Телефон получился изначально стабильным, это большой плюс. Аппарат станет одной из наиболее массовых моделей от Samsung в самом ближайшем времени, он повторит успех Samsung R200/210.

Начала продаж Samsung C100 следует ожидать с начала июля, цена на него составит порядка 150 долларов. Это автоматически сделает модель крайне популярной, так как за подобные деньги нет аналогичных телефонов по функциональности. Среди новинок С100 выделяется именно набором технологий, примененных впервые в телефоне среднего класса. На мой взгляд, именно Samsung C100 станет одним из знаковых продуктов 2003 года, это один из лучших аппаратов в своем классе, если не лучший.

Варианты звонков (383 Кб, мр3)

   

Эльдар Муртазин (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Twitter    Instagram    Блог MrMurtazin.com

Опубликовано — 21 мая 2003 г.

 

Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

 
Новости:
Hit

17.01.2018 Видео на канале: Обзор FullVision смартфона BQ Space X

Hit

17.01.2018 Видео на канале: Обзор смартфона ZTE Nubia Z17

Hit

17.01.2018 Samsung Galaxy S9 + большой аккумулятор на 8300 мАч = BLUBOO S3

17.01.2018 Skygofree — один из самых продвинутых зловредов под Android

17.01.2018 Представлен полноэкранный смартфон MEIZU M6s на процессоре Samsung Exynos

17.01.2018 Ростелеком получил частоты для тестирования сетей пятого поколения

17.01.2018 Samsung представил смартфон, посвящённым Зимним Олимпийским играм – PyeongChang 2018 Olympic Games Limited Edition

17.01.2018 Рассекречен внешний вид новых флагманов линейки Moto Z3

17.01.2018 Moto X5 будет выглядеть как iPhone X

17.01.2018 Внешний вид и характеристики Moto G6, Moto G6 Plus и Moto G6 Play

Hit

16.01.2018 Видео на канале: Обзор FullVision смартфона ASUS Zenfone Max Plus M1

16.01.2018 Huawei Honor 8 может не получить Android Oreo

16.01.2018 OnePlus 3/3T получили разблокировку по лицу владельца

16.01.2018 Xiaomi Mi Max 3 будет 7-дюймовым фаблетом?

16.01.2018 ESET предупреждает о новой атаке на Apple-пользователей

16.01.2018 Предварительные даты анонса и начала продаж Samsung Galaxy S9

16.01.2018 Quika запускает бесплатный высокоскоростной спутниковый интернет для развивающихся стран

16.01.2018 Отечественные процессоры поступают в розницу со снижением цены в 4 раза

16.01.2018 В сети всплыли фото нового смартфона Moto E5

16.01.2018 МТС выходит на рынок киберспорта

16.01.2018 В LG приняли решение создать флагман G7 с нуля

15.01.2018 UMIDIGI представила новый безрамочный смартфон – S2 Lite

15.01.2018 Samsung запатентовала сплав Metal 12

15.01.2018 Колонка Google Home Max «убивает» Wi-Fi сети

15.01.2018 Foxconn получит больше заказов на производство MacBook

Подписка
 
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2018. All rights reserved.