facebook| twitter|  russian| Phone Search:
  • RSS
Samsung Galaxy Note. First Look

Today, large companies, especially corporate giants like Samsung, do not surprise users with extraordinary products...

First look. Sony ST21i Tapioca Microsoft Windows Phone 7: Reasons for Failure First Look at Samsung Galaxy S3 as a 2012 Flagship
Reviews Editorials


Rambler's Top100
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Print this review

CeBIT 2006. Samsung introduces the new leading model

Samsung seems to have a soft corner for positioning itself as the pioneer in certain technical fields. To tell truth, many of the revolutionary devices have been presented by this company in particular, though due to high expenses, size and complicated manufacturing process, these models frequently dont hit the shelves of retail stores at all. Such handsets, created for the European market, are the ones armed with a camera providing resolution more than 5 Mpix these phones from year to year wander from one exhibition to another, though havent been released yet. Over the last few months the company has seriously reconsidered its strategy in order to make its announcements more practical in the near future, aiming not only at PR and building the image of a manufacturer, which offers only all-new solutions, but also at being instantly efficient. At this years CeBIT, maybe only Samsung and BenQ have saved some temper from the 3GSM Congress, as stands of these two manufacturers attracted our entire attention.

At the press-conference one could see beautifully designed letters 10M 8G, laid with roses in fact, it wasnt a coincidence.


Interpreting these abbreviations is a simple task 10M stands for 10 Mpix, since exactly a matrix of this type is incorporated into model B600. This handset is intended for CDMA 2000 1xEVDO networks and therefore not aimed at the European market, and appears to be a piece of exotics. The manufacturer puts emphasis not only on the camera module, but on a specially developed system for increasing quality of taken pictures in the conditions of pure illumination. Moreover, light-emitting diode backlight system, announced in this phone, is integrated into a mobile device for the first time. The handset also has a space television receiver onboard (Satellite DMB standard). Among other specifications, there is a QVGA-display with the diagonal measuring 2.2 inches, capable of displaying up to 16 mln colors. The other technical characteristics of the device are similar to the current top-models of the company; a noteworthy fact the handset uses MMCmicro memory cards. This type of external storage will soon become widely-spread in GSM-devices as well. On the Korean market B600 will be released in June at the price of 750 USD








In its turn, 8G refers to 8 gigabytes, as its the new storage size of model Samsung i310, which will replace i300x, equipped only with 4 Gb of built-in memory. 4 . Out of the innovations, we should note that now it is powered by Windows Mobile 5.0 for Smartphone operating system (in the previous models the developers didnt have time to apply it). Also the camera got changed, as it features 2 Mpix matrix now, among other specifications, the device traditionally supports Bluetooth And A2DP profile, which lets listening to music in wireless headset. Those, who still consider the built-in storage too small, are at liberty to use microSD memory cards.

The approximate price of the model, scheduled for the release in October, is 600 Euros obviously, this handset isnt targeted at mass audience.









The company managed to gain a number of rewards for its new products design to be precise, these were two iF Design Awards in 2006, granted to the sliders manufactured by Samsung - D500 and D600. The RedDot Award was conferred on Samsung P300, which, actually reminds of a calculator in many respects. The review of this device you can find here>>>

The company is increasing number of products made in the form-factor of slider one of the newcomers, introduced on the exhibition, is Samsung Z400. According to the developers intentions, this device should become something like D600, but for the third generation networks. The major differences lie in a slimmer design the new handset measures 97 x 48 x 18.4, and weights 107 grams. The phone has a 2 Mpix camera incorporated, as well as TV Out, Picsel Viewer, however what really spoils the overall impression is amount of the built-in memory, which equals 30 Mb its a consequence of firmware size increase. On the whole, the model is of a certain interest, though its positioning raises doubts, since the company hasnt announced the price yet. But it seems that it will vary from 280 to 300 Euros, and in that case the handset is going to be a really interesting solution.

Model Z550 is presented as an analogue to Z400 with more built-in memory onboard, EDGE support and two stereo loudspeakers. In all other specifications these two handsets are almost twins with some minor differences. As to associations with the current line-up, one could remember such devices as Samsung D800 and Samsung D820, though the difference between them is even bigger than between the abovementioned phones.










And now, we can finally start describing the new top-model of Samsung product line, model D870. It may sound strange, but this device doesnt represent the third generation, as it operates in standard tri-band GSM networks and has EDGE support onboard. As a matter of fact, the developers have taken all the pros from D600, and added a 3 Mpix camera, integrated support for all most popular audio codecs (MP3 / AAC / ACC+ / AAC+ (e)), capabilities of switching MP3 player to background mode. The company places main emphasis on the products form-factor and on its slimness, since the handset is only 13 mm thick. The phone measures 103.55113 mm and weights 93 grams. There are also 80 Mb of the built-in memory and a slot for MicroSD memory cards. By tradition, the developers applied Picsel Viewer, and provided support for all main Bluetooth profiles, including A2DP.

In this very handset, the company decided to partially change the interfaces appearance; in fact this is becoming a new tendency in all lately announced phones. Even though the adjustments are not striking, they are rather pertinent, and several functions can give a lot of positive experience while working with the handset. For example, a number of devices are equipped with a possibility of choosing which way the numbers will be entered in this may be the hand-written type (goose-quill on parchment with corresponding sound effects), or numbers in appearance of mosaic, put together from stickers. Its good to see that the company gradually increases ergonomics of its platform.

In D870 among unusual we will note business cards scanner you need only to take a picture of a card in order to let the device recognize it in a minute and match information stated on this card to corresponding fields in the phonebook. Nevertheless the function can be properly performed only in conditions of good illumination and stable hands, otherwise the recognized symbols are informational garbage Taking into account that its a standard phone, rather a smartphone, appearance of this function looks very promising. At present its incorporated only into D870 and Z710 (UMTS-clamshell is similar to D870 in many respects).










The company is planning to release D870 in the begging of this summer at the price of 420-440 Euros. At the same time, I got an impression that the device will obtain proper conditions and functionality only by the end of August beginning of September. And I will be happy if my prediction will never come true. By the way, photos taken with the help of Samsungs 3 Mpix camera will be featured in a separate article on our page in the beginning of the next week, and for the time being you can check out two samples below.

Model Samsung E900 is some kind of D870 analogue with a 2 Mpix camera, absence of several business-functions and a more common menus appearance. The device will be positioned as a fashion handset with all consequences following from this.


Z710 is just another clamshell, which adopted all Samsungs technologies, available at present. Should you seek for a phone with 3 Mpix camera featuring CCD module this is what youre looking for. Need a radio module and a very good MP3 player they are at your service here. You are desperate for the third generation? No problems, here it is. We can list all the specifications for ages, thats why in order to make the things shorter, we will say that the review of this phone will be available on out site the next week.


And for a start we offer you some photos taken with this phone actually they are not of high quality, as it could be expected from a CCD-matrix. But there is a secret, which will be revealed in our upcoming review.

  (+) 2048x1536, JPEG

  (+) 2048x1536, JPEG

3GSM Congress 2006. Samsung>>


Eldar Murtazin (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Translated by Oleg Kononosov (oleg.kononosov@mobile-review.com)

Published — 10 March 2006

Have something to add?! Write us... eldar@mobile-review.com

 

News:

[ 31-07 16:21 ]Sir Jony Ive: Apple Isn't In It For The Money

[ 31-07 13:34 ]Video: Nokia Designer Interviews

[ 31-07 13:10 ]RIM To Layoff 3,000 More Employees

[ 30-07 20:59 ]Video: iPhone 5 Housing Shown Off

[ 30-07 19:12 ]Android Fortunes Decline In U.S.

[ 25-07 16:18 ]Why Apple Is Suing Samsung?

[ 25-07 15:53 ]A Few Choice Quotes About Apple ... By Samsung

[ 23-07 20:25 ]Russian iOS Hacker Calls It A Day

[ 23-07 17:40 ]Video: It's Still Not Out, But Galaxy Note 10.1 Gets An Ad

[ 19-07 19:10 ]Another Loss For Nokia: $1 Billion Down In Q2

[ 19-07 17:22 ]British Judge Orders Apple To Run Ads Saying Samsung Did Not Copy Them

[ 19-07 16:57 ]iPhone 5 To Feature Nano-SIM Cards

[ 18-07 14:20 ]What The iPad Could Have Looked Like ...

[ 18-07 13:25 ]App Store Hack Is Still Going Strong Despite Apple's Best Efforts

[ 13-07 12:34 ]Infographic: The (Hypothetical) Sale Of RIM

[ 13-07 11:10 ]Video: iPhone Hacker Makes In-App Purchases Free

[ 12-07 19:50 ]iPhone 5 Images Leak Again

[ 12-07 17:51 ]Android Takes 50%+ Of U.S. And Europe

[ 11-07 16:02 ]Apple Involved In 60% Of Patent Suits

[ 11-07 13:14 ]Video: Kindle Fire Gets A Jelly Bean

Subscribe

Register | Lost password?

E-mail


Password




Mobile-review.com, 2002-2012. All rights reserved.

podcast quotes-left quotes-right search menu arrow-up arrow-up2 google-plus3 facebook2 instagram telegram twitter vk youtube android rss2
AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Версия для печати

CeBIT 2006. Компания Samsung и новый флагман линейки

Компания Samsung питает слабость к позиционированию себя в качестве пионера технологий. Справедливости ради стоит отметить, что многие аппараты впервые представляются именно ей, но в силу стоимости, размера, сложности производства не доходят до серийных моделей. К таким телефонам для европейского рынка относятся аппараты с камерами больше 5-мегапикселей, они из года в год кочуют по выставкам, но так и не добрались до прилавков. В последние несколько месяцев компания серьезно пересмотрела свою стратегию и в будущем планирует сделать анонсы продуктов более практичными, направленными не только на PR, создание образа инновационного производителя, но и на сиюминутную отдачу. В этом году на CeBIT только Samsung и, пожалуй, BenQ сохранили запал после 3GSM Конгресса, экспозиция этих производителей привлекала внимание.

На пресс-конференции можно было видеть красиво оформленные буквы 10M 8G, они были выложены из роз.


Расшифровать данные обозначения крайне легко: 10M - это десять мегапикселей, именно такая матрица установлена в модели B600.

Данный аппарат предназначен для CDMA 2000 1xEVDO сетей, соответственно, в Европе не интересен, своего рода изюминка. Производитель делает акцент в нем не только на фоточасти, а именно специальной системе улучшения качества снимков в условиях недостаточно освещения. Светодиодная подсветка впервые реализована в мобильном продукте. Аппарат оснащен приемником спутникового ТВ (стандарту Satellite DMB). Из других характеристик стоит отметить QVGA-экран, имеющий диагональ 2.2 дюйма и отображающий 16 миллионов цветов. Другие характеристики аппарата сходны с текущими топовыми моделями компании, интересно, что в телефоне применяются карты MMCmicro. Данный тип карт станет распространенным и в GSM-аппаратах. На корейском рынке B600 появится в июне, его цена составит порядка 750 долларов США.








Буква 8G расшифровывается как 8 Гигабайт, это новый объем памяти в модели Samsung i310, она идет на смену i300x, оснащенной 4 Гб памяти. Из изменений аппарата стоит отметить, что теперь на нем установлена операционная система Windows Mobile 5.0 for Smartphone, в предыдущих продуктах ее поддержку реализовать не успели. Также изменилась камера, она стала 2-мегапиксельной, традиционно присутствует поддержка Bluetooth-профиля A2DP, что позволяет прослушивать музыку на беспроводных наушниках. Для тех, кто посчитает объем встроенной памяти недостаточным, есть слот для карт памяти microSD.

Стоимость модели должна составить в октябре порядка 600 Евро, этот аппарат не рассчитан на массовую аудиторию.









Компания собрала неплохой урожай из наград за дизайн своих продуктов: так, iF Design Awards в 2006 году получили сразу два слайдера компании – Samsung D500 и Samsung D600. Приз за дизайн RedDot Award был присужден модели Samsung P300, которая столь сильно напоминает калькулятор. Обзор этого аппарата вы можете прочитать здесь>>>

Компания увеличивает количество продуктов в форм-факторе слайдер; так, одной из представленных моделей является Samsung Z400. По замыслу разработчиков, этот аппарат - своего рода D600 для сетей третьего поколения, отличие в более тонком дизайне - 97x48x18.4 мм, вес 107 грамм. Аппарат также имеет 2-мегапиксельную камеру, оснащен TV Out, Picsel Viewer, но объем встроенной памяти только 30 Мб, это издержки увеличившегося размера прошивки. Модель любопытна, и ее позиционирование вызывает определенные вопросы, компания не объявила стоимость данного продукта, но складывается впечатление, что она будет в районе 280-300 Евро, что очень интересно.

Модель Z550 позиционируется как аналог Z400 с увеличенным объемом предустановленной памяти, поддержкой EDGE и двумя стереодинамиками. В остальном модели схожи и разница номинальная. Можно вспомнить в текущем модельном ряду такие аппараты, как Samsung D800 и Samsung D820, разница между ними даже больше, чем между описываемыми телефонами.










И вот, наконец, наш рассказ подходит к новому флагману линейки от Samsung, модели D870. Как ни странно, это отнюдь не аппарат третьего поколения, это телефон, работающий в трех диапазонах GSM с поддержкой EDGE. В нем взято все лучшее от D600, добавлена 3-мегапиксельная камера, поддержка всех самых популярных аудиокодеков (MP3/AA /ACC+/AAC+(e)), возможность работы медиаплеера в фоновом режиме. В компании основной упор делают на форм-фактор продукта и также на тот факт, что его толщина составляет всего 13 мм, это действительно немного. Размеры аппарата – 103.5х51х13 мм, вес 93 грамма. Объем встроенной памяти 80 Мб, есть слот расширения для MicroSD-карт. Традиционно есть Picsel Viewer, поддержка основных профилей Bluetooth, включая A2DP.

В данном аппарате компания пошла на частичное изменение оформления интерфейса, это вообще направление развития в аппаратах последнего времени. Изменения не сильные, но они весьма приятные, некоторые функции крайне приятны и улучшают настроение от общения с телефоном. К примеру, ряд аппаратов оснащается возможностью выбрать то, как будет отображаться ввод цифр. Это может быть рукописный ввод, гусиным пером по пергаменту с соответствующим звуковым сопровождением либо цифры, состоящие из небольших листочков в стиле напоминаний. Приятно, что компания постепенно повышает эргономику своей платформы.

В D870 из необычных функций можно отметить сканер визитных карточек: достаточно сфотографировать визитку, и аппарат в течение минуты постарается распознать ее и расставить по полям адресной книги полученную информацию. Функция работает хорошо только при ярком освещении, не дрожащих руках, во всех остальных случаях распознанные символы больше похожи на информационный мусор. Учитывая, что это обычный телефон, а не смартфон, появление такой возможности выглядит многообещающей. На данный момент она реализована только в D870 и Z710 (UMTS-раскладушка, во многом аналогична D870).










Компания рассчитывает вывести D870 на рынок в начале лета, его цена должна составить порядка 420-440 Евро. В то же время у меня сложилось впечатление, что аппарат будет готов только к концу августа - началу сентября. Буду рад, если данный прогноз не сбудется. К слову, фотографии с 3-мегапиксельной камеры от Samsung мы покажем вам в начале следующей недели в отдельном материале, чуть ниже также есть два примера.

Модель Samsung E900 - это своего рода аналог D870 с камерой в 2 мегапикселя, отсутствием ряда бизнес-функций, более стандартным оформлением меню, темами. Аппарат будет позиционироваться как fashion-модель.


Модель Z710 - это раскладушка, которая вобрала в себя все технологии от Samsung сегодняшнего дня. Хотите 3-мегапиксельную камеру с CCD-модулем? Он тут есть. Нужно радио и качественный мр3-плеер? Также присутствуют. Третье поколение? Конечно же. Перечислять можно очень долго, пока же скажем, что обзор этого аппарата вы прочитаете на следующей неделе.


Для начала же поместим фотографии с этого телефона, они не слишком качественные, как можно было ожидать от CCD-матрицы. Но тут есть секрет, о котором мы и поговорим в обзоре этого аппарата.

  (+) увеличить, 2048x1536, JPEG

  (+)увеличить, 2048x1536, JPEG

Репортаж со стенда Samsung на выставке 3GSM Конгресс>>>

Эльдар Муртазин (eldar@mobile-review.com)
Опубликовано — 10 марта 2006 г.

Есть, что добавить?! Пишите... eldar@mobile-review.com

Новости:
Hit

17.10.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор детских трекер часов LEXAND Kids Radar

Hit

17.10.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор ASUS Zenfone 4

Hit

17.10.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор Xiaomi Mi Mix 2

Hit

17.10.2017 Видео на канале: iOS 11 и ARKit

17.10.2017 Первая партия iPhone X составит всего 46,5 тысяч аппаратов

17.10.2017 HMD представит новый Nokia в Китае в четверг

17.10.2017 Apple снова заплатит штраф VirnetX

17.10.2017 Xiaomi рассчитывает поставит 90 миллионов смартфонов за год

17.10.2017 М.Видео: онлайн-рынок смартфонов в России за 9 месяцев 2017 года

17.10.2017 Huawei представила для российского рынка новый смартфон Honor 6C Pro

17.10.2017 ESET и Google объединяются для борьбы с вредоносным ПО

17.10.2017 Qualcomm представила новый процессор среднего уровня – Snapdragon 636

17.10.2017 Qualcomm анонсировала коммерчески доступный 5G модем на Snapdragon X50

Hit

16.10.2017 Видео на канале: Знакомство с Huawei Mate 10 Pro

Hit

16.10.2017 Видео на канале: Обзор Samsung Gear Fit 2 Pro

Hit

16.10.2017 Видео на канале: Apple iPhone спустя 10 лет

16.10.2017 Huawei представил флагманские смартфоны Mate 10 и Mate 10 Pro

16.10.2017 Московский суд решил оштрафовать Telegram за отказ сотрудничать с ФСБ

16.10.2017 Qualcomm хочет запретить в Китае продажу iPhone

16.10.2017 «Почта России» предлагает снизить беспошлинный ввоз товаров из интернет-магазинов до 25 Евро

16.10.2017 Canon представила новый компакт – PowerShot G1 X Mark III, оснащённый APS-C сенсором

16.10.2017 В России появится свой собственный крипторубль

13.10.2017 Huawei Mate 10 получит вариант Porsche Design

13.10.2017 Каждый четвертый пользователь смартфона проводит с ним более 7 часов

13.10.2017 ESET обнаружила первый шифратор для Android с функцией блокировки экрана

Подписка
 
© Mobile-review.com, 2002-2017. All rights reserved.